Shoprite Checkers (Pty) Ltd Employee Reviews

Found 590 reviews matching the search See all 600 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Had bad days working at shoprite
cashier (Former Employee) –  Kuruman, Northern Cape6 January 2020
All i want is to work in a safe working place,treated equally and have a good salary so that i can feed my family.because iam the bread winner at home
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Experience
General receiving assistant (Current Employee) –  Burgersfort, Limpopo4 January 2020
I have learned many things at Shoprite retail.such as SAP systems i know how to receive stock and to do capture it on system.i also take part when they do stick take
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good working experience as a first time employee
cashier and packer (Former Employee) –  Tokoza, Gauteng30 December 2019
The working hours were the worst more especially during the holiday season... You never had family time cause its a workplace that operates on a daily, so on days such as Christmas the working hours would not change or become less, everyday was the same. There was always a lot of conflict between co workers , even worse if you were a new employee. I cant really say i enjoyed anything in particular cause everyday was a hassle waking up to get to work.I always preferred the morning shifts over the afternoon shifts. The hardest part of the job was being short of money made for the day when cashing up, it had to be the most stressful time ever cause you then had to pay it from your own pocket. In the process i had to learn to be strong, understanding and patient cause working with people especially clients or customers isnt the easiest thing at all.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cashier
cashier and sales assistant (Former Employee) –  Polokwane, Limpopo28 December 2019
It requires someone who's efficient attentive and focus ...have knowledge about the cash handling procedures. Always be on punctual. Customer service is the key
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overworked but little salary
Controller/ Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Soweto, Gauteng26 December 2019
Working at ShopRite is a nightmare,you work abnormal hours but little pay,you can be an ShopRite employee for more than five years being a casual.Although you gain more experience in so many things,you learn to be strong and patient
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
packer (Former Employee) –  Benoni, Gauteng21 December 2019
I learnt a lot while I was working there eg time management, customer service and communication. The hardest part of the job is that there's no job description.and is not a place you can consider a career in.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Experiencial Environment
cashier and packer (Former Employee) –  Bapong, Brits20 December 2019
Working at Shoprite is interestingly because you learn to cooperate with different people of different cultures. Customer Service is the major component that is very important.
Pros
Helps you to earn work experience xnd retail customer services.
Cons
working long unpaid hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
General Assistant (Current Employee) –  Jouberton, North West13 December 2019
Am happy...but someday is very difficult.sometimes is like we r in a cell....or a prison...we r not free.like other shop we dont buy a reduced price produce
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
1,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor unfairly paid. Working long hours and unpaid overtime
cashier (Former Employee) –  Bronkhorstspruit, Gauteng12 December 2019
It was hard and painful working at shoprite. I left for maternity leave and my child was born with difficulty they refused to pay my leave money I was unfairly dismissed
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was very disappointed
Front End Controller (Former Employee) –  Harding, KwaZulu-Natal8 December 2019
Was very disappointed at the district I last worked at. Management were bullies and not professional with staff. They would have favourites amongst staff members, and would promote according through friendship and not through a staff's qualities and hardworkship. Never felt safe to report it further due to fear of being mistreated. They were just unprofessional bullies.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work 45 years for CH then take over from SR.
Regional manager (Former Employee) –  Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape2 December 2019
I believed what the staff tells me now that work conditions have change the last 2 years.The reason I amnot sure new MD new brooms swept clean.New ideas not always the best specialy if you work with customers.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace and great customer service experience
packer (Former Employee) –  Rondebosch, Western Cape29 November 2019
The management is great there,the helping of customers is super awesome.
I enjoy being busy working and helping customers and the exeperience I have gained is massive.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I really enjoyed working at shoprite checkers
Bakery assistant (Former Employee) –  Kroonstad, Free State26 November 2019
Working at shoprite checkers tout me how to treat customers. How to work as term and how respect each other and love each other and respect your job
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Month-end are very busy, l have learned to be patient from the way customers treat us as SHOPRITE workes, Mangers don't respect
cashier (Current Employee) –  Ulundi, KwaZulu-Natal23 November 2019
It's not funny, we as workers end up working more time while there is no overtime payment the managers don't respect the employees they treat them like thresh
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
relaxing job ,team working
general worker/cleaner (Former Employee) –  Gateway .Kwamashu bridge City18 November 2019
I'm 25 old lady very passionate person, willing to grow and learn at the same time. I love reading. I'm persistent lady outgoing person. Willing to explore out there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a bad salary for someone who is using his /her mind to focus on money counting.
money market clerk (Former Employee) –  Kuruman, Northern Cape12 November 2019
I think Shoprite is taking people's effort for granted ..it does not pay it' s
employees an u work hard but at the end all you get is peanuts.i went to work there with the empress that I will earn such promising payment so that I can fulfill my studies but I couldn't because of a small salary.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was very good to work there
cashier and packer (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng9 November 2019
I work hard and I am a humbly person I can do anything to make my client or customer happy. And I am willing to do anything to make u happy, You will not be regretting for hiring me.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pushing for sales every day and maintaining the company required standards.
Sales Manager (Current Employee) –  Cape Winelands, Western Cape7 November 2019
The hardest part about the business is when you having a quiet week and you have to dig deeper to make sales and reach your target. It's very interesting when you have to keep an on the competitor in order to better your own business.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No ideal place for work
Trainee Manager (Former Employee) –  Thohoyandou, Limpopo6 November 2019
No life balance
Working from weekend to weekend.
Language barrier
Afrikaans used in all levels and addressing of leaders not.
Best place to learn retail details.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i truly enjoyed working there
packer (Former Employee) –  Cape Town, Western Cape4 November 2019
i was very happy working in shoprite retreat i was enjoying every moment on duty i loved my job of being a general assistant because it gave me an opportunity of may skills e,g as a cashier,till packer,and merchandise
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Shoprite Checkers (Pty) Ltd. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3,4
Based on 600 reviews
5164
4137
3152
292
155

Ratings by category

3,1Work/Life Balance
2,6Salary/Benefits
3,3Job Security/Advancement
3,4Management
3,3Culture