Old Mutual Life Assurance Company Employee Reviews in Newcastle, KwaZulu-Natal

Found 12 reviews matching the search See all 1 337 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Line manager
Branch Account Manager (Former Employee) –  Newcastle, KwaZulu-Natal18 November 2019
Line Manager was very difficult and doesn't have proper work ethic. He was rude to the entire staff and made everyone feel small and incompetent when addressing the staff
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its about product
Financial Advisor (Former Employee) –  Newcastle, KwaZulu-Natal31 July 2019
I used to go prospect client then go for sale .I was using laptop to capture clients information sometimes check the old policies for which help them to make informed decisions.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Productive and Good environment
Personal Assistant (Former Employee) –  Newcastle, KwaZulu-Natal26 March 2019
OldmutualPfa was the best Company, almost in every thing because it where by you tend to meet new different people each day. And it was very great job
Pros
51 Clubs everyfriday
Cons
Difficult clients sometimes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Prospecting ,presentations ,selling and servicing
Relationship Sales Consultant (Former Employee) –  Newcastle Kzn13 May 2017
One day I did confirm the appointment with client before leaving my town to travel about 200 km to meet the client.The client confirm and than I drove to see.All of a sudden client was unavailable.I learned that if travelling long distance I must keep in touch with client so that I won waste company`s mine also to try and make more appointments with differents clients in one area.

I use to manage my job because my superior was away from my town.The main office was in Durban.I was working in an office and out of office to see clients.
Hardest part of my job was to get burial societies in rural and urban areas because when you asked people they do not want to give information.

Most enjoyable part of the job was if you work smart and hard you do get rewards such as bonus.
Pros
They give car allowance and Cell phone allowance
Cons
Traveling long distance
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Marketing Skills
Financial Adviser (Former Employee) –  Newcastle, KwaZulu-Natal7 April 2017
This was a reputable company, improved my marketing skills and communicating with different people at different levels, this was a problem before as I was a very reserved person
Pros
Communication skills improved
Cons
Commission structure
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Self motivating campany
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Newcastle, KwaZulu-Natal3 January 2017
Working with old mutual has been a wonderful experience of my life, because selling policy and explaining to my clients was something I enjoyed the most
Pros
No free lunch only while we were still training
Cons
08 to 5
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplace
Financial Advisor (Former Employee) –  kwazulu-natal newcastle5 December 2016
working at old mutual was fun the workers were friendly not only to the clients but also the colleague, the management was very strict especially to newly hired advisers , the hardest part of the job was to make a sale even though there were no walk ins you had to make it work cause at the end of the day you had a target you had to reach
Pros
incentives
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Educating and great company to work for.
Sales Consultant & Assistant Branch Manager (Former Employee) –  Newcastle, ZN25 June 2015
At Old Mutual I got the chance to sharpen my customer service skills and I got to use my skills in the most excellent manner. There wasn't any time where a day would pass without me not learning something new as the company kept on improving it's working methods. the management was a great team of people who knew what they were doing as they always guided me in every step of the way to ensure the perfect delivery towards clients. The hardest part of the job was the monthly target as I sometimes felt it was too much but I always had a way to overcome any obstacle that can stop me from reaching it because the target was rewarding at the end of the month if met.
Pros
Monthly bonuses and incentives if target met.
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Understanding of different types of people at the workplace and with the clients
Financial Advisor (Former Employee) –  Newcastle, ZN8 December 2014
There was always unity and understand of different people in the workplace because there were many of us.

Always respected each orther more especially our senior staff.

Always respected clients needs

You need to believe that you are your own boss and be disciplened dont always be pushed in order for you to do your work.

Always love the work you doing and push beyond boundaries.
Pros
Bonuses and incentives if you good at your work.
Cons
No nocking of time if the target is not reached
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and hard working place
Old Mutual (Former Employee) –  Newcastle, ZN23 March 2014
Starts at 8 in the mornings till 1 'o clock then you have and half an hour lunch and then work untill 16:30 , Mondays till Fridays and Saturdays untill 1o'clock.
Management was very strict but ok.
There was about 10 pleople different races working in one big office.
The most enjoyable part was the year end functions
Pros
none
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good working condition
financial consultant (Former Employee) –  Newcastle, ZN12 June 2013
Going out for marketing and I learned more about presenting and selling skills the management was good also the co-workers, when the application declined that was the most hardest part
Pros
Every time we were making sales
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

See more Old Mutual Life Assurance Company reviews

You may want to try:

Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Old Mutual Life Assurance Company. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4,0
Based on 1 337 reviews
5515
4408
3326
255
133

Ratings by category

3,7Work/Life Balance
3,5Salary/Benefits
3,4Job Security/Advancement
3,5Management
3,8Culture