Smollan Group Employee Reviews for Merchandiser

Found 16 reviews matching the search See all 104 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales and returns
Merchandise (Former Employee) –  Germiston, Gauteng19 March 2019
I make sure that my return are going back to the campany, put the product to the eye level of the customers, I was presentable and keep time so that I start my job in time
Pros
Own lunches
Cons
Normal hours and long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Fun , Presure
Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape25 July 2018
The working condition I got was bad because at firts my uniform was not completely isuued to me. Working in a fridge with just a shirt and jearsy. Not much time to eat.
Pros
none
Cons
You could do up the 3 stores a day
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 1Report
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning experience
Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Phuthaditjhaba, Free State30 May 2018
I enjoyed interacting with customers. It was an opportunity to really help people with their needs. This was in contrast with the typical attitude of a retail employee. Though it was not part of my job description, I was frequently asked to help a customer find certain products in the shop. Customers ended up knowing me by name and requested me specifically. This gave me great pride in my work.
Pros
Vibrant environment
Cons
Supervisor clashed with employees for personal reasons.
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 2Report
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What I have learned
Field Merchandiser (Current Employee) –  obsevetory11 May 2018
I learned to be a part of team work.

I'll start things off. On the most basic level, I enjoy talking with people. My job provides me an opportunity to put that basic urge to use for a purpose. I'm a very social person, since before the word "social' meant anything other than in-person.
Pros
free trainings
Cons
long hour and difficult customers
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 1Report
2,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Tiring
Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng4 January 2018
The job is very demanding. One need to be mentally and physically strong. Need to be able to take pressure in. Working with difficult customers and sometimes even store managers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 2Report
2,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overload work
merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Kroonstad, Free State6 September 2017
Nothing but lots of workload, with normal hours and with a wages that meets no living status. Great on creativity and poor on their staff but enjoyable company to in
Pros
nothing
Cons
normal hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 22NoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It teaches you to be responsible and be flexible
Merchandiser (Current Employee) –  Empangeni, KwaZulu-Natal4 August 2017
When you work hard and gives it your all there is much to learn and you prosper alots as I joined the company after matric,m now disciplined and able to work under pressure so it a great company to kick start your life
Pros
We had bonuses each year
Cons
Lots of hard work especially december times
Was this review helpful?Yes 18No 1Report
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
discliplined workplace
Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Pretoria, Gauteng12 July 2017
Under smollan group i've learned to work hard, independent, willing to go extra mile,working under a lot of pressure as well,taking responsibilty also.
Pros
1 hr lunch
Cons
flexible hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 17NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Retail is not an easy job bt for my side it was challenging and i realy enjoy it.
Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Polokwane, Limpopo8 March 2017
I believe retail gives me opportunity cause it open more doors for me cause I can be able to work at any retail industry and there are lots of position to join too.
Pros
Bonud
Cons
Events
Was this review helpful?Yes 18NoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Experiential learning
Merchandising (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg , Gauteng5 January 2017
- It taught to me to be neat
- To inter-act with customers
- Salesman skills
- Negotiating shelf space
- To pay attention to details
- Improved my administration skills
Pros
Interacting with people
Cons
There was no growth
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 2Report
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not really productive
Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Centurion, Gauteng3 January 2017
The remuneration was a problem for most of us cos the took us to a leanership and promised us that we are going to be paid better instead, it was worse than we ever thought
Cons
Very minimal salary
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 2Report
2,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was doing some orders
Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Western Cape23 June 2016
creativeness together with optimism towards my work is giving me clear understanding to what i am doing i see myslf as flexible perso who has been trained in financial accounting
Pros
free
Cons
8
Was this review helpful?Yes 16NoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it is an honour being able to have team work and good communication skills.
merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg, GP18 February 2015
the hardest part of the job is when you have to make space on the for a new product on the system.
The part I enjoy is when I merchandise while im promoting my product at the same time
Was this review helpful?Yes 43No 13Report
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very fun working place
merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg, GP19 October 2014
I am working 5 days in a week and off 2 days of which it could be during the week or on weekends depending on busiest days of the month.i have learned a lot in this company,including being independent,creative, and innovative.The management is helping and kind, easy to talk with and very friendly. And i had lovely co-workers whom i enjoy working everyday. There is nothing hard about this type of a job,and the most enjoyable part of this job is that i work independently with interesting colleagues who make my work easier by making me smile and laugh everyday.
Pros
we get free t-shirts of our product, lunch on trainings and transport money when we go to the offices
Cons
having to be managed or deal with store managers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 50No 13Report
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at Smollen
Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Pretoria, GP16 July 2014
I really enjoyed working with my reps, hard workers, focused and passionate about their work.

But at store level, I detected lack of hard working team, it was hard at 1st to adjust but I finally understood everybody at store level, some are always happy, some are not,it all had to do with getting along with everybody because a good relationship at work means business is good.

The other fun part was meeting a lot of people
Was this review helpful?Yes 45No 5Report

See more Smollan Group reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Smollan Group. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3,7
Based on 104 reviews
532
432
324
211
15

Ratings by category

3,3Work/Life Balance
3,1Salary/Benefits
3,2Job Security/Advancement
3,5Management
3,5Culture