Smollan Group Employee Reviews in Durban, KwaZulu-Natal

Found 8 reviews matching the search See all 105 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This job is amazing for people who are in campus
Promoter (Part-time) (Former Employee) –  Durban, KwaZulu-Natal2 October 2017
This was a great job....though I needed a full time job...I learned a lot about different companies while working here....and the Money was also very good for partimer
Pros
Short hours
Cons
No commission
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun environment
Project Co-ordinator (Current Employee) –  Durban, KwaZulu-Natal28 March 2017
learned a lot about dealing with different brands and the confidentiality that it requires as you bring in new clients to the business. its a happy place
Pros
small office, creates a homely environment
Cons
limited in terms of growth
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
People development
Territory Manager (Current Employee) –  Durban, ZN26 January 2015
The Smollan Group is an amazing company to work for. The culture of developing people is the thing that stands out. They provide the tools necessary for staff to grow and develop within the business thus allowing them to succeed and move within the ranks.

The culture of people first, is what keeps the staff happy and content. And this in turn drives them to perform at their peak.
The benefits are competitive and provide the staff with all that they need for their future security.
Pros
Travel allowance/Fuel cards/ company cars
Cons
Being on call for client requests
Was this review helpful?Yes 39No 3Report
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Can be a fun work place
Sambassardor (Former Employee) –  Durban, ZN17 August 2014
Long days, Learned to be tougher and improved my communication skills. Got to meet a lot of interesting people.
Pros
Got to see the lastest products first
Cons
The pay and the hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 60No 13Report
2,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
General
Recruitment Agent (Former Employee) –  Durban, ZN16 July 2014
At Smollan Group i worked alone. i was reporting to an office in Johannesburg via email or telephone.

I had no office where i worked. i worked in my car, booked a hall or met some of my interviewee's at a cafe.

I learned that no matter how bad the working environment is, patience and planning for the future is important.

The hardest part of the job was having no office space and doing everything at home in my car.

The most enjoyable part was traveling in and around kzn, being able set my own deadlines and meeting them. It taught me being able to work independently.
Pros
made me persevere
Cons
working alone
Was this review helpful?Yes 24No 6Report
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company until??
National manager (Former Employee) –  Durban23 June 2014
A great place to work depending on which business unit as I worked in inits that I hated due to management and then in units that I loved. They invest lots of money in people but show no mercy when time to retrench people. They have lots of unprofessional HR people at lower levels that makes process work against you. They say one thing and do another
Pros
Lots of different clients
Cons
Growth not done fairly. Cannot speak freely
Was this review helpful?Yes 31No 10Report

Comment – 8 September 2014

I have to agree, same thing happen to me. You put your all and due to unprofessional staff at HR who don't really know you they just let very experienced people go after 10 years or so. Also senior managers only look after themselves when the ship is sinking.

5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic FMCG Company with over 30k employees
Personal Assistant (Former Employee) –  Durban (Umhlanga)13 January 2013
Smollan is a very dynamic business with surprises every day. I have learned to deal with various types of individuals and a very demanding client.
Smollan has a very "family" orientated culture but yet very serious in delivering their KPI's set by the client.
Most challenges faced was after hour travel scheduling as senior managers never seem to keep to their travel schedule..:)
But all this is always worth it working for a company that recognizes their employees for going the extra mile.

I have been privileged to work for such a great company and had to take time off to become a full time mom for a couple of years due to personal challenges and now ready and eager to enter the job market again. I still have great relationships with many colleagues at Smollan.
Pros
huge support structure and treat their staff fairly
Cons
need to be very flexible with little to no lead time notice.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport

See more Smollan Group reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Smollan Group. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3,7
Based on 105 reviews
533
432
324
211
15

Ratings by category

3,4Work/Life Balance
3,1Salary/Benefits
3,3Job Security/Advancement
3,5Management
3,5Culture