Sportsman's Warehouse Employee Reviews

Found 88 reviews matching the search See all 584 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Product knowledge through features and benefit
receiving clerk and sales assistant (Former Employee) –  Centurion, Gauteng8 November 2019
Working in an environment where there is so much selling skills taught through training and certification was very professional to me. I liked that because I also wanted to learn other sports too.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Rosebank, Gauteng4 November 2019
The company has principles that they follow ,they have specific goals for thier company and whenever there are vacancies in managerial positions they first consider they own staff members before looking outside for someone equipped for the job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a company that values it's employees and makes sure every staff members have necessary skills to accomplish tasks by providing training
Administrator (Current Employee) –  Fourways, Gauteng23 September 2019
Sportsmans warehouse is a every competitive company that allows all employees to work on their best abilities, is a company that promotes leadership in all fields of the company and it allows individuals to grow in side the company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a good place conducive
receiving clerk and cashier (Former Employee) –  West Rand, Gauteng7 August 2019
I usually start my work at 8:30 am, collaboratively plan my day, and make sure that the most urgent work gets done. Like making sure that stock that is on special go out first.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great working enviroment
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  The Glen Mall4 August 2019
It was great company to work for i learnt a lot with them in-terms of sport related gears and my favourite side of the store was the outdoor department. overall the company was a fun working place with challenges faced and tackled using team work in most cases.
Pros
free lunch on stock takes
Cons
staff attitudes
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productivity and growth
Accounts Clerk (Former Employee) –  Cape Town, Western Cape13 May 2019
I would come in settle in and then start my day off with the following;

Downloading of Bank statements
Confirm of bank accounts
Reallocating of customer deposits
Processing the daily banking of about 20 stores etc
Pros
off weekends and public holidays
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun at times
Till supervisor (Former Employee) –  Cape Town, Western Cape28 March 2019
The job is not easy to do if you don't have retail experience they provide training but it's up to you if you take in or not management can be strick at times but also fun
Pros
U get your two years and hour lunch
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Klerksdorp, North West26 March 2019
It is a good company one could work for as it pays a reasonable salary and they also have incentives, medical aid and uif. The company you will get to meet new people sometimes well known sports personnel would come in the store and buy from you. Different customers on daily bases and you get to learn new things everyday.
Pros
Sporty, fun
Cons
Over time
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
accounts clerk
accounts clerk (Current Employee) –  Cape Town, Western Cape17 January 2019
• Asset management
• Fleet management( license, fines, petrol cards)
• Buying/selling of motor vehicles
• Creating AAA’s
• Payment of local and international travel
• Capturing payments on AccPac
• Making payments on standard bank Online
• Managing telephones (Telkom, huge connect, fastnet, switchIT)
• Petty cash (audit trails)
• Processing daily journals
• General office admin
Pros
exposure
Cons
opportunities
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Cape Town, Western Cape15 January 2019
Good place, always motivated to get the job done. Taught me so many things. Could try and get more staff based on the size of the store. Was a pleasure working there
Pros
Motivation
Cons
Stressful
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
teachable
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng26 November 2018
This is retail, it was extremely taxing on mind and body. It requires a lot of energy. The head managers were not so nice and made working there undesirable. However it was good experience for engagement with management and other staff and customers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and everyone is a family
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  johannesburg, Cresta11 November 2018
a typical day at work on weekdays, one is always busy and always has something to do in terms of merchandising, etc and on weekends are very focused mostly on customers service as it is very busy especially in festive. I have a lot mostly about different product in different departments and how they work or used for. The hardest part of the job is not making the customers and management happy or when you make a mistake by giving the customer wrong information.
Pros
Free lunch at training and the experiential learning
Cons
long hours and hard labour
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales Driven
Casual, Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  South Africa, Somerset West1 November 2018
We go in the morning to have a meeting and then we get to work.
The company works on an Incentive basis for the sales Assistants,
We have to do merchandising.


This is not the Sportmans Warehouse displayed, this one that i worked at is the one is South Africa.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive working environment
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Cape Town, Western Cape30 October 2018
I worked as a cashier on weekends and worked in the December holidays. I came in during thee week to work as a salesperson. The staff were helpful and guided me where necessary.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A company that invests in it's staff
Admin Manager (Former Employee) –  Cape Town13 March 2018
Like all companies, SWH has it's pros and cons. What stands out about them is that they give all the necessary tools for skills training, growth and development from flexible staff, through to management. And this allows for growth in the company. Throughout the year there are continuous product knowledge training, workshops, leadership and management training, skills training for specific departments and general in depth training in each and every aspect of the store. From cash desk, receiving, customer carex through all departments, running, cycling, swimming, exercise, outdoor, transports, apparel. It's a company that supports it's staff in it's development. The hours may be long, but it's not any worse than other retail companies.
Pros
Discounts, skills training, experience
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 4Report
1,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mid avarage working place
Sales assistant (Former Employee) –  Gauteng9 March 2018
It was a great experience learned a lot of things but didn't get the opportunity to become a specialist after training a few candidates all was done was being shuffled
Pros
Poor management
Cons
Long hours without extra money
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
On Floor
CUSTOMER CARE AND INFORMATION STAFFER (Former Employee) –  Durban, KwaZulu-Natal18 February 2018
Sales floor post & assisted with till cash up
Daily interaction with customers & staff
Daily opening of accounts, Book keeping, Pa announcements , Report - Quality returns decisions (replacements or refunds)
Report - Staff roster & payment summary

Management, most enjoyable, fun loving & cheerful bunch of people

Environment & culture- always busy but warm & welcoming

Hardest - Staff rivalry (don't like conflict)

Most enjoyed - People & friendly atmosphere
Pros
Information events
Cons
Long hours of work
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg South, Gauteng7 February 2018
Each day would bring its own cons and pros but overall was a great learning path in the world of sport and sporting equipment with I genuially enjoyed .
Pros
Outdoor work
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a wonderfull experience
Sale assistant (Former Employee) –  Eden vale stoneridge centre30 January 2018
My job at sportsman's warehouse I loved doing as cycling specialist , i always treated my customers as if they were going to buy something expensive and even thou they didn't they were still happy with my services
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work place
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Bellville, Western Cape15 January 2018
Hours was long,bit tired but gained experience, learned alot as a cashier.

Learned things I did not know in the beginning before I started working for this company.
Pros
Experience Gained
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Sportsman's Warehouse. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3,6
Based on 584 reviews
5179
4169
3128
257
151

Ratings by category

3,4Work/Life Balance
2,9Salary/Benefits
3,0Job Security/Advancement
3,2Management
3,4Culture