Old Mutual Life Assurance Company Employee Reviews in Pretoria, Gauteng

Found 68 reviews matching the search See all 1 330 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed
Personal Assistant (Current Employee) –  Pretoria, Gauteng16 October 2019
At Old Mutual I schedule appointments,
do administrative work,
Do telesale and follow up meetings, marketing,
Answer calls
Assist in formal meetings
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Old mutual is a big financial institution
Financial Advisor (Current Employee) –  Pretoria, Gauteng14 October 2019
Since I have started working at old mutual company I have learned a lot to meet me people and places. Working at old mutual I have learned to be patient, to listen to people not to judge.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good experience
Financial Advisor (Former Employee) –  Pretoria, Gauteng14 September 2019
Sales skill and closing tips was the best lesson i had at the institution and team work. The benefits were the best too, relationship with people was the best
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
financial advisor
Financial Adviser (Former Employee) –  Pretoria, Gauteng10 July 2019
old mutual its a good company but the management its bad sometimes when it comes on treating the employees , it offers good benefits and fun it gives employee vibe and good times at work and feel like home.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Target based
Personal financial advisor (Current Employee) –  Pretoria, Gauteng25 May 2019
The fact that ones salary is solely based on their monthly target is ridiculous because a person could go a full month without a stable income or anything
Pros
Na
Cons
No salary
Was this review helpful?Yes 11NoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
Financial Adviser (Former Employee) –  Pretoria, Gauteng23 April 2019
I have learned a lot on how to deal with all types of clients and how to manage a messy situation.

My confidence was boosted , whereby I am not shy anymore , I can approach clients.

The work place felt like home as we did everything as a team and those who needed support our manager gave full support so we can win as a team.

All the hard work was recognized and also those trying was also recognized. We were all motivated as we had competitions an how to improve our work , as a team we divided into 3 teams that competed every week.
Pros
1 hour lunch
Cons
working on Sundays
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Prductive working environment
Risk Survey Administrator (Current Employee) –  Pretoria, Gauteng27 March 2019
One of the best insurance companies in the world and will never disappoint when coming to short-term insurance. I will recommend. It is good working with Old Mutual due to their culture and how they do things.
I would say the employees are so calm and reliable.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
increasing production
Area Secretary (Former Employee) –  pretoria15 January 2019
prospecting over the phone, submitting new business, confirming appointment, workplace culture, training, learning new technique on closing business and doing admin
Pros
smoking time
Cons
admin
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and stressfull workplace
Financial Advisor (Current Employee) –  Pretoria, Gauteng9 October 2018
Too much stress of having to make target to get basic salary and the problem with lapses setting you back and making it harder to make target and receive salary. I have not received a pay slip in 5 months due to lapses and I can't afford not getting paid anymore.
Pros
Good People and great oppertunities
Cons
No time for fun and family
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 1Report
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Medical aid expensive salary too little
Sales Consultant (Current Employee) –  Pretoria, Gauteng11 September 2018
I realized that I can’t work Saturdays and holidays anymore since Iam a mother of 3 kids and a wife those hrs belongs to my family especially for the money that I get payed it’s not acceptable.so that’s why I need to change jobs plus school is expensive
Pros
I have 1hrs lunch
Cons
I work 8hrs per day
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Financial Advisor (Current Employee) –  Pretoria, Gauteng4 September 2018
Productive and pressure but it's fun because you work and your own pace and time, we have a culture of meeting every Friday to plan for next week while eating and drinking
Pros
Break time
Cons
Few hours with proper planning
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work
recruiting (Former Employee) –  Pretoria, Gauteng27 July 2018
We work as a team and individual .i learn to push beyond boundary. i learned valuable skills that are needed in every working environment communication was the key to job success
Pros
commision
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Workplace
Personal Financial Adviser (Former Employee) –  Pretoria, Gauteng18 July 2018
Old mutual it's a place where you can grow into as an employee, It gave us lot of opportunities though it was not as easy as you think. Working with sales has never been easy especially if you know that your salary is depending on the results you deliver.
Pros
No free lunches
Cons
Flexible hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work place
Personal Assistant (Former Employee) –  Pretoria, Gauteng18 April 2018
I was employed at Old Mutual under one of the Development Managers. I was very junior and inexperienced when I started but I grew into it and did extremely well.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace
Financial advisor (Former Employee) –  Pretoria, Gauteng10 November 2017
Good place to work, if you are lazy you wont make it.
hard work pays of.

the commission base is excellent and there is a good internal support structure.
Pros
Free time
Cons
Free time
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i enjoy the challenge
Financial Adviser (Current Employee) –  pretoria east gauteng16 October 2017
although I enjoy the challenge.as a parent I would love something more stable salary wise.We work on commission and our basic salary is conditional .I have never not earned a salary but I want the peace of mind to know that my basic is gauranteed
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
2,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
FINANCIAL CONSULTANT (Former Employee) –  Pretoria, Gauteng13 October 2017
Sales environment where you constantly learn on a daily basis where we sell different products of old mutual finance and also doing presentations in companies and meeting business needs ,
mostly you learn a lot about yourself on how to approach different and your ability to meet those standard, hardest part of the job is making sales on a daily basis but you learn to overcome those obstacles and meet the business needs , and what i enjoyed most about them is you enjoy transforming peoples lives and building trust between the client , yourself and the company
Pros
Learning and interacting with people
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was always a happy employer working at old mutual
Senior customer consultant (Former Employee) –  Pretoria, Gauteng21 August 2017
I worked for old mutual for 11 years and was totally happy with the culture the only issue I had was salary.and due to a personnel situation i resigne
Pros
None
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
small and crowded. not enough workspace for everyone
Personal Financial Advisor (Former Employee) –  Pretoria East15 August 2017
calling and meeting clients and signing off insurance. going to the office to submit business,scheduling meetings..hardest is clients making disputes.
Pros
Flexibile Hours
Cons
no stable income
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Product drivven and lonely work
Financial Advisor (Former Employee) –  Pretoria, Gauteng7 August 2017
Work long hours, mostly after hours and keep me away from family during the week. Every person has its own financial needs and goals. To help the people to invest in their future and set goals for themself.The culture of the company is like one big family but the long hours was killing me. The most enjoyable part was when a client thank you for solid advise and see the performence of his investment
Pros
Worktime is your own
Cons
Long lonely hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Old Mutual Life Assurance Company. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4,0
Based on 1 330 reviews
5513
4406
3325
254
132

Ratings by category

3,7Work/Life Balance
3,5Salary/Benefits
3,4Job Security/Advancement
3,5Management
3,8Culture