SANDF Employee Reviews

Found 253 reviews matching the search See all 259 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Life changer
Rifleman (Former Employee) –  Oudtshoorn, Western Cape10 August 2019
Being part of the sandf family has been an amazing journey for me, but ofcourse with every journey comes obstacles and lessons, and today I can stand proud to say that I have learnt and made better choices than before.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Depressing place
Private (Current Employee) –  Gauteng springs28 July 2019
It's just not good for someone that is willing to achieve his or her dreams,its a very stressing environment where sometimes you will feel depressed .
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extremely disciplined place
Military Practitioner (Former Employee) –  Oudtshoorn, Western Cape21 July 2019
Must be hard working and go getter and be promoted to leadership post I as a sandf infantry enjoyed and love working at the sandf army and do not regret it many benefits and opportunities
Pros
Medical aid free
Cons
Dangerous working
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Deoends on work zones
Investigator (Former Employee) –  Pretoria, Gauteng6 July 2019
Boring if you have a specific qualification but under utilised Can be enjoyable if Commanders were to interact both military and modern management skills. Commanders tend to stick to old military impraticatable management strategy.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional and discipline
Technical Officer (Former Employee) –  Lohatlha, Northern Cape25 June 2019
Workshop Production not very high as the organization serves internal clients within. There’s also high level of outsourcing especially with petrol vehicles.
Pros
Discipline and Professionalism
Cons
Outsourcing of mechanical tasks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very adventurous working place
Naval Technical Officer ( mechanical) (Current Employee) –  Simon's Town, Western Cape3 May 2019
Sometimes we work with weapons that we used to see on tv. Even though it it not my job title but i still handle weapons as a soldier. Being in a frigate is another interesting experience
Pros
Free lunches, allowences
Cons
Always taking orders
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I'm working safeguarding through the borderline
rifleman (Current Employee) –  Bloemfontein, Free state8 April 2019
Safeguarding through the borderline
Good approach with the community.
I don't get along with my boss.
Our training is very professional.
Working with the community.
I enjoy my training and development and our entertainment from my country.
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
I'm getting free health care, Free food
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The field and shooting and safety measures
Military Practitioner (Current Employee) –  Thohoyandou, Limpopo17 March 2019
Working in this environment is okay and not that challenging when you are not deployed outside the country ...the salary is not enough though and the job is dangerous as one can die at deployments...the working environment is exciting too and we are a different culture.we live with our military rules and it’s enjoyable
Pros
Yes
Cons
Normal working hours unless if you on guard duty
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job security
Manageress (Former Employee) –  Pretoria14 March 2019
Because you work for the government job security is great. And depending on the directorate you're working for you can be deployed or get to travel to different cities or countries.
Pros
Traveling trips
Cons
Top management can be really hard to work with.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun...its very nice working in rhe Sandf
Chef (Former Employee) –  Bloemfontein27 February 2019
I have learnt a lot in sandf as a chef and if I get a post as a food service manager I will go for it ...its fun to work in sandf am enjoying ...the only reason trying to find a job is because I wanna relocate and be close with my family since Bloemfontein is very far and am from KZN...i have been in the sandf for 7 yrs now am enjoying and it's nice..am currently doing my final year in bachelor of consumer science in food and nutrition..my aim one day is to become a qualified nutritionist ..i hope and wish you will assist me with my job hunting..
Pros
Free meals
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
2,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not what it used to be
Officer Commanding 16 Engineer Regiment (Former Employee) –  Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape21 November 2018
The SANDF is not an employer to be proud of.The lack of professionalism and discipline saw the SANDF declining.

The salary and career advancement in the SANDF became unreliable and nepotism is the order of the day.
Pros
None
Cons
Unsatisfactory
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Provides recreation sports day every Wednesday and physical training daily
Deputy Director (Former Employee) –  Pretoria South Africa15 October 2018
The military has become extremely political driven for A - political career officers. I was developed to the level of General Command and Staff but was informed that my political affiliation is A - political due to the previous regime which I served in and this will deprive me of promotion to General. I retired as a Colonel after 12 years serving as a commander of operational and training units. I deployed as a national Contingent Commander in Burundi and Congo under AU and UN missions and was appointed as Sector Commander in Dafur under the AU and Hybrid AU/UN light support package mission.
Pros
Meals, accommodation and medical cover as for a defence force
Cons
Being a commander this perk, I decided my off times
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive with new change everyday
Army (Current Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng20 August 2018
I'm looking for a job coz I'm doing part time in Army and its hard for me to make a living so I did forklift license to see if I can better my life I need this job very bad
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 5Report
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
for me not productive
Reserve force (Current Employee) –  Gauteng, Gauteng6 August 2018
Post are unavailable and they continue to recruit while there are so any soldier with jobs and salaries. As reserve force member we struggle to make a living,we cannot even buy houses.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place with high discipline
Senior Admin Clerk (Current Employee) –  Cape Town, Western Cape1 August 2018
High discipline is a must. Must 18 to 22 years of age to join this organization. Be highly self motivated and be willing to be a team player. Must have matric minimum.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive companyto work for
ndt technitian (Current Employee) –  Pretoria, Gauteng30 July 2018
I have worked for the SANDF from 2007 until present. I worked as an Artisan and then now im working as an NDT and Quality technician. I love the SANDF
Pros
nock off early on some fridays or day before the public holiday
Cons
trainig time is fully allowed
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Development and good career path
Junior Safety Officer (Current Employee) –  Pretotia5 July 2018
Am currently working as a junior safety officer under the supervision of the unit safety Officer. I have learned a lot with regard occupational health and safety and management skills.
Pros
Good insentives
Cons
Flexible hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive workplace
Soldier / Admin clerk (Former Employee) –  Bloemfontein, Free State4 July 2018
Very well managed organization, training provided was perfect and very reliable. Extra effort from all staff. Opportunity for more training also available.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent experiece
Combat Engineer (Current Employee) –  Bethlehem, Free State27 June 2018
An experience every young man should go through. It taught me discipline, punctuality, subordination, mutual respect. Multicultural environment with mutual understanding and respect.
Pros
EXCELLENT medical, Pension benifits.
Cons
The long months away from home.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace and very satisfying
Instructor (Former Employee) –  Upington, Northern Cape19 May 2018
Join the SANDF and see the world, no other environment would gives you the opportunity to meet so many interested people, countries and see so many different cultures
Pros
Good medical
Cons
Tough circumstances
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport