Spar Employee Reviews in Pretoria, Gauteng

Found 37 reviews matching the search See all 2 481 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My work experience at Spar was the best , management and stuff really knows how to help you grow and be the best at your job
cashier (Former Employee) –  Pretoria, Gauteng6 February 2020
Good communication is important and always smile and remember that the costumer is always write.try to help as much as you can,being on time is important as well
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Myself and spar
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Pretoria, Gauteng3 January 2020
I was a cashier at spar, I enjoyed working with them the company was not that bad and we had a good relationship with the company. I am a hard worker but I had a problem with the money I was getting from the company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Daily working is officially good
cleaner (Former Employee) –  Pretoria, Gauteng29 December 2019
Spar is so good with everything and loved working there as a hardworker but the is no such too much worker to be done.all the consumers where treated well as it was my job to work with people.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My working experience at spar was good
Retail (Former Employee) –  Pretoria, Gauteng4 November 2019
From spar I learned to communicate with people patiently because most of the time we have got approached by costumers
I learned to work as a team with the staff
The hardest part of the job is when trollies are mostly disturbing a line of payment with groceries inside it
What I enjoyed about working there is the understanding of costumers service, costumers has to be treated nicely because they are the one with the money
The management was good there was no harsh decision
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Any shift any day
Spar merchandise (Former Employee) –  Pretoria, Gauteng14 October 2019
Good treatment go people .food is fresh work place is clean workers ard clean and beautiful with good personality
Good costumes is we all know costumes first at all time costumes are right and good stock management and reasonable prices
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's better than not working
Store Assistant (Current Employee) –  Pretoria, Gauteng10 October 2019
Spar has put the bread on the table for my family but fails to add milk to it. Workers are not given any importance. The only important thing is to keep the customers happy. The salary range is disgustingly small, I can barely move out of my parents house because all of it goes to my basic nothing more.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and group work
Merchandising (Former Employee) –  Pretoria, Gauteng15 July 2019
Group working is the best because one head can't make it enough some things are tough and customers are most important tool a business so first approach counts more that a goodbye and offerings
Pros
Free drinks
Cons
8 hrs
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun surroundings and productive
cashier and packer (Former Employee) –  Pretoria, Gauteng13 September 2018
I am very productive and being in a clean surrounding. I am amiable learner with a pleasant personality. im very adapted and motivated... i have a customer focused approach to work and strive to see things through completion
Pros
free lunches
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working as a team and introducing new activities to other co-workers
Front End Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Pretoria, Siverton21 June 2018
I started working as cashier for 8months an I got a position to work to become an assistant supervisor for two months an got position as Front end supervisor for about two years
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and kind workplace
cashier (Former Employee) –  Pretoria, Gauteng24 May 2018
Enjoyed working at spar groups the were best customers, supervisors,staff and manager.. The tips were very good..I loved my job nd would like to work again..I'm a hard worker
Pros
Free food
Cons
Less hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
cashier (Former Employee) –  Pretoria, Gauteng10 February 2018
Enjoyed working under supervision of wonderful seniors, spending more hours discussing nd helping one another, learning more and earning enough experience
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and goodworking place
Floor Manager (Former Employee) –  pretoria6 January 2018
I learned to work with different types of people ,staff and customers ,and to be patiant and give best service to customers.The biggerst part was when you have to submit to the big boss
Pros
free lunch
Cons
Duble shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nothing
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Pretoria16 October 2017
I've never like the place,I was working weekends only,Friday to Sunday 7-8,getting tied everyday no tym to rest,shouting us everyday.
Small tym for lunch
Pros
No
Cons
Weekend only
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
2,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
cashier (Current Employee) –  Pretoria, Gauteng3 August 2017
It was hard for me to cope at spar because they management stuff was not always nice to us.And sometimes we had to do thing that we didnt apply for.
Pros
Short hours of work
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Active and Fun
customer service provider (Former Employee) –  Pretoria, Gauteng10 July 2017
Took care of the needs customers and whatever it is they needed.
Learned communication skills and the importance of customs.
Selling fresh foods to customers, controlling weight measurments scale and making sure that each measure is correct and fair.
Pros
Weekend off
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company
machandiser (Former Employee) –  Pretoria, Gauteng3 July 2017
It was great fun and I also learned a lot from the company.. The company have tought me to be a hard worker and be able to work in groups.
have believe
Pros
free transport
Cons
Normal hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was Fine really
Packer (Former Employee) –  Pretoria, Gauteng21 May 2017
Work long hours for small pay but at least I made something. I got a new idea how the place functions. I learned that hard work will get you somewhere, just not there.
Pros
Met nice people
Cons
Learned how the place truly function
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love working whit people
chashier (Former Employee) –  Pretoria, Gauteng28 April 2017
Love kids work whit new people helping where there is help neende hard worker and trustble whit anyting may work comes first if i am working now matter what you can count on me i am always on time
Pros
Free lush times
Cons
Over time i am willing to do
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
undesired working place with ubnormal working hours
computerised cashier (Former Employee) –  Pretoria, Gauteng6 March 2017
Improve safety and health conditions of employees
Provision of normal working and salaries
Practice legal acts such as BBBE and employment Equity Act
Use good recruitment process
Pros
free lunch
Cons
abnormal working hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the experience is great and fun
Merchandiser (Current Employee) –  Pretoria, Gauteng1 March 2017
Spar offers a great experience for their staff.The job is productive and effective.Working at spar is good because the job itself teaches a lot of things.I love also how they are taking care of their staff.They attend their employees in attend their by way to show that they do matter and that they also value them.
Pros
no free lunches
Cons
8 hours per day
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Spar. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3,7
Based on 2 481 reviews
5799
4754
3584
2191
1153

Ratings by category

3,5Work/Life Balance
3,2Salary/Benefits
3,3Job Security/Advancement
3,4Management
3,5Culture