Smollan Group

Smollan Group Employee Reviews

Found 111 reviews matching the search See all 116 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive but sometimes slow
field marketer (Former Employee) –  Durban, KwaZulu-Natal13 December 2019
Apart from everything at Smollan I learnt about the true basics of interacting with people you meeting for the first time(customers) learnt to adapt to any working environment without no pressure, learnt to treat complaining customers and deal with them the most level headed as possible
Pros
none
Cons
paid overtime
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Only management at smollan are happy when it comes to money.but us who make sure orders are placed,damage is controlled,stock is packed get nothing
Fieldmarketer (Current Employee) –  Rustenburg, North West30 November 2019
Smollan isn't treating us fairly when it comes to salaries.because I have been working there for the past 8 years but am still earning less than R4000.and according to online jobs the fieldmarketer position is paid R8000 upward but am a fieldmarker but getting half of this money
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It wasn't a bad job that I could regret working
Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Shoprite Dobsynville28 November 2019
Its a good company that I can refer someone to work for. Its a different working environment compared to some and most companies. Their uniform is good.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful but very rewarding
Safety, Health and Environmental Manager (Current Employee) –  Gauteng6 November 2019
The Culture at Smollan is what attracted me. When not formally meeting Clients, one is allowed to wear Casual clothing which makes you feel more comfortable and ultimately increases your productivity.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Mechandiser (Former Employee) –  Western Cape23 October 2019
Management very fine
I learned a lot and gain lot of experience
The Job was enjoyable and interesting
Hardest part of the job its when fighting about the space with your competitor
The job is very challenging
Pros
Non
Cons
Non
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company that grows their people and good benefits
Training officer (Former Employee) –  JHB, Gauteng17 September 2019
Excellent company to work for they value their people, great management, approachable and dependable.
Company that treats all employees with respect regardless of what your position is.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good company working well
Field Marketer (Former Employee) –  Rustenburg16 September 2019
Been nominated for the employees of the month and worked for six years as a Field Marketer . I was employed as a Merchandiser and later became assistant delivery driver then get promoted as a Field Marketer .
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
1,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average place to work.
Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Town Two Khayelitsha12 August 2019
It was a nice place to work at note especial working unsupervised and making sure I meet my daily targets and making sure shoppers get what they want all the time. Could not deal with the expenses and addressed them to my manager but nothing was done.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 1Report
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Innovative, Open and Fun
Category Manager (Former Employee) –  Cape Town, Western Cape12 July 2019
Brilliant company to work for. They challenged me throughout and offered support whenever needed. The directors were always available and opportunities to further my studies were embraced.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Long Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I learned to be more focused and driven in what I do.
Field marketer (Former Employee) –  Durban, KwaZulu-Natal4 July 2019
. The Company is driven by targets this requires one to be on top of their game.
. Day to day check shelf health, pricing and maintain ordering of stock
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good environment to work in
Project Manager: Learning and Development (Former Employee) –  Houghton Estate, Gauteng24 June 2019
The company looks after their employees
Good Employee benefits
Excellent culture
Open performance reviews
Open peer reviews
very well structured company
Pros
Free lunch from time to time
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Educative and eye opening
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Gauteng, Gauteng17 May 2019
In store communication activities, planograms, Stock rotation customer relations, resource management, cycle activities. Emphasis on VAMPPS - Volume, Availability, Merchandising, Pricing, Promotion and Space
Pros
N/a
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work places
Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Durban, KwaZulu-Natal23 April 2019
Merchandising in different areas and different stores around Durban. Offload all Smollan merchandise, store them properly and distribute them all to store for sale.
Pros
Flexible work hours
Cons
Offloading alone
Was this review helpful?Yes 25No 2Report
2,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales and returns
Merchandise (Former Employee) –  Germiston, Gauteng19 March 2019
I make sure that my return are going back to the campany, put the product to the eye level of the customers, I was presentable and keep time so that I start my job in time
Pros
Own lunches
Cons
Normal hours and long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 1Report
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Smollan Group is great company to work for and you easily gain experience. The have a great culture which is about the people .
Field Manager (Current Employee) –  Cape Town, Western Cape29 October 2018
Smollan Group is great company to learn and further gain work experience. They have a great culture their culture is about the people meaning that people are assets and they easily recognize and reward their people
Pros
Growth and development
Cons
Working on weekends
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Distribution
WAREHOUSE ASSISTANT (Former Employee) –  Kuruman, Northern Cape26 September 2018
Receipts and Dispatch using the warehouse management system dealing with 7 reps everyday making sure that my workplace is clean and safe at all times everyday.
Pros
No free lunch
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Coaching and Courses
Regional Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  Cape Town, Western Cape25 August 2018
typical work day is fast paced report intensive
coaching and effective management of staff
how to be a more effective manager
how to chair a hearing
healthy office workplace enviroment
lots of changes
interaction between business units
Pros
many business units
Cons
limited movement across business units
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
AREA MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Pretoria South Africa23 August 2018
Busy job, handle alot of different accounts. Great experience Learnt, management was very organised. Out of the office mostly so cant say much on the workplace, Hardest part there was to many accounts to manage.
Pros
Company Car
Cons
Salary
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
1,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Fun , Presure
Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape25 July 2018
The working condition I got was bad because at firts my uniform was not completely isuued to me. Working in a fridge with just a shirt and jearsy. Not much time to eat.
Pros
none
Cons
You could do up the 3 stores a day
Was this review helpful?Yes 28No 3Report
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My experience here at Smollan is quite a challenging experience. It is a very good company to work for, however I need to spread my wings and be an
Creditors Clerk (Former Employee) –  Gauteng, Gauteng17 July 2018
My experience here at Smollan is quite a challenging experience. It is a very good company to work for, however I need to spread my wings and be an asset for another company. I've learnt quite a lot cause I've worked on 2-different systems which I've mastered, hence wanting to move and learn something else as well.Nothing is too hard for me as I believe in myself and doing any job to the best of my ability. The most enjoyable part of my job is working with me team-mates to make sure our dept stands out in the Finance - dept.
Pros
Free Lunches
Cons
Aircon not in my favour
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Smollan Group. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3,7
Based on 116 reviews
535
434
327
213
17

Ratings by category

3,3Work/Life Balance
3,1Salary/Benefits
3,3Job Security/Advancement
3,5Management
3,5Culture