SOVEREIGN FOODS Employee Reviews

Showing all 21 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and very interesting plant
Maintenance fitter (Current Employee) –  Uitenhage, Eastern Cape4 May 2019
It's an awesome place to improve yourself and learn new technology,it has hot the latest technology and very interesting plants,stock machinery,GEA machinery
Pros
Reliable
Cons
Long shifs
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Condition of work place is better i used to enjoy it
general worker (Former Employee) –  Uitenhage, Eastern Cape25 March 2019
At sovereign foods their are strict on bio risk security (BRC) u must be hard worker because they don't want lezzy people, u must be recommed to be promoted
Pros
Bring your own lunch
Cons
1 hour lunch and 1 hour break
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Production, fun working environment
general worker (Former Employee) –  Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape24 March 2019
Is the meat; productiom; there are packers who pack the meat to the 2kg/5kgs and it goes to the sealer to seals the plastic bag; to the polybag fillers where they put inside the bag those plastic bag the bag is 20kg and from them it goes to the boxing team where the bags will be packed to a pallet
I learned work with time there and be fast and being jfast leaner and become so strong there in a way I can able to work anyway from my experience there
Management is so nice when production is going smooth as normal but they push when the production is slowly
The hardest part is that the place is so cold and sometime there is no time to.go home you work until you finish and there are break downs from the machine
When you dedicate yourself to.the job is just so nice because the people are friendly I sometime miss the place
Pros
45 mimutes lunch
Cons
10 hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, educational, fun
Admin Assistant (Current Employee) –  Uitenhage, Eastern Cape12 August 2018
A lot of work to be done, but never to difficult if you are willing to learn everyday and giving your utmost best. The harder you work, the better you become at it, and then it becomes easier. And recognition will be given.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place
Brand Assistant (Current Employee) –  Uitenhage, Eastern Cape4 June 2018
I have been permanently working for Sovereign Foods since October 2010 as a Brand Assistant, helping in product promotion and marketing intelligence.
Pros
Good working environment
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Order picker
general worker (Former Employee) –  Hartbeespoort, North West21 May 2018
I supply the customer and to make sure customer service always is perfect I'm working nice because i enjoy my work and I layk my job and i respect my supervisor and my colic and I also have skills on forklift operator
Pros
Yes
Cons
No
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
machine operator (Former Employee) –  Eastern Cape28 March 2018
i came to a place were i was treated like am at home(family),i had someone looking after me each and every task i did so i can be sure am doing something right
Pros
no lunch
Cons
hour lunch
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its good, fun and well supervised
Scaler (Current Employee) –  Uitenhage18 February 2018
Management is good. Working conditions are well secured. It is good working for that company but their working hours are not impressive. Due to life balance
Pros
Safety attire and bonuses
Cons
Long hours and overtime
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 2Report
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pro-active and persistent drive
Maintenance engineer (Current Employee) –  Hartbeespoort, North West15 December 2017
Focus on consistency
Processes and procedures compliance is vital to success
Great cross-functional collaboration and focussed management bring about great achievements
Team building activities
Pros
Hunting trips
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Educating and developing the youth
Replacement (Former Employee) –  Uitenhage, Eastern Cape20 September 2017
We normally run tournaments and we struggling with sponsorship from local business and the support from the community to avail the young kids and for infrastructure
Pros
Training
Cons
low income
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
company is providing to the residents of uitenhage but also need to balance the standard of living based on cost of living is being high
supervising operaters (Former Employee) –  Uitenhage, Eastern Cape2 March 2017
I grow to the company till i notice the is no where and i have to upgrade myself but realy they give every1 chance to prove and give back as well to the people because they aupport the poor by providing food schemes at time to time.
Pros
own lunch
Cons
long hours and lately converted to 8 hour shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 2Report
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Credit Controller (Current Employee) –  Uitenhage, Eastern Cape6 February 2017
I have learned a lot at my current job, I work well with my colleagues and the management communicate with employee in a professional manner. I enjoy working with customer and resolving the queries and problems they have.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
food
Monitoring and taring of scale (Current Employee) –  between gauteng western cape21 November 2016
The work is fine but the problem is that we work long hours without been payed over time.the work is hard ,but same time we work without any lunge .the problem of this job they is no the part that i can say it was good every thing was hard.
Pros
no free lunger
Cons
working long hours (in 6pm to 3am or more)
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very positive work environment
Poultry Farm Manager (Former Employee) –  Uitenhage, Eastern Cape5 October 2016
Management is very supportive of new ideas
Staff issues are always seen too promptly
Responsibilities and duties are fairly distributed & reviewed
The support structures from operations, Maintenance & admin staff make for a very productive & pleasant work environment
Pros
on site training
Cons
being bound to workplace/site
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
electrician (Former Employee) –  Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape21 April 2016
work 8 hours a day, and can be called anytime if a breakdown occurs. we work as a team, there by you can easily new things as the day progresses. i enjoy a lot on trouble shooting
Pros
gifts
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
In-service training (P1 & P2) (Former Employee) –  Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape22 February 2016
challenging but productive day, gained more experience about maintaining machines. management was on point. great team work. long hours and smell but i got used to it. fixing the machine successfully and on time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting but hard work
Waste Team Leader (Former Employee) –  Uitenhage, EC26 May 2015
A typical day consist of constant monitoring of general workers making it tough on keeping up on other responsibilities.

Big learning curve was the diversity of cultures and personalities.

Management was tolerant towards lack of knowledge and very hands on during teaching, advice and support.

Co-workers as in many cases, some black sheep to make work hard, but others are a great support and a pleasure to work with.

Hardest part was balancing all the responsibilities at certain times of the day.

Relatively relaxed job if all goes well. Tough times opens learning opportunities.
Pros
Learning and progressive oppertunities
Cons
Long Hours, Alternating shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 3Report
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive company with rewards at the end
Personal Assistant (Current Employee) –  Port Elizabeth, EC2 April 2015
Each day is different and fun. From organising the life of the CEO to liaising with the Company Secretary and the Board of Directors. Working with the CFO has provided an eye for figures and dotting the i's and crossing the t's.
The staff have become great friends with confidence taken with in personal problems.
Pros
Fun atmosphere, rewards, company samples
Cons
Distance from home
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sovereign foods is the only listed company on the JSE in the eastern cape cape and it is a massive organisation
assistant operations manager (Former Employee) –  Port Elizabeth, EC17 July 2013
what a pleasure i had of working for that organisation cause it is horizontally integrated and i worked with various departmental heads within the company and its is the third largest poultry producer in south africa
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive,fun working ther but theres a lack in management and also their planning
ELECTRICAL ASSISTANT (Former Employee) –  EASTERN CAPE27 September 2012
I learned alot including welding and fitting
They have a bad management
Have a good mentors in maintenance dept
I love working hard because the harder I work the more I learn
I enjoy doing productive maintenance
Pros
there was no lunch
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport