Sasol Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work ethics
Operations/Production Manager (Former Employee) –  Sasolburg17 May 2018
My day to day activities involved the stable operation of the plant, managing of personnel, plant preparation, personnel allocation, safety operation of the plant, reporting to clients and reporting to senior management.

I have learned how to operate all unit operations, all distillation units, reactor units and liquid, liquid extraction columns. i have also learned to work with the team to achieve the set objectives.


There was a very good culture of team work and rewarding of excellence, unfortunately this culture can also be affected by the style of management.

My hardest part is when the personnel reporting to me did not understand the bigger picture when I had to deliver some bad messages from the senior management.

The diverse nature of stuff and the fact that while with the company i got to grow through out all levels and ranks within the company.
Pros
developmental guideliness
Cons
unfair managers
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Skilled Information Security Analyst (Current Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng14 May 2018
Work with stakeholders to implement information securityrequirements and remediation . Research on the new security trends.Good management culture .
Pros
Pay well .
Cons
Lack of communiction
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Conjucive
Assistant Mechanical Fitter (Former Employee) –  Secunda, Mpumalanga7 May 2018
The environment was good for leaning from the best.
Working and interacting with experienced employees.
Transferring of skill and knowledge, especially to the youth
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A workplace where you can grow as a person and your career
plant operator (Former Employee) –  Mpumalanga24 April 2018
One of the experiences I will never forget I learned a lot from that company they thought me about life and the work from my seniors . As a worker there were a lot of chances for promotions
Pros
Alot of off days
Cons
A lot of shifta
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fun work
operator (Current Employee) –  Sasol Satellite Ekandustria18 April 2018
Fun and enjoyable place to work in and the company really cares for employees and the advancement of employees through career development. Also mangement is good and allows employees to take part in decision making.
Pros
Good pay and bebefits
Cons
Long hours at times
Was this review helpful?Yes 13NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Junior Foreman (Former Employee) –  Secunda, South Africa17 April 2018
The client manages the production very good, a day in the work area consisted of safety as priority 1 and production to follow. the hardest part of the job was the work area as it was very difficult to work with the materials
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mature place
Vacation Student(TEMP) (Former Employee) –  Secunda12 April 2018
Interesting environment and lots to learn. My role was to update the employee database and install antiviruses on pcs.

Also got exposure to Aris mapping of the company processes

I learnt a lot about the company itself and how their end products value chain
Pros
Learning Exposure
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Safety Standby (Former Employee) –  Mpumalanga, KwaZulu-Natal11 April 2018
Working as a safety standby was a very easy and interesting job,because your job is to watch safety of others,it was a fun job although sometimes it was tiring.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Short hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Operater (Former Employee) –  Bronkorspruite6 April 2018
It is a nice workplace with good security and normal working hours, everything is under control and understandable we all enjoy our work with good supervision.
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Normal hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Administrator Occupational Hygiene and Medicine (Former Employee) –  Metsimaholo, Free State3 April 2018
Productive workplace with a diverse culture and a good work-life balance. The most enjoyable parts of the job were getting to know the people and learning new skills.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a good company to work for.
Functional Analyst (Former Employee) –  Govan Mbeki, Mpumalanga2 April 2018
I were a typical Business analyst, systems analyst capturing system changes conducting the changes as well as business requirements capturing and related IT services.
Pros
Safe location
Cons
Remote location
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Process
Process Artisan (Current Employee) –  Sasolburg, Free State29 March 2018
I was operating plant by the name of ATR and also producing Fuel gas for clients. i was working on the panel for both plants. Working for sasol is a good and more interesting, but the development plan is not in place because it takes so long for someone to be promoted.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always proud of Sasol
mechanical fitter (Current Employee) –  SOUTH AFRICA17 March 2018
Great Company to work for.
Gives you endless opertunities and good security.
Gave me the oppertunty as an apprentice and still my life and work just got better.

Sasol is a good place to work for.
Pros
Good salary
Cons
Rather not mention
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and good place to work to gain experience
Specialist Beneficiary Investigation (Current Employee) –  Sasolburg16 March 2018
Day to day consultation with families who lost their loved one's who were employed by the company ensure that all the benefits are paid to the right people guided by the Pension Fund Act and the Company policies.
Pros
Good exposure
Cons
Growth
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplaace interact with people everyday
petrol attendant (Former Employee) –  gauteng4 March 2018
Working at this company requires hard work and determination because we used to work eleven hours every single day from 7:00am to 6:00pm so if u are strong enough to work there you might love it.
Pros
tips
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 28No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive company with interesting employees
Project Technician (Former Employee) –  Sasolburg, Free State19 February 2018
Had fun working at Sasol and met lots of interesting people. I learned more about safety and health in the work place but would have liked it more if I was implemented into the QS function a bit more.
Pros
Stable company
Cons
Long Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 27No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Process Controller (Current Employee) –  Secunda, Mpumalanga12 February 2018
SASOL is a very Productive and stable working environment. It offers competing salaries and long term incentives. The training and development of employees is a big concern for sasol currently.
Was this review helpful?Yes 53No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Student (Former Employee) –  Secunda, Mpumalanga8 February 2018
Safety is a major concern at SASOL.
Excellent team work.
Helpful staff.
Staff is well treated.
Productive yet fun workplace.
Very risky work environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 34NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Natref: Joint venture comprising Sasol & Total
Team Assistant (Current Employee) –  Sasolburg1 February 2018
Highly production oriented.
Focus on employee relations and remuneration to be aligned.
Pressurized and stressful environment.
Nature of the environment are highly dangerous but safety policies are in place to address these issues.
Pros
Incentive bonus
Cons
Poor remuneration
Was this review helpful?Yes 26No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, relaxed and competetive
Planner (Former Employee) –  Metsimaholo, Free State26 January 2018
• Plan, Schedule and co-ordinate maintenance activities
• Input in PDR and Scheduling meetings
I've learned handling difficult situations
Seeing the work being excecuted as per planning

Management was good

I disliked the kind of pay I was receiving
Pros
N/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 19No 3Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Sasol. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4,1
Based on 503 reviews
5212
4162
3101
215
113

Ratings by category

3,9Work/Life Balance
3,8Salary/Benefits
3,7Job Security/Advancement
3,7Management
3,8Culture