Sappi Employee Reviews

Found 173 reviews matching the search See all 245 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not bad if you are white
Millwright (Current Employee) –  Nelspruit, Mpumalanga7 November 2019
It's very hard to be recognized in the company, growth and development is not excised. You'll have to be very luck to be seen or given a promotion with the qualifications and work experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work environment
Internship (Former Employee) –  Pretoria, Gauteng6 October 2019
The company is very great with great opportunities and growth with regards to career wise and management system is great.I really had a productive year.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
SAPPI - The family company
Learning and Development Officer (Former Employee) –  Mandeni, KwaZulu-Natal18 September 2019
My experience working at SAPPI was that this is a company that allows for growth within the company as well as the group.

By applying yourself you can advance far up the ladder of success. They offer learning opportunities within a person's job scope.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Inservice training (Former Employee) –  Pretoria17 September 2019
Working at sappi not only it is fun but it is also very productive in terms of experience growth, economically and most importantly it is environmentally friendly.
The people are friendly and always ready to give best learning experience anyone could possibly wish to have
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
2,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Yes productive but there's no motivation at all
Fitter (Former Employee) –  KwaDukuza, KwaZulu-Natal22 August 2019
Sappi is a nice place to work but if both management and people on the floor they can meet up.
The management always complaining about the budget versus the work to be completed
Pros
Yes free lunch
Cons
Not really sure
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Freedom with responsibility
HR Consultant (Current Employee) –  KZN17 August 2019
Work is structured and policies and operating procedures are in place.
Each unit has its own unique culture.
There are competent managers to coach and mentor employees.
Cons
Red Tape
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I'm loving working for Sappi
System Administrator (Current Employee) –  Ngodwana mpumalanga15 August 2019
I'm loving working for Sappi
I have learned allot her in this 5 years of my stay, it's my first company to stay this longer than 5 years
I work as an IT Support Tech
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive and fun workplace
Balepress operator (Current Employee) –  KwaDukuza, KwaZulu-Natal14 July 2019
Working at sappi is the best opportunity anyone would be greatful for.Its a balancing company when it comes to work and personal life, I enjoy the benefits and personal development plan offered
Pros
Gifts on targets reached.
Cons
Rotating shift.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well productive
boiler operator, forklift driver (Former Employee) –  Operator5 July 2019
Gender equality
No racism
Opportunity to discuss work issues
Problem solving
Promotion
Zero accident
Family responsibilities
Hygiene program
Respected
Pros
Own lunch
Cons
45hrs/w
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Designing
Draughtsperson (Former Employee) –  Springs, Gauteng20 May 2019
General drawing office work
New software in the department
Checking drawings for jnr draughtsman
Associated with other department
When the design is not working
Work as a team
Pros
Normal time
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
2,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great working place i learned alot
WINDER MACHINE OPERATOR (Former Employee) –  Mandeni29 April 2019
Good place to learn and to manage your work with time and team work. Put safety first as they also ensure safety as the hiring company.......you get the chance to be exposed to other working environment as well and that what I liked most that the way of how the working environment should be
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Old
Completing CA articles (TOPP trainee) (Former Employee) –  City of Johannesburg, Gauteng18 April 2019
There are a lot of old people. The work/ life balance was good and the benefits were great. Growth opportunities are limited because the Sappi is a mature company
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 2Report
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An amazing and progressive company
Key Accounts Manager (Former Employee) –  Gauteng23 March 2019
Sappi recognizes its employees effort and rewards acordingly.
the company is progressive and has transformed with time .
A fun and enjoyable place to work. A great cultured existed of trust and respect and integrity.
The hardest part of the job was people management .
THe most enjoyable part of the job was dealing with customers
Pros
Lunch subsidy
Cons
Nothing
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An excellent comlany to work for. Close knit community
Mechanical Foreman (Former Employee) –  Stanger, ZA23 January 2019
Sappi Stanger is an excellent company to work for with a strong safety orientated core bussiness. The Sappi Stanger group is a tight knit community that comes across more of a family than work collegues.
Pros
Training and development
Cons
Short staffed
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for
MAINTENANCE PLANNER - PM (Former Employee) –  SAPPI TUGELA MILL1 January 2019
Sappi is very good company to work for and Most of my learnings was gained at SAPPI Tugela Mill.
I served my apprenticeship with this company and it is because of this company that I am where I am now with a wealth of knowledge and experience
Pros
Employee and safety focussed
Cons
Management top heavy and floor staff low
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A place where you can enjoy working
shift superinteded (Former Employee) –  Nelspruit, Mpumalanga26 November 2018
It is gòod company that cares for its employees. The company will develop and individual from zero to hero if ever you are committed to education. Many employees achieved higher position through development and education
Pros
Na
Cons
Na
Was this review helpful?Yes 19NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Junior papermaker (Former Employee) –  Springs, Gauteng21 November 2018
Great company to work for. They continuously strive to better the skills of all employees. There is also a great culture of knowledge sharing. I would suggest working here.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplace
Apprentice Electrician (Former Employee) –  Mandeni, KwaZulu-Natal21 November 2018
doing everyday section checks and attending to breakedown, I have learnt to work under pressure specially on breakdowns. the people that I have worked with they friendly and always willing to give a helping hand
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive with high safety standards
Digester Outside Operator (Former Employee) –  Nelspruit, Mpumalanga3 November 2018
Highly qualified management
Qualified operators
High competition
Lot of opportunities-promotions
Good company accommodation and transportation
Market related salary
Pros
Good accomodation
Cons
Cold
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive and time out
Forestry Manager (Former Employee) –  South Africa27 October 2018
Sappi had a good working culture, i learnt that good management and team player makes good production. fire fighting was the hardest part of working in Sappi. the most enjoyable was the support from management.
Pros
Support from Management
Cons
Fire fighting
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport