Spar Employee Reviews

Found 610 reviews matching the search See all 2 330 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love ur job that u do
Packing (Current Employee) –  Durban, KwaZulu-Natal20 January 2020
Do the job perfect and do not came late at the work place love your job and respect other people.u work hard and be proud that job u do make sure that all people are about u at the job area
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed my self at Spar because I was a hard worker, honest and self motivated pesron
General Assistant (Former Employee) –  Sea Point, Western Cape18 January 2020
I learn a lot there, like I know how to bake, how to deal with customers.
I make sure I get the target, and time management is very important on the workplace.
About culture on the workplace it was the mostly important thing.
The hardest part its that time on the morning when you make sure you fill up the gaps, you make sure it's clean n nirt.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a good experience
Front End Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Fort Nottingham, KwaZulu-Natal15 January 2020
Its a great working place, with alot of friendly people including customers. I would be glad to have another opportunity to be of the Spar group. There is nothing more exciting than seeing happy shoppers and that what gives you more courage to wake up every morning to go to work and serve and help people with they shopping
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Spar is good shop with good service
Hot deli (Former Employee) –  Alberton, Gauteng14 January 2020
Good service
Customer care
Quality of food
Goods and services
The tips are great
All the customers feel at home
U feel welcomed when u are there gd
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
insightful and fast paced
Category field Manager (Current Employee) –  Boksburg, Gauteng13 January 2020
Manage all category management needs for 23 stores. Engaging with retailers, suppliers and merchandisers. Learn about new products and retailer/supplier business strategies. Manage teams of merchandisers to implement category plans. Diverse cultures are all welcomed and celebrated.
Pros
flexibility
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I've had an outstanding experience a spar
Food court supervisor (Current Employee) –  Durban, KwaZulu-Natal11 January 2020
I've learnt a lot from Spar especially since I started working there when I was only 21 years old and now I'm going to be turning 30, working at Spar has taught me about being able to handle work stress in a well mannered way and to be able to handle different customers who come with different attitudes and I also managed to work under pressure.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
workplace
cashier and packer (Former Employee) –  Durban, KwaZulu-Natal9 January 2020
The job was ok just had long hours standing. I learnt respect, loyalty and customer care.
The managers were very friendly.
The hardest part of the job was the standing part.
lunch time was the most enjoyable moment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hours are long and hard
Bakery front server and stoktaker (Former Employee) –  East London, Eastern Cape7 January 2020
The hours are beyond long but the rate per hour is small. One works very hard and must be able to do more without over time payments but The payment is enough for basic needs.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I have learn to work and appreciate different cultures
Monitor front line staff (Former Employee) –  Witpoortjie, Gauteng5 January 2020
Working at spar has taught me to grow physical and learn more different culture and meeting people's needs
Most of all being in the retail industry is a learning curve and teaching you cultures
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I'm happy with the job that I get and I work hard
Assistant (Former Employee) –  Kuils River, Western Cape4 January 2020
A typical day at work is work and doin it with a smile

I learned that working is responsibility and dedication

The management is doing their responsibility and very lenient

There was no hardest part of my job I enjoyed it it
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Experimental
cashier (Former Employee) –  Boksburg, Gauteng4 January 2020
It was good especially with the experience of working in a retail because you get to understand the culture of working in teams and work under pressure
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I think i was at a bad spar
Manager (Former Employee) –  Nelspruit, Mpumalanga4 January 2020
I do believe spar wants to make it nice for staff te work there. But every spar has a owner,and people are not all the same. It is a job that you have to be prepared for long hours and difficult times
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Myself and spar
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Pretoria, Gauteng3 January 2020
I was a cashier at spar, I enjoyed working with them the company was not that bad and we had a good relationship with the company. I am a hard worker but I had a problem with the money I was getting from the company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Daily working is officially good
cleaner (Former Employee) –  Pretoria, Gauteng29 December 2019
Spar is so good with everything and loved working there as a hardworker but the is no such too much worker to be done.all the consumers where treated well as it was my job to work with people.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it sets a good example as an employee to work at spar
packer (Former Employee) –  Durbanville, Western Cape26 December 2019
It is quite an experience and you get to know what people like or do not like....you get to meet different characters and you learn a lot from people.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
cashier (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng24 December 2019
It was fast-paced environment at the same time relaxed, I the managers were good to every staff and we were working normal hours. It was a busy place normally on month end
Pros
Free cake when its your birthday
Cons
Normal hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is the foundation of life u peservire
packer (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng24 December 2019
U have to be bold and strong minded and archive yo goals in life from zero to hero from packer to shareholder of the company life is not easy we all have dreams they must come true one day
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
1,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The company is not bad at all. I just think only the position that I was in.
stock taking (Former Employee) –  Polokwane, Limpopo21 December 2019
Sometimes we do not have a choice, but just to agree. I was only doing that at least to have money , so that i can buy my self cosmetic. That time i was at school. The company is not bad at all, but the situation i was in. Still if i can get that chance again i will go,than to stay at home. They helped me a lot.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working in a very busy shop
Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Thohoyandou, Limpopo20 December 2019
A very big shop that makes a lot of money but doesnt pay us enough money that can atleast we can do something, just a money to buy food and a rent etc
Pros
Good
Cons
Permanent
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I learned working as a team is best
general worker (Former Employee) –  general worker17 December 2019
I'm kindly friendly person who likes to share jokes with colleagues. I don't like to be a leader and I'm dedicated to my work. I don't want attention
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Spar. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3,8
Based on 2 330 reviews
5760
4712
3549
2176
1133

Ratings by category

3,5Work/Life Balance
3,2Salary/Benefits
3,3Job Security/Advancement
3,5Management
3,5Culture