Spar Employee Reviews in Boksburg, Gauteng

Found 13 reviews matching the search See all 2 481 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Experimental
cashier (Former Employee) –  Boksburg, Gauteng4 January 2020
It was good especially with the experience of working in a retail because you get to understand the culture of working in teams and work under pressure
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I learned how to work as a team, how to behave at my work place
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Boksburg, Gauteng31 October 2019
working at spar I did gain confidence and I know how to communicate with my group or team that am working with. Giving ideas how to do things. A positive attitude is needed when you are dealing with customers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safe and healthy environment
cashier (Former Employee) –  Boksburg, Gauteng26 August 2017
The work was very fun and a place of learning whereby i was happy to work there hence it is a legacy to me because the is no way I can forget the experience I got there
Pros
Free meals
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive store
Manager/ supervisor (Former Employee) –  Boksburg, Gauteng26 July 2017
Very nice place to work and learn and gain experience will go back anytime only reason for leaving was i had to move otherwise no complains there is alot off departments where u can work and train
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Where you can meet new people and enjoy the work you do
Promoter (Part-time) (Former Employee) –  Boksburg, Gauteng19 July 2017
Well you tell the customer the must try this new cookies
I learned how to promot new this to people
The management is good
There are much of a workplace culture
The hardest part about the job is when customer aren't happy and you are trying to do the best you can the sole the problem
The enjoyable part of this job is getting to meet new people every day
And meet new friends
Pros
Yes
Cons
Yes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its fun
Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Boksburg, Gauteng16 July 2017
Its very nice n busy I have learnt on how to merchandise and dealing with different people.some customers are difficult to deal with but we just smile
Pros
Free food and coffee
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment to learn about people, entrepreneurship and an overall passion for Retail.
Temp Risk Assistant (Current Employee) –  Boksburg, Gauteng1 June 2017
Always learning about business daily.
I learned a lot about myself.
Management style, is fitting for the millennial employee like myself.
Carry a culture of family values.
Nothing is hard if you are doing it from the heart with passion.
I enjoy being the youngest and employee in my department, because I'm learning a lot of valuable life, business and work lessons.
Pros
Flexible hours
Cons
Flexible hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and educating workplace
data capturer (Current Employee) –  Boksburg, Gauteng12 April 2016
I have learned to be patient and working as a team we achieve more than working against each other I would say management needs to be more hands on and involved and should interact more with staff to build lasting work relationships and not abuse their titles my co workers are a joy to work with I love learning new things
Cons
long hours, weekends and public holidays with no overtime
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Workplace
hr intern (Former Employee) –  Boksburg, GP14 January 2015
My stay at spar south rand dc i was the most interesting and enjoyable moment. I learned alot from the company , the time i spent in the hr department learned whole lot from conducting and scheduling interviews ,holding disciplinary hearings and doing presentations. Management and co-workers were superb because i was able to learn alot from them, i think with the knowledge i received from them i can enter any workplace.The hardest part of the job was waking up very early (4am) in the morning but enjoyed every moment at work .
Pros
it wasnt far from where i stayed before
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Desktop Technician (Current Employee) –  Boksburg, GP8 January 2014
Spar is a good company to work to work for, a very big organization with lots of employees. They are always trying to educate their workers from a general worker to management by taking them to school so they have a better future.
Pros
free lunch
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
there was never a dull moment at Spar,it felt like home to be working for Spar.
Network Administrator (Former Employee) –  Boksburg4 October 2012
Spar was a very good place to work at,i enjoyed every minute of it & have gained valuable experience that i will take with me to my next job.Spar treats all the emplyees the same,even the management,everything is so transparent at Spar.I still keep in touch with most of my co-workers.
Pros
the were benefits that we got from spar eg. spar shopping vouchers
Cons
we did not work any long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very environment to work in
Assitant Divisional Credit Manager (Current Employee) –  Boksburg23 July 2012
A typical day at work - Never a dull moment. Too much attention to detail.
What you learned - I have learned the credit functuion from end-to-end and how to maintain business relationships with clients and other stake-holders.
Managemnt - Generally management is very good except for individuals who cannot handle authourity sometimes.
Your co-workers - A great bunch to work with.
The most enjoyable part of the job - Getting the job done and silencing critics
Pros
own office, benefits
Cons
bad managers who like to micro-manage
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport

See more Spar reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Spar. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3,7
Based on 2 481 reviews
5799
4754
3584
2191
1153

Ratings by category

3,5Work/Life Balance
3,2Salary/Benefits
3,3Job Security/Advancement
3,4Management
3,5Culture