Smollan Group Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stability and growth is massive
Brand sambassador (Former Employee) –  Cape Town, Western Cape4 June 2018
Growth opportunity
Taking care of employees
Leading with experience and prioritise employee happiness.
Knowing how to keep employees not looking for any job
Pros
Gift cards and outing
Cons
Easy to loose your job
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun working Place
Customer Service Consultant (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng24 May 2018
On a typical day, it is very fun to be at work as the working environment is very good and pleasant.
I have learned how to be a very good customers service consultant with a lot of administration and paper work in my current job .
The work place culture is that of delivering good and accurate service to all our clients.
The hardest part of the job is realizing how much work you put in only to get paid an unsatisfactory salary .
Pros
Weekends off
Cons
Low salary
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good starting stepping stone into the local FMCG market
Senior Sales Executive (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg North, Gauteng15 May 2018
The beginning of my professional career, with a great sales team and incentives!

Valuable knowledge gained from a merchandising and cold sales aspect.

I was extremely successful at Smollans and had the privilege of selling great brands!
Pros
Great culture
Cons
No scope for promotion
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What I have learned
Field Merchandiser (Current Employee) –  obsevetory11 May 2018
I learned to be a part of team work.

I'll start things off. On the most basic level, I enjoy talking with people. My job provides me an opportunity to put that basic urge to use for a purpose. I'm a very social person, since before the word "social' meant anything other than in-person.
Pros
free trainings
Cons
long hour and difficult customers
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The environment is beautiful and so are the people
Private (Current Employee) –  Private16 April 2018
The benefits are one of a kind and the place is a fun place to be at. Its a wonderful environment with all good things happening in the workplace. I woul recommend it to people should they begood time management skills.
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Time management needs to be a skill
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The biggest business within the environment .
Business Unit Human Resources Manager (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng13 April 2018
Learnt many lessons at Smollan.
Grew personally and financially as well as emotionally.
Lots of change all the time, hence I am change agile.
Enjoyed my time at Smollan
Pros
Potential to grow
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I work as a field marketer who order stock and pack it
Field marketer (Former Employee) –  At shoprite boitumelo mall in welkom25 January 2018
My manager at shoprite trust me because I am hard working person who believes in his work I can do my orders on Wednesday of danone and of premier on Tuesday
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
challenging and exciting enviroment
merchandizer (Current Employee) –  rustenburg25 January 2018
Fulfilling customer expectation through customer service and ethical work standards, following direct instructions and being productive unsupervised, adapting to work environment and excelling under pressure, multitasking is the most enjoyable because of the fast paced retail industry.
Pros
Opportunity for development and growth
Cons
less contact with senior management
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
exciting nd being introduced to different environment was out of this world
Promoter (Former Employee) –  Nigel25 January 2018
Being involved with different people gave me an understanding to be alive and enjoy what i was doing even more,i did enjoy talking to people especially different cultures.
Pros
free outing
Cons
flexible hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work unsupervised
field marketer (Current Employee) –  Witbank, Mpumalanga19 January 2018
-At Smollan they invest on their own workers by training them
-Smollan group is having good benefits and good working environment for all their workers
-Health and safety is number one priority to their workers
Pros
Yes we have free tea time
Cons
No long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly work environment
Field Manager/Trainee Regional Manager (Current Employee) –  Johannesburg4 January 2018
I do not regret for working for the company for so long,the growth within the company is massive.The company that does look after it employees.I wish i can spend more years in the smollan grpop.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Tiring
Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng4 January 2018
The job is very demanding. One need to be mentally and physically strong. Need to be able to take pressure in. Working with difficult customers and sometimes even store managers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's great working with this companies we gain lot of experience in customer service which is sales
Promoter (Part-time) (Current Employee) –  Cape Town, Western Cape31 December 2017
We drive sales nd also increase market share.we also educate shopper about the product you doing some they know but some they don't.its not easy but then you have to be patient with customers and always give them a smile so that it can be easy to listen to you
Pros
30 min lunch
Cons
Long hour sometimes
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Creditors Officer (Current Employee) –  Gauteng, Gauteng19 December 2017
I'm working for a very nice company who reall looks after their staff, but management is not all living according to the Smollan Values which makes it an unhappy place to be at for most of your day.
Pros
Free lunch provided by company
Cons
Unfair treatment
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning curve
Promoter (Current Employee) –  Cape Town, Western Cape7 November 2017
I enjoy working there๐Ÿ˜ƒthe company provides great working hours. Especially, since i was a student well working there. It was also a great learning curve to understand and cope with the challenges and good experience of the working environment.
Pros
flexible hours
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful Sales Environment
Sambassador (Former Employee) –  Richards Bay, KwaZulu-Natal11 October 2017
Improve sales in the store you are based in.
Assisting customers with any problems with their devices (cellphones and tablets)
Assisting customers set up their devices and installing apps.
Pros
Great commission structure
Cons
Long working hours without flexibility
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Growth and innovative
field marketer (Current Employee) –  Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape2 October 2017
You're a free to learn all level techniques of modern trade.You're given time to share your thoughts and ideas and use your own innovations.
Smollan is a great company to work for.
Pros
N/a
Cons
Flexible hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This job is amazing for people who are in campus
Promoter (Part-time) (Former Employee) –  Durban, KwaZulu-Natal2 October 2017
This was a great job....though I needed a full time job...I learned a lot about different companies while working here....and the Money was also very good for partimer
Pros
Short hours
Cons
No commission
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fun, knowledgeable
Instore Promoter (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng19 September 2017
Smollan was a very interesting company as it required a lot of time. However, it used to give out incentives on great work achieved and etc. I never worked early hours, the managers were good and understanding. The workplace was fun
Pros
Free Gifts
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overload work
merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Kroonstad, Free State6 September 2017
Nothing but lots of workload, with normal hours and with a wages that meets no living status. Great on creativity and poor on their staff but enjoyable company to in
Pros
nothing
Cons
normal hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 13NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Smollan Group. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3,7
Based on 94 reviews
529
429
322
210
14

Ratings by category

3,4Work/Life Balance
3,1Salary/Benefits
3,2Job Security/Advancement
3,4Management
3,4Culture