Old Mutual Life Assurance Company

Old Mutual Life Assurance Company Employee Reviews for Financial Advisor in Johannesburg, Gauteng

Found 32 reviews matching the search See all 1 397 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Financial Advisor (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng16 October 2019
is life changing experiance growth self development ,it have the culture of growing people and the is a chance of earning morethan a manager meaning u writte your own check
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for
Personal Financial Advisor (Current Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng10 October 2019
Worked for old mutual for a shirt period,, the culture is very professional, workers get training and they get to be equipped in a professional manner great opportunities as well for growth and development
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a fun workplace but its based on perfomance
Financial adviser (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng22 August 2019
It is one of the best company but the challenge it is its management.The hardest part is when you do not reach your target they micro manage you.It was fun working at this company especially employee benefit,
Pros
Team buildings and year end functions
Cons
Long hours and job security
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Financial planning
Financial Advisor (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng5 June 2018
I learned the insights and depth of financial planning and wealth management, enjoyed being able to assist clients in managing the wealth and also knowing how their future looked in terms of their finances.
Pros
year end functions
Cons
cold calling
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun working place
Financial Advisor (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg22 November 2017
Work hard and earn more with the company work as if you own the company time keeping and values of the company are the key to success work like there's no tomorrow
Pros
branch trips and competition
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work at
Personal Financial Advisor (Current Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng12 September 2017
Its not an 8 hours working job,or Monday to Friday,you work anytime any where not always the in office but on the road talking to client about their financial needs.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
long hours, writting your own cheque
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 1Report
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun
Financial Advisor (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng26 May 2017
Working at Old Mutual taught me better time management skills and discipline in my daily routine, in order to maintain focused and reach goals. Open and approachable management style with a great working environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company, And the very fun company to work for.
Financial Advisor (Current Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng15 May 2017
It's fun working for old mutual only the salary is the challenge, I love all the benefits e.g Medical aid, and provident fund, u love the flexibility of hours.
Pros
Team building
Cons
Salary
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
old mutual if a good company to work for.their employees are united and always support one another.whether is work related or personal
Financial Advisor (Current Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng15 February 2017
typical day at work would be on mondays if you never planed your day well,then everything will fall apart,what i have learned is that you need to plan in advance.work culture is extremely amazing and enjoyable.reaching targets sometimes can be a bit of a challenge.what i enjoy most is i knock off at any-time as long as my job for the day is done.
Pros
we get free petrol money, cell phones and airtimes
Cons
we work long hours and an extra mile
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Personal Financial Advisor (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng16 January 2017
the hardest park of the job is going door to door to get clients, I have learned a lot especially working with clients and getting to know them better and understanding theirs situations and its is enjoyable and you make lot of money.it is actually like running your own business when you manage yourself and set your own targets.
Pros
telephone usage
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun working enviroment
Financial Advisor (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng19 October 2016
A typical day at work should be filled with room for growth,and have challenges. Management should be willing to share information and enegetic. Working should be fun
Pros
medical aid and provident fund
Cons
long working hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a great company to work for.
Financial Advisor (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng11 October 2016
People should start applying at Old Mutual it is my ideal company. I enjoyed interacting wit people and being on field selling insurance, u get to meet with different kind of people and companies. You get to expand your knowledge in different sectors, u learn new things each and every day as get to meet with new faces everyday.
Pros
Training was also great, free lunches, buffet.
Cons
u work smart.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional work environment
Financial Advisor (Current Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng6 October 2016
Excellent management team, team work is encouraged.

Internal processes need to be re-evaluated and improved.
Reaching targets through all odds made the job tedious.

Flexible hours and servicing or advising clients on a daily basis made the job enjoyable.
Pros
Flexible working hours, field work, employee benefits
Cons
not being paid if targets are not meet.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lots of opportunities to grow
Personal Financial Advisor (Current Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng21 September 2016
very flexible hours great salary opportunities, management is very supportive. hardest part is finding your feet in terms of a stable client base. i find working for old mutual can open a lot of doors if you can start on a good client base
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really great company to work at.
Financial Advisor (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng6 September 2016
Old Mutual is a very productive company to work for, it has great incentives as well as employee development structures. Although their management structure needs to be worked on.
Pros
Salary increases
Cons
No overtime
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun but management are so cold hearts
Financial Advisor (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg17 June 2016
Working hear was funny but management are something else they Will like you only the week that you reach ur target if u don't the following week they can even shout at u, no it was traumatizing and boring and they ask some of employees to spy on other not health environment at all Old Mutual RMM.
Pros
No
Cons
flexible
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun working place
Financial Adviser (Current Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng10 June 2016
Working in Old Mutual is fun yet one learns a lot in terms of managing finances, very challenging, have very supporting managers, surrounded by friendly colleagues, hardest part would b finding new clients, most enjoyable is when we have events
Pros
Events/functions
Cons
finding new clients
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good environment
Financial Advisor (Current Employee) –  Johannesburg7 April 2016
Securing appiontments,overseeing sales staff under me and seeing clients and securing deals.Meeting new people everyday and own time management
Pros
Healthy environment
Cons
Clawbacks on bussiness
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
There are no job growth structures in place
PERSONAL FINANCIAL ADVISOR (Current Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng26 February 2016
Old Mutual is an entity that operates from a disparagement portfolio, where overall processes are concentrated to an individual line manager thus reducing independence, job satisfaction and frustrating growth. There is no clear-cut job advancement and security, because the remuneration structure is purely commission based. The job culture is also unclear because of the style of management.
Pros
the training is profitable, yes.
Cons
There tends to be favouritism
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace, but challenges in terms of income are present
Executive Financial Advisor (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg, GP28 August 2015
Been with Old mutual for over 5 years broken service. Excellent company to work for. As a financial adviser, your monthly income is hugely dependent on whether your clients are loyal to their premiums. No amount of screening or background checks can prepare you for if and when a client suffers financially. Once their income is affected, their premiums to policies suffer. Once this happens , my income suffers. No matter how hard i push myself and no matter how hard i work at my job, my income never displays my effort. Its heart breaking and frustrating. I therefore need more stability in terms of income
Pros
Environment
Cons
Income
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Old Mutual Life Assurance Company. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4,0
Based on 1 397 reviews
5539
4422
3338
261
137

Ratings by category

3,7Work/Life Balance
3,4Salary/Benefits
3,4Job Security/Advancement
3,5Management
3,8Culture