tharisa minerals

tharisa minerals Employee Reviews

Showing all 10 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a chance for growth is there,depending on who is willing to open the channels for us.
laboratory graduate chemist (Current Employee) –  Rustenburg, North West26 September 2019
there is a chance for growth but it depends o which channels are open for you. we end up resorting to hard work and dedication with the hope that managemnent will notice the desire from us to acquire permanent employment
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
1,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unfair labour practice at it's best
Supervisor/Manager (Former Employee) –  Marikana, North West1 February 2019
The Mine only uses people for what they can offer, no development, you only get to be used. I was appointed as a foreman since 2016 but never renumirated for the position however a lot of people where hired and renumirated. Unfair labour practices.

No sense company, i'm glad I left
Pros
None
Cons
You get to be used
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
plant operator (Current Employee) –  Marikana, North West30 May 2018
A productive company where safety is our core value. Hiring and promoting people. The company train people for their jobs and get certificates if they are competent.
Pros
Offer its employees free training for their personal development
Cons
Doesnt supply lunch during weekends and the hours are long
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 3Report
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive with no incentives
Pit Surveyor Assistant (Former Employee) –  Marikana, North West14 January 2018
Limiting career growth, company where job is secured but no development, there's no culture of team work, no support if you wanna grow your career, it's one of those company I'm greatful I left It
Pros
No incentives
Cons
45 hours per week
Was this review helpful?Yes 12NoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and good to work in if you don't want career advancement
Pit Surveyor Assistant (Former Employee) –  Marikana, North West29 May 2017
There is no opportunities to advance your career and no room for learning,The company is productive and new, even when you have qualification it's difficult to be mentored or afforded opportunity
Pros
No free pros
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
2,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Prodution , Production Production
Maintenance Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Marikana - South Africa13 March 2017
Daily meetings of previous days accomplishments and non accomplishments and what must be done on the day
I have learnt to implement a fully functional CMMS system
The culture is one of silos
There is nothing hard about the job.
Achieving deadlines
Company still need to invest in developing and retaining skills
Pros
none
Cons
Work Very long at times, management will decide now that they want a report with data that spans over 2-3 years
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working on my own project and seeing that changing the company was my best moments
Intern in electrical engineering (Former Employee) –  Marikana plant7 February 2017
They growing everyday but they still need to improve a lot of things for them to increase the speed they growing at.the company and it's people are loving and caring. The training lag there and there, but that can be fix. Safety is great and I think they trying their best on that. In overall it's a good company
Pros
We do get braai when the company is doing well
Cons
Long hours only if we have to
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, challenging and fun work environment
Intern (Former Employee) –  Marikana, NW23 September 2014
A typical day at work would mainly start off with safety talk, where we come together as collective of students and the supervisor and discuss the safety topic of the day. I learned how to work in and around everyone's characters I improved my group working skills, I learned how to integrate my theoretical aspect learned at university with the practical application.

My co-workers were generally supportive although there were hiccups and clashes from time to time. The hardest part of my job was carrying out the tasks as given out by supervisor mainly because it was hard for me to get what was needed because of the different cultural backgrounds from one individual to another. The most enjoyable and rewarding part of my job was finally getting the job done. And also spending time with my colleagues during lunch rime
Pros
Fringe benefits, launches
Cons
Long working hours, nearly impossible to complete tasks
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
my first day working in a MV substation
intern (Former Employee) –  Marikana, NW10 April 2014
we were having a shut down maintenance day and after all the work have being completed, we decided to go and set everything ready to start at the MV substation. when we got the we found that the ball mill panel was offline and we were not sure that what went wrong there cause everything was okay when we switch off the plant. we straggled for three hours trying to sort it out. after that three hours thats when found that the cable that send the communiocation to the control was loose. after that time i told my self that everytime when ther is a fault that i have to sort out, i don't have to panic but go step by step on checking what if not working and what works. and that is working well for me.
Pros
thats what nice about working with a great team
Cons
enjoyable everything is going as planned
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at tharisa minerals. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3,3
Based on 10 reviews
52
42
34
21
11

Ratings by category

3,2Work/Life Balance
2,0Salary/Benefits
2,6Job Security/Advancement
2,5Management
2,8Culture

tharisa minerals Reviews by Location