Sasol Employee Reviews

Found 485 reviews matching the search See all 550 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Shift Boss (Former Employee) –  Secunda, Mpumalanga6 March 2019
Every day was a good day
Learned a lot and good company in career development
Good management team
People working for this company knows what they are doing
Pros
None
Cons
No long hours except in an emergency
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safety is the most important thing
Operator (Current Employee) –  Gauteng27 February 2019
Working at Sasol Satellite Operations is fun because you get to know more people and their culture and get experience in operation Field. Just follow Sasol operation procedures
Cons
8 hours or 12 hours if under pressure
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work place
Millwright under ground (Former Employee) –  Secunda27 February 2019
we were working 10 hours a day, working underground let you think of your own safety before you start your shift. The hardest part of the day was to let the machines run without any breakdowns.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High Performance/Fast Paced
Analytical Scientist (Current Employee) –  Sasolburg, Free State13 February 2019
At Sasol your role category can differ from year to year, from an operational scientist to a sales and marketing projections for certain streams.

Adaptability and agility are key in our environment - and understanding why the business model can be fast. Distilling information to get to the bottom line that will ensure growth in the company is key.

Academia and Industry at its best.
Pros
Flexi-time
Cons
Remote area
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very sturctured and fun to work at
Senior Logistics Officer (Former Employee) –  Sasolburg, Free State4 February 2019
Always looking after their personnel
very attractive salaries and packages\
best office environment to work in
it offers the best medical and pension a company can give
Pros
shares
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 1Report
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Production
Artisan (Former Employee) –  Gauteng, Gauteng31 January 2019
I have done Civil Engineering in Carpentry as well also trained as carpenter and was issued with certificate of that which has various task done on training which is stated on the certificate that I have included.I also worked at Sasol as an Artisan responsible for the carpentry work in the building,My duties were coordinating building maintenance projects allocated to us ,make sure that were done first time accurate and report on them.
Pros
non-contractor
Cons
non-contractor
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company to work for
Manger (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng29 January 2019
I enjoyed working for Sasol as a fuel manager. I learned alot on how to deal with difficult customers. We were a team and all worked well together. A Typical day at work would be to change shifts, make sure all is running smoothly and if you know what you doing the work is easy
Pros
Petrol Allowance
Cons
Work shifts but the hours are not bad
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 2Report
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplace
Safety Watcher (Former Employee) –  Sasolburg, Free State28 January 2019
I enjoy working at Sasol a lot. The treatment is nice and the number of hours worked is suitable for me. I would like to be a permanent here after my contract expires.
Pros
free lunches sometimes
Cons
Normal hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
These company very good who those being electrician
artisan assistant (Former Employee) –  Mpumalanga22 January 2019
Safety precaution is required when we use electricity
Rubber gloves required
Water used electrical conductor care must be taken when water is present
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Full time
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strong work ethic
Senior Automative Mechanic (Current Employee) –  Secunda, Mpumalanga21 January 2019
Good company to work for and always willing to educate it's employees. The managers are good in their positions and well placed. The best part of the job is the team work
Was this review helpful?Yes 13NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Production in sasol is good but there is no time for fun family time
safety representative, shopsteward (Current Employee) –  Mpumalanga15 January 2019
If only the small issues like discrimination can be moved out of the way and we treat each other with respect and dignity, I think we can change sasol into a better place for us all to work in and bring back the family day so we can have fun with them and get to know each others family and that will make us one big family we always talk about.
Was this review helpful?Yes 20No 1Report
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Maintenance Operator (Current Employee) –  Secunda, Mpumalanga9 January 2019
It gets really intense and unfair at times..its a fun place to be and productive at times,but then again it gets boring and stagnent cos you don't always get challenges...it was disadvantage that one couldn't study what one wished to study...
Pros
Leave
Cons
Disrespect
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 2Report
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Workplace
millwright artisan (Former Employee) –  Mpumalanga6 January 2019
Typical day at work - Busy and challenging. I gained a lot of experience when working at Sasol. I learned how to proper plan for each job and how to work with people. I also switched over from boilermaker to Millwright.
Pros
Close to Home
Cons
Minimal
Was this review helpful?Yes 15NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, care for people and have good image
Guide (Former Employee) –  Secunda, Mpumalanga22 December 2018
Sasol helps people from different background and they give back to the community through CSI programs . We acquired so much information though we were Guides
Pros
Free Lunches, Organised Transport, Free backpacks and free education
Cons
Long hours of drive
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 2Report
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safety comes first and fun work place
Rigger (Former Employee) –  Secunda, Mpumalanga13 December 2018
A workplace where safety is considered as priority, employees are also a priority. Different companies under Sasol create more jobs/skills for people.
Pros
Saftey precautions provided
Cons
Fair hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 14NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lovely place to work.
Plant operator (Former Employee) –  Sasol secunda9 December 2018
Sasol provides many job opportunity's international and external jobs always.sothis simply shows that opportunities are endless the sky is the limit.i would love for other people to come and join the winning team that's sasol
Pros
Lunch hour is there for everyone
Cons
Overtime is there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 1Report
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a caring company taking care of its social responsibility by producing its products safely and conducting its businesses safely.
Production Shift Manager (Former Employee) –  South Africa ( Secunda)8 December 2018
Its a place to learn how to safely produce products while excellently taking care of your customers by being focussed, sustainable at the same time greatly remunerate and celebrate employee achievement.
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 1Report
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and productive workplace with restaurant
Apprenticeship - Millwright (Former Employee) –  Secunda Mpumalanga7 December 2018
Your typical day at work would be putting on your overall and safety equipment. Then you go in cage and go down 200 meters down the ground. Then you drive with a bakkie to the section and start the meeting in the waiting place. Continue the day and at end of day you go out underground to the showers and clean yourself. Management is good. Work culture also good between the people. Hardest part is carrying heavy stuff threw mud with your boots. Enjoyable part is reaching the target coal for the day at the end of the day.
Pros
Barbecue with the team and free coffee
Cons
Long Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 3Report
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and a fun workplace
Instrument Technician (Current Employee) –  Mpumalanga6 December 2018
Productive and a fun workplace.
Good Infrastructure for learning and development through various learnerships.
Good benefits.
High focus on safety, health and environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and busy
Fitter (Current Employee) –  Secunda, Mpumalanga28 November 2018
Were to begin, well we tend to be busy repairing or repacking of gearboxes of the conveyor system running outside at the ash and refinery plant.There isn't always time for fun is hard work but we do ten to talk and tell jokes to keep spirits up.
Pros
Great Overall experience and pay
Cons
unnecessary Break downs due to lack of communication
Was this review helpful?Yes 16NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Sasol. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4,1
Based on 550 reviews
5235
4175
3111
216
113

Ratings by category

3,9Work/Life Balance
3,8Salary/Benefits
3,8Job Security/Advancement
3,6Management
3,8Culture