Old Mutual Life Assurance Company Employee Reviews for Financial Advisor

Found 444 reviews matching the search See all 1 374 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The company is organized and well managed
Personal Financial Advisor (Former Employee) –  South Africa21 January 2020
My normal day at work, would be to check clients who haven't reviewed their insurance, make calls to clients. I would do field and make presentations.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working there was stressful but als co-operative
Financial Advisor (Former Employee) –  Vaal triangle19 January 2020
We can support our family and be able to lwork individuals and be able to perform well. Working there as a financial advisor was the best job I ever had. I meet my target every week and every month. I get my bonuses every 3rd month. My job was challenging but I joy doing what I was doing without any push
Pros
Good salaries
Cons
Good benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company, great benefits
Financial Advisor (Current Employee) –  Thohoyandou, Limpopo14 January 2020
It's a good company to work for, you are your own boss u decide how much u want to earn, you have to build your own client base though, it will require you to get out of your comfort zone.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
1,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful and Non paying job.
Financial Adviser (Current Employee) –  Vanderbijlpark, Gauteng12 January 2020
Working at Old Mutual is the worst thing one can do... especially if you are qualified in other fields and end up working there due to lack of employment. You do all the ground work and top management gets all the fat cheques. You dont get paid some months and you still expected to perform with no basic salary or a salary at all. You are sold dreams when you go through the interview process and you only get to learn the spade work when you start working. Leaving Old Mutual mean debt follows you. They make you pay to the last training and meals they served you there. For such a big Company, it is actually treating it employees bad. All that leads to severe stress, non performance and the lowest rate of employee retention. 90% Employees resign from the 4th month normally.
Pros
Upmarket, beautuful and well maintained offices that end up empty
Cons
You have flexible working hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
1,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible experience
Financial Advisor (Former Employee) –  Braamfontein, Gauteng10 January 2020
Treated unfairly, they managers don't have management skills. I will never ever think of working for this company in my entire life. There is no growth also
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-pased, fun environment
Financial Advisor (Former Employee) –  Cape Town, Western Cape8 January 2020
Challenging but secure environment. There is room for growth both personal and as an employee. Hard work- long hours and extra efforts put but with great rewards.
Pros
Career development programs
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
SALARIED FINANCIAL ADVISER (Former Employee) –  Rustenburg, North West6 January 2020
Start off the week with a twirl in a printed skirt, the perfect pair of skinny jeans, woven shorts, classic sandals + more. i just yo gkaljvahggkjr jahghtipoio
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
2,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not good
Financial Adviser (Former Employee) –  Pietermaritzburg, KwaZulu-Natal5 January 2020
Do not be fooled by the sweet talking and smooth words. There's a lot of sugar coating to convince interviewees to take the position. There's a lot of competition and the commission structure is less than appealing. The incentives were literally a chocolate bar and little bottle of coke.
The training facilities are the only exciting part of working for Old Mutual.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Balancing work and children was not easy.
Financial Advisor (Former Employee) –  Brits, North West5 January 2020
Convincing customers to buy policies was not easy and you have to work hard for them to buy and traveling distance to find customers,working long hours and coming home late to meet deadlines.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful job
Financial Advisor (Former Employee) –  Mmabatho, North West3 January 2020
The company is trying to be the best and gives employees chance to grow.the problem is the premiums that are high.that makes selling products difficult
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Balanced
Personal Financial Advisor (Current Employee) –  Centurion, Gauteng22 December 2019
Stressful but manageable. Flexibility, only stress is going out to the field to look for clients. Salary not guaranteed if don't meet your monthly target.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Old mutual is a well established insurance vompany
Financial Advisor (Former Employee) –  Elim, Limpopo21 December 2019
I would like to go back and work for oldmutual. It is the best company I have ever worked for. It cares for it's employees and clients. Its working environment is good
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I would not recomemend to any one to work under a broker
Finacial Advisor (Former Employee) –  Mtubatuba, KwaZulu-Natal20 December 2019
I would not recommend to any one to work for old mutual broker, you subimit lot of work only to get a change, no opportunity to grow no traveling allowance no benefits it a waste of time
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Financial advisor
Financial Advisor (Former Employee) –  Gauteng20 December 2019
Commitment is needed in this Job,safety at all times cause is risky, but managers to think about safety of employees and that discouraged employees I wish that part could change they can take their part on that
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
there's good productivity
Financial Advisor (Former Employee) –  phalaborwa6 December 2019
there is good management; I have learnt to work well with people, to communicate well with them and to be a hard working person and to be dedicated to my job ; there was too much work to do but there was nothing I could not handle
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Financial Adviser (Current Employee) –  Newcastle, KwaZulu-Natal3 December 2019
at old mutual i learn a lot i learn to work as team and being strong enough to accept challenges that are coming in your way i also learn to be on time, to have a good communication skills also to learn to be professional be respect everyone and be have a nice interpersonal person
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I like the company.
Personal Financial Advisor (Current Employee) –  La Lucia, KwaZulu-Natal28 November 2019
The company is a good company to work for however the salary is poor. The atmosphere is good. It's diverse. If they work on the academy and ways to keep them it will be better.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Financial Advisor (Former Employee) –  Pretoria, Gauteng27 November 2019
Even though it was fun company to work for, the Job was very stressing and they had too many demands. Selling insurances everyday is not as easy as it looks as there was a lot of convincing to do whet it came to people.

I was one one of the high performers, got awards for reaching my yearly target every year that i was at Old Mutual.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
2,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
After I faced difficulties regards the disability I had then I was dismissed
Financial Advisor (Former Employee) –  Financial Advisor26 November 2019
Working in a such stressful and difficult environment game me strength that when someone gives opportunity I can make it. I was very disappointed when I was dismissed because of my disability occur
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Financial Advisor (Current Employee) –  Free State25 November 2019
Don't wanna be there again, stressing especially if the manager hates you, they would do anything to fire you, and colleagues are so self fish when it comes to business
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Old Mutual Life Assurance Company. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4,0
Based on 1 374 reviews
5529
4417
3332
259
137

Ratings by category

3,7Work/Life Balance
3,4Salary/Benefits
3,4Job Security/Advancement
3,5Management
3,8Culture