Pick n Pay Employee Reviews

Found 636 reviews matching the search See all 679 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and exciting
Produce Trainee Manageress (Former Employee) –  Pietermaritzburg, KwaZulu-Natal17 April 2019
It depends on which department
Everything in frontline, receiving and Produce management
We had to manage time stock intake and sales, wastage, staff
We all respected each other
Nothing was hard for me
Meeting daily budgets
Pros
Fantastic salaries, benefits, incentives
Cons
Long hours and working week ends
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun working
Floor Assistant (Former Employee) –  Pretoria, Gauteng12 April 2019
it was fun working at pick n pay, I worked all over the shop departments. I've learned and experienced a lot of things. management encouraged us to work hard to better ourselves.
Pros
free lunches
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
While working here i had learned a lot as it was my first time working as a cashier. The experience was great. Pick n pay staff is great.
Cashier/Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Cape Town, Western Cape5 April 2019
I worked there as a recruited contractor from J&M a recruiting agency. My experience to pay was not directly from pick n pay. The staff at pick n pay is very friendly and supportive. They see to their customers and the rest of their staff.
Pros
Lunch
Cons
Hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive, unfair salary
cashier (Former Employee) –  Pietermaritzburg, KwaZulu-Natal1 April 2019
working there is fun but there are no benefits. There no floor cleaners, its like you are doing two jobs except you do not get paid for cleaning. Management is mostly Indians.
Pros
experience
Cons
small salary
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
always learning
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Kempton Park, Gauteng1 April 2019
working for pick n pay you are always learning new and exciting things about the company the new changes that are taking part in retail trying to keep up with the trends and products that make pnp customers always coming back for more
Pros
knowing what the specials are
Cons
very long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and enjoyable
Assistant baker (Former Employee) –  Western Cape28 March 2019
the only problem on my own opinion is they employ you and you will work for more than 4 months yet you remain as a casual whereas the law states you cant work such period
Pros
yes
Cons
yes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
is not an exciting working place.
Trainee Manager (Current Employee) –  Bloemfontein, Free State18 March 2019
I'm a trainee manager.I'm running the deli department.so there is a budget everyday that is sat an you have to achieve.you deal with customers on daily
Pros
no free lunch
Cons
we work long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Collaboration & team work
packer (Former Employee) –  Polokwane, Limpopo16 March 2019
Fast service
Clean store
All dressed in uniform

There is team work and collaboration in the store, fair working hours & day offs...All staff members are treated equal, either casual or on contract
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive enviroment
MERCHANDISER PARTIME (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg South, Gauteng14 March 2019
The manager was able to give me an opportunity while i was studying to gain what work place was all about i enjoyed working in a free and fun customer service place.
Pros
enough lunch time
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it's a nice place
any job (Former Employee) –  Vosloorus, Gauteng10 March 2019
Pick n pay is a great place people come to it because they see how fresh the food is.so it gets so many opportunities in life
I think me working in this company is a great thing because I can get to see how people treat each other in a good way
Pros
30 minutes break
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Training excellent and expirience of deferrent department
Sales Assistant (Casual) (Former Employee) –  Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape8 March 2019
I expierince alot at Pick en pay how to how with poeple team to accointable at all time if a team member did attend to fill the space and to work every where.
Pros
3lunches
Cons
Long hours bt with 3 lunch times
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stuff is free to ask
In store promoter (Former Employee) –  Pretoria, Gauteng8 March 2019
Will wish to work in an environment where every stuff member is free to talk to when I wanna ask questions , a working place where everybody will want to be committed as I'm willing to everyday, will wish to work with people that understand that a client is always right, and that we need to work very fast
Pros
free lunches
Cons
8 to 10 hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
communication and good working place every one put an effort
Grocery General Assistance (Former Employee) –  Welgemoed, Western Cape6 March 2019
good on working with customers
always with smile
productive and working hard
need to be treated equally
customers always right and give a good service
Pros
team building and meal allowance
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its fun working at pic n pay.
till packer (Current Employee) –  Cape Town, Western Cape28 February 2019
I enjoyed working at pick n pay i even made more friends and everyone loved me. I was always the hardworking one. You must always be on time 15 minutes before the time your have to be at work. Never to leave your till.
Pros
no free lunches
Cons
I worked long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
1,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
checkout assistant and switchboard assistant (Current Employee) –  Cape Town, Western Cape26 February 2019
Pick n pay is a fun work place. We work as a big team. our customers are everything to usThey our Kings and Queens. We make sure we give good service
Pros
We get free transportation, free lunch and free training
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Communication is accurate
Frontline Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Empangeni24 February 2019
This company is more productive, and prove proper service in the World. And can pay good salary. Only that because of loosing customers we end up working less hours. But they try with all means to bring customer back so the staff can benefit also.
Pros
Take good care of staff
Cons
Work until late
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and good working place
Storeman and merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Parys21 February 2019
They to improve on management skills how to communicate with employees,treat employees with more respect and improve on promoting people who work 5 or more years from their current level
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work place where every one put effort on their duties
marchandiser (Former Employee) –  Durban, KwaZulu-Natal6 February 2019
It a better place for you to be where every one is dedicated to their work and they always taking good care of there customers and they sell quality goods
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing Brand with long history of positive impact on South Africa
executive (Former Employee) –  Cape Town, Western Cape5 February 2019
A long established retailer whose founder and family are still involved in the day to day. Culture is driven of the philosophy of the customer is queen and doing good is good business. I joined in 2008 and worked through a sustained period of change for the company which had seen sustained aggressive growth for 40 years but had not invested in the future. So big initiatives were centralising distribution, centralising buying, centralising marketing, implementing SAP, launching a loyalty programme and becoming more professional in ways of working leading to cultural change. As a result every day was challenging with great highs and deep lows but immensely rewarding to see the business thriving. The impact of the family is material in a positive way with a lot of the founding culture remaining in the organisation. The hardest part of the job was the cultural change required to implement the change. The business was moving from a fully decentralised organisation to centralised with regional focus. This was difficult for some as most of the colleagues had been with the business for many years.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
supply chain analyst
Supply Chain Intern (Current Employee) –  Cape Town, Western Cape25 January 2019
Pulling and updating reports and interacting with master data teams and ensuring all the master data is correct.
Do buyers feedback and demonstrating why such products were not delivered in a specific time.
Pros
Team building and social events
Cons
staying and not knowing what to do
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport