Rio Tinto Employee Reviews

Found 19 reviews matching the search See all 681 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rio Tinto
Technical Solutions Consultant (Contract) (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg3 February 2019
Workplace was a fun relaxing working environment and the staff were really enjoyable to work with. The role was also really challenging which was good for my own personal development.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and proffesional place
Principal Advisor-Africa (Former Employee) –  Johanessburg15 April 2018
This is currently the second biggest company in the mining world. Very professional and had a number of roles that one could moved to in the world. They are leaders and very progressive in their approach.
Pros
Everything
Cons
Travelling
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun , challenging
Office Manager (Former Employee) –  North west provicnce12 February 2018
Planning daily supplies for project teams were a real pleasure , administrating the aftermath of the project , also challenging,

But great fun and learning experince
Pros
Good company benefits
Cons
Far from family
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
• Budget Management and Cash Management • Sound Financial Accounting System implementation • Effective Project Management • Market trend analysis • En
Accountant (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg South, Gauteng18 August 2017
• Budget Management and Cash Management
• Sound Financial Accounting System implementation
• Effective Project Management
• Market trend analysis
• Ensuring compliance of policies, procedures and control
• Extensive knowledge of donor management projects
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
aministrator (Former Employee) –  Illovo, Gauteng6 May 2017
i was a office administrator. i got experience in human resources. very nice environment to work in. good management. most hardest part was over time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 1Report
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A productive and fun place to work
Business Analyst (Current Employee) –  Johannesburg North, Gauteng3 February 2017
Excellent company to work for, I gained well-rounded experience in my field. The training provided is of a high standard. Work-life balance is respected.
Pros
Development opportunities
Cons
Sometimes long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a goop place to work
Survey facilitator (Former Employee) –  Phalaborwa, Limpopo24 September 2016
I had fun learning and working there.the staff there is very professional .the supervisor waa very patient and was willing to show me the ropes on things i didn't understand at first
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Goal driven and Results Orientated
Transformation and LED Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Richards Bay, KwaZulu-Natal21 April 2016
RioTinto thinks of its people as the future of the industry, and are committed to providing employees with a dynamic and diverse work environment.
RioTinto believe in openness and transparency across its global business, where people are empowered to grow and learn.
Where all Rio's successful mining operations are underpinned by strong work ethics and our core values putting peoples safety first.
Pros
Employee Development
Cons
Disgruntled Host Community resulting in unrest and protests
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 2Report
2,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No growth
Creditors clerk/Cashbook Clerk (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng15 April 2016
In this company there was no sign for growth, which made it difficult for me to stay as i had a vision. working on this company is not recomended for young growing ambitius individuals
Pros
Management was friendly
Cons
No growth
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace with world class standards
HEALTH ,SAFETY AND ENVIRONMENTAL OFFICER (Current Employee) –  RIOZIM LTD28 August 2015
Productive work place with world class standards.Decent amount of politics and red tape.The most enjoyable part of the job was working alongside my colleagues ,sharing experiences and mentoring trainees.
Pros
employee friendly
Cons
limited stakeholder interaction
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Good Salaries
Administrator (Former Employee) –  Tete, ZN25 April 2014
Productive,good salaries and good incentives.To be an experienced and innovative personnel. To uphold high personal integrity, goal orientation, innovative and effective leadership skills.

Most of the co workers are friendly. Spending the whole day under the mine
Pros
Free Accommodation and food
Cons
Normal Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 57No 3Report
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fun place to work, lots of challenges
Business Evaluation and Commercial Manager (Current Employee) –  Johannesburg, South Africa26 March 2014
Great environment. Take great care of image and doing the right thing in a very difficult industry.
Cons
little visibility for those not located in UK or Australia.
Was this review helpful?Yes 24No 5Report
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding and satisfying
Advisor CD & HR Business Partner (Current Employee) –  Sandton, GP21 August 2013
My role is a functional role.
I reported into a global team - POS.
We are two team members, responsible for the Southern Africa Region / Business Units (Namibia, Zimbabwe, South Africa & Mosambique).
Facilitating global leadership programmes and promoting e-learning and online college and academies.
Pros
Flexibile working hours
Cons
Small department - not much room to move upwards
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environment
Advisor: Graduate Recruitment and Development (Current Employee) –  Johannesburg, GP31 July 2013
It's a fast paced environment. The culture is the best. I like the company because they have flexi hours and you can work from home.
Pros
Working from home and flexi hours
Cons
Not too many benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 28No 1Report
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive company
Mining Specialist (Current Employee) –  Phalaborwa, Limpopo15 April 2013
• Busy but satisfying.
• New Procedures and how to assist the contractors.
• We have a great Manager and he taught me allot.
• I have a good relationship with my co workers.
• The hardest part would be to work with incompetent Supervisors(Contractor)
• The satisfaction of achieving Production targets and coaching of contractor employees.
Pros
production bonusses and good working hours
Cons
lazy co workers
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poductive and fun workplace with all respect for other co-workers.
currently unemployed (Former Employee) –  currently unemployed15 January 2013
A typical day at work must be for you to go out and give your best,to be productive in everything you do and it must be fun for you to do your normal duties.You must give your best at all time - more than just 100 %.Your boss must feel that he or she can hand out your duties,and you will be able to go on with your work.Therefore,he must know that you will deliver at all timeS and that he can trust you.Every new day I see it as an opportunity at work that when you have learned something new it helps you as employee to grow in yourself and to get more experience in life.Management also plays a very important role in a company.If the managers give their all and show leadership,i feel that the employees working under management will therefore follow management steps to be better in the workplace,teamwork,communication,ect.Co-workers must first respect one another and it will then lead to excellent production as well as teamwork.Another thing thats very important is to always help your co-workers to see safety first,before they start with any duties for the day.The hardest part of the job or any job - is to get people to understand to enjoy their job,value it,respect one another culture and very important safety first,and also to help co-workers to solve any conflict problems and rather to learn more about anothers cultures.The most enjoyable part of the job is when you and your co-workers complete the job without any problems or delays.Also when your boss come and let you all know well done.If all give their part to get the job done and management show their appreciation at the  more... end of the day.  less
Pros
any
Cons
any
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Fun working environment
Payble Financail Clerk (Former Employee) –  Rosebank22 November 2012
The most enjoyable part of the job is working in a team. The management is well done, I have learned to work on SAP and following the policies and procedures of the type of work
Pros
gym
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company to work for
Openpit foreman 9 y Winding Engin Driver 12 y (Former Employee) –  South Africa , Limpopo , Phalaborwa31 January 2012
Very good company to work for. Very good employer to employee relationship . They look after your needs as good as they can. If possible they send you on courses to better yourself for the future .
Pros
bonus system in place.
Cons
medical aid. 1 hour lunch
Was this review helpful?Yes 20No 17Report

See more Rio Tinto reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Rio Tinto. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3,9
Based on 681 reviews
5234
4255
3135
229
128

Ratings by category

3,8Work/Life Balance
4,2Salary/Benefits
3,4Job Security/Advancement
3,4Management
3,7Culture