Spar Employee Reviews

Found 531 reviews matching the search See all 2 100 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard working person
cashier and packer (Former Employee) –  Empangeni, KwaZulu-Natal6 September 2019
I think for me and my opinion to this is that we all work for a certain reason, but it could be my pleasure to join an company that will accommodate me in second week of November till January, I'll be thankful.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly workplace
packer (Former Employee) –  Cape Town, Western Cape4 September 2019
working there gave me the experience on working as a team as well as working with diverse culture.

At spar I also learned that time is the most important of key aspect not to waste
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working in the company was so great because l learned so many jobs in the same company
Bakery counter lady and merchandize (Former Employee) –  Gweru3 September 2019
I left the job on my own accord my last position was a bakery counter server,it was great working there because firstly l was a cleaner later worked at butchery and lastly bakery
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sell good product .
cashier (Former Employee) –  Malelane, Mpumalanga1 September 2019
I woud like to work at this company .it have good product an it always clean .they cell quality product. I would like to be one of the company.asap
Pros
Free lounch
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
General Assistant (Former Employee) –  Bon accord spar25 August 2019
Tipical day was to do stock take
Gaining experience.haderst day where I get to work alon without any staff help .joyouble is to learn everything spar
Pros
Learnership
Cons
Resenable working hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
fruit and veg sales supervisor (Current Employee) –  South Africa25 August 2019
My job needs a full attention on the products of whichi need to be active. I have to now the customer needs and my competitors. It gives me extra energy to learn what is new every season and i must compile differences between seasons.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good enough , happy about it
general assistant (Former Employee) –  checkers22 August 2019
good management
team work
good working conditions
supportive
have chance to grow
promotions of stuff
good working everoment
good culture
good salary's
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It productive , learn alot, different cultures and a nice place to work at
cashier and packer (Former Employee) –  Gateway mall kzn21 August 2019
Be patient with customers
Friendly
Good communication skills
Be able to work well under pressure
Be able to work hand in hand with others
Be fast
Have fun doing your work
Pros
Gaining experience
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and lovely people to have worked with
cashier (Former Employee) –  Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape in Motherwell20 August 2019
There's nothing much that i can say about Spar,I have worked well with both employees and customers.I was always looking forward to meeting with people from different cultuers.But i needed change,i just want to be in a company that allows me to grow and be as much of a value as i can.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love to work at Spar
Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Shelly Beach, KwaZulu-Natal12 August 2019
I learn more experience at Spar ,The Spar group is a fantastic family as I'm working at Spar I feel comfortable and I gained more experience because they made us combined and work as a team ,I love working at Spar, Spar good for me and good for everyone
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
health products and services
package (Current Employee) –  Cato Ridge, KwaZulu-Natal9 August 2019
As lindokuhle I'll keep an eye on the product especially in fruit and vegetables will be clearly neat and tidy.I would like to work here because of service and awareness.respect one another.
Pros
free lanches
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a fairly good experience
cashier (Former Employee) –  Volksrust, Mpumalanga8 August 2019
I was hired on a part time as a trainee and had to leave because I had to go to school. I had fun working at spar. The morning were very hectic and management treated us well. The lunch breaks were too short though.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I learnt a few things even thought I didn't understand how some of the things were allowed or done.
cashier and packer (Former Employee) –  Karen Park, Gauteng5 August 2019
Having to start working early was an advantage for me,though working from 07:00 to 20:00 with just 45mins lunch,only get one day off a week and only get R600 a week didn't feel right for me. The treatment was not good,but working with my fellow colleagues in that short time I really enjoyed and learnt a lot especially being I a big grocery store and dealing with a lot of different people. Having to do different jobs yet the title for mine was cashier,I didn't understand why.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and a fun workplace
cashier (Former Employee) –  Alice, Eastern Cape23 July 2019
Working at spar is a wonderful experience, the management is not unreasonable.The employees work well and productively together and I learned to work well with other people too.
Pros
long lunch breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I Learn new things everyday , staff is so friendly
Merchandise, cashier (Former Employee) –  East London, Eastern Cape22 July 2019
They bring out the best in me .I grow from department to department also they will go extra mile for their employees .they alwayz willing to help everywhere they can.
Pros
Year end parties
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Communication and reasonable
cleaner (Former Employee) –  Durban, KwaZulu-Natal17 July 2019
They were good people they treated all of us equally.there were no discrimination there,what I like about my ex boss is that he was so kind to everyone and he didn't underestimate our customers
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
2,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Funny and very nice
receiving clerk (Former Employee) –  Mthatha, Eastern Cape16 July 2019
Very good and nice, job opportunities available to everyone who wants to explore themselves. The production was running in a good manner nothing wrong
Pros
Two lunches a day
Cons
Normal hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
2,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and group work
Merchandising (Former Employee) –  Pretoria, Gauteng15 July 2019
Group working is the best because one head can't make it enough some things are tough and customers are most important tool a business so first approach counts more that a goodbye and offerings
Pros
Free drinks
Cons
8 hrs
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Better customer service and high quality products
cashier (Former Employee) –  Mount Frere, Eastern Cape13 July 2019
As I was working for this company, I suggest that it my improve it's workforce through training and development and manager diversity in the workplace
Pros
Better overtime payment
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun workplace
Management (Current Employee) –  East London, Eastern Cape9 July 2019
Spar Stores are individually owned if you have a good boss who follows spar standards then, everything is fun, but if you have a bad boss you unlucky, Since Spar is individual owned each owner has his or her own standard, but all the Spar Distribution Centers encourage Owners to motivate and be empathetic to their staff
Pros
Trainings are very fun
Cons
Long hours on Management and cashiers most shops close at 9
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Spar. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3,8
Based on 2 100 reviews
5686
4650
3495
2164
1105

Ratings by category

3,6Work/Life Balance
3,2Salary/Benefits
3,3Job Security/Advancement
3,5Management
3,5Culture