SGS Employee Reviews

Found 14 reviews matching the search See all 480 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Marketing Administrator (Former Employee) –  Booysens, Gauteng14 March 2017
I worked there for a short while, the people worked as a team and as individuals. I worked alone as I was preparing for an Exhibition they were to attend. Made sure everything needed was delivered on time.
Pros
free lunches
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 3Report
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Senior Laboratory Technician
Senior Laboratory Technician (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg North, Gauteng14 January 2017
I started working as laboratory house keeper for three months and I was appointed a laboratory technician for another three months then I was appointed for as senior laboratory technician until I resigned.
Pros
Deverlopment
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 3Report
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work at and learn
WELDING INSPECTOR(QC) - LEVEL (Former Employee) –  Grootvlei, Mpumalanga18 October 2016
as an QC inspector and as a ultrasonic wall thickness testing technician you are required to have a sharp eye when it come to visual inspections and when taking readings using the UT machine. when doing QC inspections you need to be accurate as possible and be sure on your findings. compile a reports of your daily work and submit.
Pros
free lunch, transport and accommodation
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 4Report
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional and Ethical
Quality Manager (Former Employee) –  Randfontein, Gauteng13 June 2016
Typical day started at 06:15 with planning, then short meeting with co-workers.
Some days - meetings (Operational, Quality, SHE)
Evaluate Technicians.
Develop Work Instructions and Procedures
Review Work Instructions and Procedures
Training staff in QMS
Co-workers eager to learn
Management are Professional and Ethical
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 2Report
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Invoicing and PO's
Financial Administrator (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng16 February 2016
I have learned that I can work on different systems.
Management really doing the best they can.
Co-workers struggled with certain policies.
I enjoyed invoicing clients and planning auditors travel arrangements.
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 3Report
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was fun and also it gave me experience as to how laboratories work
machine operator (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg, GP25 January 2016
it was my first job experience so i was quite challenging but i enjoyed it.manangement was always there to assist when needed and our team was great to work with, including team leaders.i think the most difficult part was miling of samples because it required a lot of physical abilities and mental strength.the most enjoyable was presssing of samples.
Pros
n/a
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
1,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was a good Experience
Coal operator (Former Employee) –  Secunda, Mpumalanga3 December 2015
I enjoyed the time that they gave but it wasn't what i wanted i also say thank thanks to each and every opportunity given to me because it adds to my experience.
Cons
The rate was too low
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 10Report
2,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
SGS in South Africa is not a great company to work for
Chemist (Former Employee) –  Richards bay, KZN13 September 2014
SGS has some of the best policies & procedures BUT management doesn't follow them. It's for show basically... Read through their website and you'll be sold, get in - totally different story. Racial awareness is huge at SGS SA and not in a good way.
Pros
You'll know what to look for in a company
Cons
It's not a great company to work for, with high staff turnover.
Was this review helpful?Yes 45No 10Report
1,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sharing ideas while working
Laboratory Analyst (Current Employee) –  Johannesburg, GP24 July 2014
I enjoy with my co-workers because as a team and we respect each other,i have learned to share and to communicate with others in a respectable way.Well most of my co-workers are nice and friendly they are easily to talk to,I like every single part of my job,I enjoy the most when there are samples cause they keep me busy and focus.
Pros
none
Cons
yes we do long hours sometimes if we had to
Was this review helpful?Yes 28No 13Report
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no fun at the workplace
Lab Operator (Current Employee) –  Belfast, MP6 May 2014
At SGS ,I work as a lab operator,I prep the samples coal at prep area,I collect the samples at the plant and pit samples,I'm done size grading,pulverising and crushing samples,total moiture and abbrisive index.Always I work very hard to my cmpany.
Cons
one hour
Was this review helpful?Yes 34No 8Report
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a work in progress
Training Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg South, GP13 January 2014
working with people all the time
I've learned that it takes a team effort to make a company succeed
I've leaned a lot from my co workers and I believe they have learned a lot from me as well
The hardest part is getting people to stick to deadline as far as training was concerned, people were concentrating more on production.
What I enjoyed was training and informing people about work and other staff and having a good working relationship with them
Pros
Making a difference in someone's life
Cons
People resisting change
Was this review helpful?Yes 22No 6Report
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was good working at SGS, they taught so much and the productions, It was really fun working there
Operate (Former Employee) –  Secunda, MP30 August 2013
I learned so much because now I am able to differentiate between the coals and stones do the different types of sample in coals and the management was really good to us as workers.My co-workers was the type of people who can teach you everything you want to know
Pros
free lunches
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 20No 3Report
1,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoy my work and have fun at work also
Industrial (Current Employee) –  western cape19 March 2013
The typical job that i did was Medupi riggig first time which is 60 metres high and the bends on pipes that we had to jet blast.

I've learned that team work is the key and communication to do a job.

My most enjoyable job was when everyone could think and we succeed on jet blasting the pipes, work was normal after difficulties but i manage to win
Pros
lunch paid
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 4Report

See more SGS reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at SGS. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3,5
Based on 480 reviews
5152
4118
392
247
171

Ratings by category

3,3Work/Life Balance
3,2Salary/Benefits
3,0Job Security/Advancement
3,1Management
3,3Culture