Standard Bank Employee Reviews

Found 1 124 reviews matching the search See all 1 210 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Normal day
Facilitator (Learning and Development) (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng8 February 2019
The managers shout at employees and they do not want to listen to you .I was there for a short period which was 6 months and the salary was very bad .
Pros
Respect
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great leaderrship
Java Developer (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng7 February 2019
o Define Project Implementation Life cycle
o managing data on db2/plssql/squirrel databases
o Webservice development
o Webservice configuration on test/prod
o Handle production issues for current systems
o Maintain and monitor system and access control
o Operating System administration covering UNIX fundamentals.
o Involved in making technical decisions when setting up standards, procedures and problem solving process.
o Responsible for all technical documentation.
o Development and implementation of a Request Management System; using MS Web Developer 2005.
o Create innovative ways of giving the business solutions

We had great leadership I learnt a lot about development and IT was working with a great team
Pros
Great Team
Cons
Standby
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
client obsesssion is the key in this company
consultant, home loans, VAF (Current Employee) –  Gautent6 February 2019
its a great company to work for and the culture is magnificent

there is not hardest part per ser, the most important thing is to be customer centric and enjoy positive results
Pros
great benefits
Cons
slow growth
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work culture but lacks delivery
Technical Delivery Manager/Application architect (Current Employee) –  Johannesburg, South Africa4 February 2019
As a company Standard Bank lacks the ability to deliver on it's key initiatives. This is in part due to the internal processes that are out of date and inefficient and in part due to the lack of string leadersship.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Diverse
Customer Service Consultant (Former Employee) –  Cape Town, Western Cape3 February 2019
The people are amazing, work is work, at times it is extremely stressful but you have your colleagues to help you get through it.
The benefits offered by the company are well worth it
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Unrealistic expectations
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The company to work
Broker Consultant (Current Employee) –  Constatia Kloof30 January 2019
i enjoyed working for standard bank insurance broker, this is the company i worked the longest by far, it is one of those company that looks after its employees and they embrace diversity, the culture is awesome and encourages its employees to grow.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Over extended employer expectations
Standard Bank various (Former Employee) –  Boksburg, Gauteng27 January 2019
Extremely busy, staff cuts created high work expectations that could not be delivered = This placed high strane on personal family life that almost drove me and my family apart.
Cons
Long hours and weekend work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Banking
Administrator (Former Employee) –  Gauteng21 January 2019
Temporary job which moving over to accounting environment.
This was to provide an income while studying accounts to change jobs. Had previous experience so did not offer growth.
Pros
Income
Cons
Wanted to change career
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fine
Junior Business Analyst (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng18 January 2019
It was okay working here, didn't get the full experience I wanted but it was better than nothing. Wish I had more time to work here but unfortunately that's not happening.
Pros
nothing
Cons
nothing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable company
Financial consultant (Former Employee) –  kzn empangeni17 January 2019
Client came to cancel the product. We should give clients exactly what they need. Manage clients in a good manner. Very warm and welcoming. When not meeting targets it is not nice and when targets are met I am very happy.
Pros
Awarded for good work
Cons
Working long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
okay to work at, limited growth
Teller (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng16 January 2019
Verify and process a minimum of 180 deposits from various companies, since we were in the cash centre.

I learnt to work with people as a single team.
The most enjoyable part of the job was getting recognition if you've exceeded your targets.
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Started here as a clerk.
Clerk (Former Employee) –  DURBAN, ZA14 January 2019
Joined first in Salisbury, Rhodesia from school.
Joined them again in Durban. My husband got a transfer to Welkom in the Free State. I requested and got a transfer to Welkom.

Bank of Lisbon opened an office there- I applied and got the job
Pros
Good
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
There are 4 teller machines but only 2 employees work per day and they are slow
Teller (Former Employee) –  Gauteng10 January 2019
All tellers should work every day
Manager should be available for meetings
Atms should also deposit
There's only one security and one cleaner
Is in birch acres mall
Many people go there and wait long queues for long hours
Pros
Slow employees
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work place
Jhumma (SBFC Management) (Former Employee) –  Sandton, ZA8 January 2019
Arranging of all meetings between the client and the financial adviser, coordination of product events, singing up of client documents and policies, seeing and assisting clients when the FA is out, managing the FAs dairy and making all necessary transport arrangements. Following up on all client files, policies and general banking, doing all sorts of admin that was required by the management of SBFC, making sure that all paper work is up to date and FICA complaint
Pros
Team Catch Up
Cons
Flexi Hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working conditions
Service Centre Head - Hopetown, Northern Cape (Former Employee) –  Northern Cape Province6 January 2019
It's been a number of years since I left the service of SBSA, so I can only comment on the situations back then. Pressure to reach sales targets and threats for not reaching them became unbearable. Several of members of management hasn't been honest, however, I enjoyed working for the company.
Pros
Good benefits and salaries
Cons
Unrealistic targets
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
knowledgable
Enquiries Clerk and Teller (Former Employee) –  Durban, KwaZulu-Natal4 January 2019
my first stable job at Standard bank. a typically work day is making sure all queries were dealt with and up to date. achieving targets and assisting diverse people with their accounts.

i have also enjoyed working as a teller.
they people that i have worked with were always motivating and ensuring i do the best.

The hardest part of being a teller was not balancing at times.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teamwork
Verification Officer (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng28 December 2018
Working in teams really proven to be the best experience ever because there's no me in teamwork but us a lot has changed and it feels like you have a second family at your work place. We were giving an opportunity to be a self driven staff whereby we also have our own saying when it came to the business.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Proffessional work environment
TELLER, ENQUIRIES CLERK & TEAM LEADER TELLERS (Former Employee) –  Pretoria, Gauteng21 December 2018
The banking place was my first job and I loved doing my work, also considering that it was much relevant to my qualification therefore I grew a lot in every aspect in that work
Pros
None
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Post Write-off account Officer (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng18 December 2018
I thank the standard bank sa for an importunity to grow my career.it was really nice working there and working environment was also great,good management as well
Pros
Free lunches
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fairly relaxed hard working environment.
Senior Developer & Production Support Analyst (Current Employee) –  Johannesburg, South Aftrica10 December 2018
typical day - check emails, answer queries, attend meetings, provide feedback at standup, provide support, resolve incidents, interact with various project teams, code and test, production support
I learned that the soft skills are the hard skills
My managers were always there for me when required
Fairly relaxed and people were encouraged to grow
Getting other areas to change their priorities to accommodate our requirements
Having the time and space to focus on the work at hand
Pros
Education
Cons
Too much red tape
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Standard Bank. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4,0
Based on 1 210 reviews
5460
4438
3243
242
127

Ratings by category

3,8Work/Life Balance
3,6Salary/Benefits
3,6Job Security/Advancement
3,6Management
3,9Culture