Pioneer Foods Employee Reviews

Found 80 reviews matching the search See all 98 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pioneer Foods
Buyer / Materials Controller (Raw materials) (Former Employee) –  Durban, KwaZulu-Natal17 May 2019
Extremely good company to be apart off.
I have learnt alot with regards to materials management and supervising team members, i have dealt with suplliers on materials orders and status, Warehouse management.
Pros
Company benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
balanced work and life
Food Technologist (Former Employee) –  Cape Town, Western Cape15 May 2019
culture is still difficult to change most people have been in the same positions for a long time and are not willing to adopt new ways of working and they are resistant to new management from the external environment
Pros
Flexible working environment
Cons
limited oppotunities for growth
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place
forklift/order picker operator (Current Employee) –  Germiston, Gauteng13 May 2019
working at Pioneer foods is fun and productive to worker here ,you are given opportunity to express your views, you are given time to learn more about the company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a productive work place, very challenging.
Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Centurion, Gauteng24 April 2019
I enjoy most of the days whilst I was still there. I learned time management, how to deal with different people with different backgrounds and customers with different characters. It groomed my character in a work environment since it was my first job. The hardest part of the job was to be a in a situation where you sometimes don't deliver in time, the pressure will be too much. After it was great
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Assistant Accountant II (Former Employee) –  Malmesbury, Western Cape17 March 2019
hard work environment
you get send for neccesarry training
very strict management
work culture

working overtime with no pay and not being recondnized for promotions


Traveling most enjoyable
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its great to work at pioneer foods it has a lot of development
Clerk Stock Control (Current Employee) –  Wadeville, Gauteng13 March 2019
*i was a general worker when i arrived but today im a well experienced stock control
*we have a great management
*is when people mess up your stock
*stock take
Pros
they give us juice
Cons
over time is worked
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not able to give a review due to length of time away from company
Regional Financial Manager (Former Employee) –  Paarl, Western Cape24 February 2019
Although I left the company more than 20 years ago, I enjoyed my time with Pioneer. Being in the Regional office, gave me the opportunity to travel to outside branches, and meet with a diverse group of people in the company.
Pros
Nice working environment
Cons
Downsizing at the time meant relocation of a lot of departments.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Educational and prodctive
Sales Clerk (Current Employee) –  Brits, North West24 January 2019
Pioneer foods is a well established company with family values and ethics , working here is both exciting and insightful

Promotions are based on Merit and hard work
Pros
Family based environment
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Cape Town, Western Cape11 January 2019
You need to be willing to work hard, willing to work weekends and willing to do various duties. Training is good and job growth is great if you prove yourself.
Pros
Job security
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 3Report
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and pressuring working place
field marketer (Former Employee) –  Stutterheim, Eastern Cape9 October 2018
I liked working a pioneer because everyday I woke to work was a challenge to me having to go up and down in between isles making sure my job was 100%.
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
8 hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 4Report
2,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great working enviroment
General Clerk (Former Employee) –  Worcester, Western Cape24 August 2018
The enviroment you work in is pleasant.
I only worked on contract bases for Pioneerfoods.
Provides stability when you are permanently employed.
There is job security.
Management structure are well balanced
Pros
no pros
Cons
must be willing to work over-time sometimes
Was this review helpful?Yes 18No 3Report
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Shift supervisor (Former Employee) –  Malmesbury, Western Cape20 July 2018
Great company to work for overall. Not much time for activities though. The salary rate at Pioneer foods have always been great. People I've worked with was passionate and caring
Pros
Good renumeration
Cons
Not enough training provided
Was this review helpful?Yes 19NoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for.
Sales Order Clerk (Former Employee) –  Malmesbury, Western Cape9 June 2018
Productive and fun workplace. Amazing people to work with. I would not have left the company but due to personal reasons I had to. Should there be an available opportunity, I would like to work for Pioneer Foods again but at the Paarl Head office.
Pros
1 free drink per day
Cons
sometimes lack of internal communication
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 4Report
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice workplace
Laboratory Assistant (Former Employee) –  Malmesbury, Western Cape31 May 2018
I worked in the quality lab, testing flour samples for water activity, consistencies, color etc.

the people are very friendly and nice to work with. I've learned a lot everyday, but sometimes when the mill had a breakdown there were no samples for us to test, then it were quit difficult to handle to do nothing and then the time goes by very slow. It;s a lot of physical work, long hours standing but overall I enjoy it there for the 2 months industry training that I had to do for completing my studies.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive with many experiece
fitter artisan (Current Employee) –  Krugersdorp, Gauteng28 May 2018
We are productive unit in the group as we are number one by now. We dont have fun as we only conventrate on production to keep our business stable and compitable.
Pros
no free lunch
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Finance administrator Creditors/Debtors (Former Employee) –  Paarl, Western Cape28 May 2018
Strategic Service is like the heartbeat of the Pioneer group. where everything begin. The buying,procurement and transport.
Its a financial institute where you have to work under pressure and perform at the end of the day.
where billionrands of contracts get scrutinize an payments to suppliers and transporters being processed.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive entity
Buyer (Former Employee) –  Malmesbury, Western Cape23 April 2018
A good company to work for.Good people with skills and very eager to work.Work load is very high and i feel it should be better managed through proper engagement with one another.A huge gap from management to the worker is present and this is the cause of many undesirable or never minded workers creating their own tendencies to finish their daily task.More training must be given to management in the form of basic management behaviour skills towards workers.The hardest part is to convince management for change.
Pros
Willingness to support
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Human Resources Manager
Human Resources Manager (Former Employee) –  Cape Town17 March 2018
Responsible for the well being of the employees.

Responsibilities

Recruiting
Training
Disciplinary inquiries
Pay qualities
Wellness of employees
All Human Resources functions
Pros
N/a
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 3Report
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and successful
Stock controller (Former Employee) –  Eastern Cape1 March 2018
I was working fine the with challenges dad lines , working fine with my stuff and team members and management . the environment was good and healthy business
Pros
free bread
Cons
shift
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed the experience only a pity that it was part-time
Picker (Former Employee) –  Kimberley, Northern Cape26 February 2018
Hard work and enjoyed the experience but it was only a part time job. Worked well with the other personnel. It was an opportunity to learn and was disappointed that it was only a part time job as the company is well-known and I could made a career of it and improve myself to apply for other posts.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Pioneer Foods. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3,9
Based on 98 reviews
535
431
322
25
15

Ratings by category

3,5Work/Life Balance
3,2Salary/Benefits
3,4Job Security/Advancement
3,4Management
3,5Culture