Shoprite Group Employee Reviews

Found 203 reviews matching the search See all 1 006 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good to work
Groceries general assistance (Former Employee) –  Pretoria, Gauteng25 November 2019
Iwork monday to Friday ilearned how to packer astock and to communicate with people that iwork with them iwork as a shelf packer received Dc clearing rollacage make sure the shelf is full of stock i enjoy packing shelf
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly Professional
It was a great working environment, and the experience was awesome. Shoprite is a good company, and they encourage growth in every Department. It was an honor working for the Shoprite group.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unhealthy work environment
Admin Manager (Former Employee) –  Witbank, Mpumalanga13 November 2019
work started at 6am until 8pm working
No lunch time ,u eat then go back to work,No time to rest ,no time for family. abusive senior management
Dept of labour should seriously check management working hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful
Regional Human Resource Manager (Former Employee) –  Gauteng7 November 2019
Poor leadership
Race politics
Power is central
Poor benefits, Salary disparities based on colour
Typical day included managing IR matters in stores, workforce management, Hardest part part of the job is dismissing employees who truly need the job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Internship Student (Current Employee) –  Cape Town, Western Cape31 October 2019
It's good really nice working there till you find a better job.environment is good comfortable and easy to work on but the salary benefits are not nice hence Wich is why I'm saying till I find a better job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Our first priority is to keep our customers happy all time
cashier and packer (Former Employee) –  Mpumalanga24 October 2019
Once a customer got in to our shop you must know that it is your responsibility until they leave the shop
Assist them with what ever they are looking for or need
Never leave a customer angry find a sollution on that problem come with other options so you both be happy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at shoprite its a bit amazing
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Mpumalanga,14 October 2019
I worked at shoprite for a quiet long time and i realy enjoyed being there serving customers was the best part ever i learnt a lot ,i humbled my self towards customers it was so amazing
Pros
Loving
Cons
Caring as a cashier
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The wages are too low which made me work for longer hours trying to get more overtime.
Long haulage Truck driver (Former Employee) –  Pretoria, Gauteng14 October 2019
These company taught me to work for longer hours.
Most of my life was at work than home with family.
I learn to do intensive driving like you start working at 02:30am to 22:30pm almost everyday.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was good to work at shoprite
Sales Consultant (Former Employee) –  Cape Town, Western Cape10 October 2019
You learn a lot at Shoprite but the thing is the hours are long but the salary it's very small but u learn a lort about business and how to heddle the custormes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management
Store manager (Former Employee) –  Polokwane29 September 2019
Total disrespect by senior management towards staff. Insults are the order of the day.
Senior management can make you doubt your ability.
You made to believe that, there is no life after leaving shoprite.
One has no time for family life.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced
till packer (Former Employee) –  Daveyton, Gauteng22 September 2019
my typical day at work would consist of being at the shop by 8 am, after the store has opened i'd have to pack customer goods. I learned to work and collaborate with people on a better level.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Double Checker
double checker (Former Employee) –  Bethlehem, Free State19 September 2019
No cooperate between employees and Manager
Supplies always complaining
Machandise/Packers stole stocks
No total Control of Managers
Employees Uniform is bad sized
Working overtime Possible Not paid
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Insightful and Great learning opportunities
Planning Manager (Current Employee) –  Brackenfell, Western Cape6 September 2019
A typical day at work involves daily reporting for upper management, routing and scheduling of trucks, and cost analysis.

This job provides great insight into the operations of a conglomerate company, from the process of ordering to the dispatching of the trucks, including store queries.

The hardest part of the job would be the 4 day shift system in which you are required to work day shifts as well as night shift.

The most enjoyable part of the job is understanding the entire flow of the distribution center and being able to help and facilitate to make operations more efficient.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was fun working there.
fruit and veg assistant (Former Employee) –  Strand, Western Cape3 September 2019
I enjoyed working at shoprite.
I wish i could go back.
I miss my friends and work.
I enjoyed my work.
The hours arent so long.
I lived close to work.
Pros
1 hour lunch.
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's one of the best company even though u can't do much for urself bcz of the salary u earning
Till packer (Former Employee) –  Westgate Shopping Center, Gauteng30 August 2019
It's one of the best company that have thought me more about best customer service n how a customer should be treated, it also have learning seasons wr u can learn more about the product n and things that u are going to work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyble
nun food general asistens (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg South, Gauteng20 April 2016
month end
all ways make your customer happy
all ways u need a good leader
helpful
long hours at month end
to see help customer a
Pros
never
Cons
good many
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What I have learned?
general worker (Former Employee) –  Gauteng18 April 2016
I have learn a lot about retails. They teach you how to build your self and the ones around you. One becomes motivated to do more everyday.
Pros
Daily activities
Cons
Time schedules
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun in the workplace
shelf packer (Former Employee) –  Eastern Cape15 April 2016
a typical day was during my first day since I wasn't familiar with work and colleagues. I learnt working with people ad consulting where necessary. the management was good regarding our rights as staff. co- workers were good in such that they were willing to assist where they can. the hardest part of the job was during the busy days. I enjoyed communication with various people.
Pros
free lunches
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
busy periods at work excites me.
Sales manager,fresh food manager.branch manager (Former Employee) –  Musina, Limpopo13 April 2016
typical day at work is having not to make target and having to explain why.
what I learn is to make an effort to push harder for the following day and stay ahead.
being a branch manager has thought me to work with all nations and to listen to people and also having to take the hardest decisions.
co workers - ups and down as you have to fight and be friends with them at the same time, because at the end of the day its only work related not personal.
hardest part of the job is having to fire somebody.
preparing for the bosses when they come and the whole atmosphere as they are at the branch.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good character builder
Sales Manager (Current Employee) –  Nigel, Gauteng12 April 2016
A good company to work for at the beginning of ones career.
Good bonuses but not of late other smaller retailers like the unknown checkout and Cambridge get a better salary.
Too many line manager who are in contrast of what you should be doing
Pros
Strong training
Cons
Long hours with no lunch and tea break
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Shoprite Group. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3,6
Based on 1 006 reviews
5268
4312
3272
2101
153

Ratings by category

3,4Work/Life Balance
3,0Salary/Benefits
3,3Job Security/Advancement
3,3Management
3,4Culture