Sasol Employee Reviews

Found 477 reviews matching the search See all 538 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Maintenance Operator (Current Employee) –  Secunda, Mpumalanga9 January 2019
It gets really intense and unfair at times..its a fun place to be and productive at times,but then again it gets boring and stagnent cos you don't always get challenges...it was disadvantage that one couldn't study what one wished to study...
Pros
Leave
Cons
Disrespect
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Workplace
millwright artisan (Former Employee) –  Mpumalanga6 January 2019
Typical day at work - Busy and challenging. I gained a lot of experience when working at Sasol. I learned how to proper plan for each job and how to work with people. I also switched over from boilermaker to Millwright.
Pros
Close to Home
Cons
Minimal
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, care for people and have good image
Guide (Former Employee) –  Secunda, Mpumalanga22 December 2018
Sasol helps people from different background and they give back to the community through CSI programs . We acquired so much information though we were Guides
Pros
Free Lunches, Organised Transport, Free backpacks and free education
Cons
Long hours of drive
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safety comes first and fun work place
Rigger (Former Employee) –  Secunda, Mpumalanga13 December 2018
A workplace where safety is considered as priority, employees are also a priority. Different companies under Sasol create more jobs/skills for people.
Pros
Saftey precautions provided
Cons
Fair hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lovely place to work.
Plant operator (Former Employee) –  Sasol secunda9 December 2018
Sasol provides many job opportunity's international and external jobs always.sothis simply shows that opportunities are endless the sky is the limit.i would love for other people to come and join the winning team that's sasol
Pros
Lunch hour is there for everyone
Cons
Overtime is there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a caring company taking care of its social responsibility by producing its products safely and conducting its businesses safely.
Production Shift Manager (Former Employee) –  South Africa ( Secunda)8 December 2018
Its a place to learn how to safely produce products while excellently taking care of your customers by being focussed, sustainable at the same time greatly remunerate and celebrate employee achievement.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and productive workplace with restaurant
Apprenticeship - Millwright (Former Employee) –  Secunda Mpumalanga7 December 2018
Your typical day at work would be putting on your overall and safety equipment. Then you go in cage and go down 200 meters down the ground. Then you drive with a bakkie to the section and start the meeting in the waiting place. Continue the day and at end of day you go out underground to the showers and clean yourself. Management is good. Work culture also good between the people. Hardest part is carrying heavy stuff threw mud with your boots. Enjoyable part is reaching the target coal for the day at the end of the day.
Pros
Barbecue with the team and free coffee
Cons
Long Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and a fun workplace
Instrument Technician (Current Employee) –  Mpumalanga6 December 2018
Productive and a fun workplace.
Good Infrastructure for learning and development through various learnerships.
Good benefits.
High focus on safety, health and environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and busy
Fitter (Current Employee) –  Secunda, Mpumalanga28 November 2018
Were to begin, well we tend to be busy repairing or repacking of gearboxes of the conveyor system running outside at the ash and refinery plant.There isn't always time for fun is hard work but we do ten to talk and tell jokes to keep spirits up.
Pros
Great Overall experience and pay
Cons
unnecessary Break downs due to lack of communication
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard working and focused
Process Controller Artisan (Current Employee) –  Sasolburg, Free State17 November 2018
It helps me to gain experience and build me to be a hard worker and work save at all the time, safety it is their number one priority and if something is not save you don’t it, you Won’t enter the gate under any alcohol or drug
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 2Report
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, busy, various things to learn
Engineer in Training (Current Employee) –  Sasolburg, Free State22 October 2018
Sasol is a good place to learn and again experience.

I normally am involved in plant monitoring and running with small projects. I have also been involved for the technical development of projects in the front loading of a project.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 1Report
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Yeah its hard
Petrol attendent (Current Employee) –  Mdantsane, Eastern Cape7 October 2018
I put into the best level even now. I was use my matrix to my curriculum vitae. Yeah I'm faster and i know how to deal with people. Somedays they came with their beers so it enprece us to do more work. To clear our work place
Pros
It about me so i like it
Cons
11 houres
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 2Report
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
training
instrument trainee (Former Employee) –  Secunda, Mpumalanga26 September 2018
there training is one of the best the training practitioners have a big spectrum of knowledge about each and every trade the give training in. they make training interesting
Was this review helpful?Yes 20No 1Report
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
safety are good, good working place
Rfac (Current Employee) –  Mpumalanga, KwaZulu-Natal17 September 2018
Operators are welcoming me nicely started first day,Occupational therapy are good to me even I am a locum their are enjoying working with me,they ask me if I can work for permanent and I say yes I can
Pros
buy out of my pocket
Cons
normal hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 2Report
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
senior control officer (Current Employee) –  Mpumalanga15 September 2018
It is a good company to work for with lots of fun moments. They have good benefits and the 13th cheque with an option of having it divided into twelve and get it every month.
Pros
Good opportunities
Cons
management sometimes dont take advise from junior members
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun working
PA (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng12 September 2018
was their during my school holidays

was really nice having a cash flow while in school
learnt how to deal with clients and life in the big world

never a dull moment in the company.

I truly learnt a lot as my father was working their too at that time
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 1Report
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sasol changed in the past 5 years and not always for the better.
Electrical Supervisor, Electrical Engineer (Current Employee) –  Sasolburg5 September 2018
Sasol is a good company to work for, but in the last 5 years it changed and it isn`t the same anymore, it use to be nice to go to work and management and workers used to respect and knew each other, now with all the changes in the company the workers and management don`t know each other and also don`t trust each other.
Pros
Good medical
Cons
No place to growth in the company
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 1Report
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun
Soft Service Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng30 July 2018
enjoyable
nice experience
good people
integrity
good values
good managers
transparent management
understanding managers
good team work
excellent in all we do
Was this review helpful?Yes 22No 2Report
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and always on work
Turbine Fitter (Current Employee) –  Secunda, Mpumalanga18 July 2018
Good experience with the company and you can become a specialist outside to other companies because there's lot of activities in the factory and challenges
Pros
No freelunch
Cons
Always at work
Was this review helpful?Yes 22No 2Report
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good exposure to a variety of industries
SHE Officer (Former Employee) –  Secunda, Mpumalanga12 July 2018
Great company to gain experience as you get exposure to different industries, not too stressful, good benefits all round although career growth in some areas could be a bit slow.
Was this review helpful?Yes 32No 2Report