Samancor Employee Reviews

Showing all 18 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Production and management
Laboratory Analyst (Former Employee) –  Gauteng22 October 2017
Samancor was paying well and the job was fun and exploring. Workers were friendly, like my second family and management were considerate. If i am to ho back, I would do it. We were getting production bonus for each month's hard work.
Pros
No free lunch
Cons
We could work overtime when needed
Was this review helpful?Yes 40NoReport
2,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for
Maintenance Artisan (Former Employee) –  Kroondal25 May 2017
Enjoyed working at Samancor, good company with good benefits. Enjoyed working there and gained a lot of experience working there. Good salary package.
Pros
Stability
Cons
Culture
Was this review helpful?Yes 35No 1Report
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Administrator (Former Employee) –  Meyerton, Gauteng27 April 2017
Working at this company was a good experience. I worked with good people who trained and taught me well. I was given opportunities to develop myself and given tasks that taught me to be assertive and have good interpersonal skills.
Pros
Contractors
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 28No 2Report
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team work
HR Administrator Shaft (Current Employee) –  Samancor11 March 2017
Working at Samancor is ok but people at the top level undermine lower levels.production first then safety follows.things are done indirectly.development to their employees is so poor.
Pros
No
Cons
More job
Was this review helpful?Yes 18No 4Report
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i am a very productive person and enjoy my work
Electrician (Current Employee) –  Rustenburg, North West4 July 2016
I enjoy my work more especially after solving electrical problems that occurred during the shift.the hardest part about this job is to work while its raining.
Pros
its a bonus
Cons
i can work long hors
Was this review helpful?Yes 14NoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fair
Artisan/Automotive Electrician (Current Employee) –  Steelpoort, Limpopo19 May 2016
the work load is enough for a day
I've learn to utilize time allocation when doing a task
the colleagues are very welcoming
Pros
lunch is at anytime
Cons
too much favouritism
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 2Report
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Harsh enviroment but excellent work atmosphere
Instrumentation Technician (Former Employee) –  Middelburg, Mpumalanga,MTC6 January 2016
I grew a lot while working for Samancor , we worked hard but was well recognised.
They provided training to be able to do your work .
I was recognised as a Technician.
We were a very closed and highly competent team that excelled in what we were doing.
Pros
good salaries
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 11NoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
learnt new electrical equipment, factories a different ball game
foreman (Former Employee) –  Rustenburg, NW2 October 2015
hard work from morning till end of day
learnt about automated operation (the old school Style, start one motor then engage the different clutches to get every thing working)the one partner was down to earth person that cared about his employees .
poms can be difficult people to work with.
I would say pulling the main feeder cables through the arches in the roof.
on Fridays was pool completion in the companies rec club
Pros
trasport to work and back
Cons
short contract
Was this review helpful?Yes 11NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i had good times at samancor
assistance boilermaker (Former Employee) –  Witbank, MP24 August 2015
i leaned how to read drawings and fabricating structures,able to use CO2 welding machine.we worked as team at samancor and safety come first always
Pros
own lunces
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
1,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good and people behaving well
Training Practitioner in mining (Current Employee) –  Brits, NW28 March 2015
overloaded by job without labour,I have learned that I can make things happen, management too oppressing to labour force, very understanding and hard working, the hardest part is to face management on labour issues, very happy people at all times even though they are under pressure
Pros
breaks, we had enough
Cons
very long hours of work but no pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and good working environment
Maintenance Specialist (Former Employee) –  Steelpoort, LP26 February 2015
• Fault finding
• Planning
• Standby
• Budget and cost control
• Projects Progress reporting
• Interfacing between Contractors
• Establishment of new Contracts and Contracts strategies
• Quality inspections
I believe openness culture and spirit of honesty within working environment, accept new challenges, empower individuals and create the culture that supports the business values which are the core elements of every successful business.
Pros
Free housing
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 15NoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Maintenance Artisan Boilermaker (Former Employee) –  Witbank, MP19 May 2014
Leanerd a lot on smelters.and they gave me a first chance on the maintenance side.
Pros
Medical aid
Cons
Hot enviroment
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good enviroment
Electrician (Current Employee) –  Witbank, MP27 March 2014
Hard working
Enjoy my job
Looking for a better oppertunity
Willingly to work overtime
Breakdowns
Pros
Good medical and pension funds, when working overtime - get dinner at work
Cons
Some of the people are to lazy to work
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
supervisor (Former Employee) –  Witbank, MP7 February 2014
supervision at work

learned to work with people and equipment

cooperation with management

hardest part of the job is to get people under control

enjoying everything at work and studying mining engineering part time
Cons
fatigue shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive/fun environment
Data Capturer/Administrator Maintenance (Current Employee) –  Steelpoort, LP4 February 2014
I love my job, working with people, being busy the whole day with no time to be bored. I learn a lot about people and how to work in a team. The hardest part of my job is keeping calm and not to take things personal. I love working with people and on the computer. Being in control of my working environment.
Pros
Medical; pension; 13th cheque in December; Production Bonus-monthly.
Cons
Housing not applicable in my job rate.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun to work for.
Logistics Superintendent (Current Employee) –  Steelpoort, LP16 January 2014
Very matured company in terms of systems and SHEQ management. Employees are given room to implement their thinking. Achievements are celebrated and those who do good are recognised.
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 2Report
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
interactive,fun and challenging
training officer/facilitator/coach (Current Employee) –  limpopo21 December 2012
introduction,description of the company mission,vission,srategies and policies,i learnt a lot,and i am who i am because of company, management isgood,my coworkers are exellent all of them,our department we have a good team work spirit, the hardest part of the job is when i have many people i have to induct,i love meeting,advicing people on a daily basis,increasing my vocubulary in many south african languages
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Samancor. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3,6
Based on 18 reviews
54
46
36
21
11

Ratings by category

3,5Work/Life Balance
3,4Salary/Benefits
3,7Job Security/Advancement
3,3Management
3,6Culture