Total Employee Reviews

Found 49 reviews matching the search See all 1 107 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
culture is poisonous
Professional Driver (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng23 October 2019
there i no work life balance. management micro manages people. People s private times are not respected either. performance bonuses are biased and it depends on your managers' liking and not performance. objectives are not clear either
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Culture - French
HR MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Rosebank, Gauteng21 October 2019
No flexibility in terms of working at home

Could do better in terms of Learning and

Culture - a lot of influence from the Paris Headquarters

the internal stakeholders are pro Hr
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Big company but being part of Total global not always geared to looking at competent managerial resources.
Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng2 May 2019
I was part of the IT division with the responsibility of managing the day to day operations and special projects. Internal management political issues put somewhat of a damper on the day to day working environment.
I was head hunted to join Total Coal.
Pros
Nice office environment - to many internal political issues among management
Cons
Company not paying contractors a fee in line with responsibilities
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and informative company with lots of opportunities
plant operator learnership (Current Employee) –  Durban, KwaZulu-Natal6 April 2019
I have received lots of training and lots of on jobs training safety is the company priority. Total cares for people and I feel good to part of total.
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Policies and procedure
Employee Relations and Wellness Specialist (Current Employee) –  National19 July 2018
Total has great policies at International level, Paris. Locally in South Africa management practice tribalism and racism. There is no job security and the company restructure annually.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for
Depot Accountant (Former Employee) –  Empangeni, KwaZulu-Natal31 January 2018
The company is good but I was not getting or growing as an accountant, It was an entry level position. But all in all the company was good it was just that i needed to grow.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Plant Assistant and Admin Assistant (Former Employee) –  Tshwane Pretoria23 January 2018
At the company I learnt a lot of new things I things excluding the learnership I was there for, I was taught how to do Admin in only two weeks. The management were always willing to help us students with any concern we had and it was a fun and flexible place to work at. The hardest time of the job will be when we needed to prepare for Rail Tankers to off load Petrol and Diesel, The pipes that we were using were too heavy to carry but from then i was taught to be independent and strong.

The most enjoyable part of all the jobs that I was required to do was when i would be in the Admin Office and helping with the Admin work,I like helping and interacting with different people so I would enjoy working in the Admin Office more that when I was outside working with pipes but in overall I felt privileged and honored to be given such an opportunity that has made me who I am today.
Pros
Free lunches and gifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Total SA,is home for Diversity & culture.
Shift supervisor (Former Employee) –  Bethlehem, Free State26 October 2017
Total is a good company to work for it has vision,mission,value,strategy and goals for their Business and also for employees.The company also give their employees the opportunity to learn, training people to archive their goals and total also comply with safety.
Pros
yes
Cons
9 hours a day
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Passive
Logistics Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Bellville, Western Cape31 August 2017
Working at TotalGaz is very monotonous as the working environment is boring and dull. Most of management is stuck up and unfriendly.

I've learnt a lot about the gas industry and the vigorous demands thereof.

the hardest part of the job is to keep all your customers happy when there are product shortages at refineries which occurs almost every month.

the most enjoyable part of the job is the many challenges I face everyday.
Pros
No Pros
Cons
Long hours. Do't get paid overtime
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun work place
driver code 10 (Current Employee) –  Cape Town, Western Cape14 August 2017
Working as a driver for total gaz it's like being a slave.They don't care about your safe they only have care for they product.Working at no rest.new stops no gps.
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Big company
Temp General Admin (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng23 July 2017
I worked on a separate project and not as part of the actual company, but the team I worked with was great hard working individuals who took pride in the end result
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Group Credit Manager (Current Employee) –  Sandton, Gauteng2 June 2017
A typical day at work will entail getting the job done correctly the first time.
A learned an enormous amount of processes, especially dealing with different companies all at once as we are currently approx. 30 companies.
The Management team is firm, but fair.
The culture is good.
The hardest part of the job is working with international clients, getting a hold of them etc.
In all it is a good team effort, with small little perks that makes it even a nicer place.
Pros
Free lunches, leaving early.
Cons
Long hours at times.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work at work ethic in the company is slow
Intern (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg30 May 2017
People are friendly and the office space is great. Company offers decent benefits but in terms of salary they are far behind other competitors.

Job security is not great since people with years and years of experience can lose their jobs if the CEO or the management changes up top.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Accountant (Former Employee) –  City of Cape Town, Western Cape13 April 2017
Good company
Scope for growth
Good environment
Family orientated
Positive people
Blue chip company
Large multi national
Diverse culture
Worth joining
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great working place
Plant assistant (Current Employee) –  Ladysmith , KZN27 February 2017
Great day at work because im working * hours a day.
I've learned plenty of supervision plans.
Former management was fabulous, but the current one is not as good as I can say
Most of the time, I am spending long hours in the plant operating.
Decanting rail tank cars, when its raining
not working weekends
Pros
Free Lunch when there is trainings
Cons
Reasonable hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly Working Environment
Project Engineer (Current Employee) –  Cape Town, Western Cape10 February 2017
Working on different task daily and always finding solutions to challenges on project life cycles.

Change management and team player skills, management of Contractor and stuff, problem solving skill.

Safe work culture

Pressure buildup due to delays suppliers

Working with effective project team,Clients, Engineering consultants
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplace
Shop assistant (Former Employee) –  Stanger, KwaZulu-Natal25 January 2017
The place was OK though the manager was a bit strict but he was good I enjoyed working for them but the money was to less but it use to get us going at least for that time
Pros
free
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
petrol attendant (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg South, Gauteng17 January 2017
it was a great job especially if it is your 1st job . employyes there are really friendly and hardworkers but i hated working in the rain and when its cold
Pros
monthly staff meetings
Cons
rainy hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
driver (Former Employee) –  cape town17 January 2017
We worked as a team, I worked with 2 assistants and we worked well together long hours but we all came back with a smile the next day.
Company relocated so they retrenched all the new comers
Pros
no
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun working experience
cashier and sales assistant (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg South, Gauteng9 January 2017
It was lovely working with people and the staff but the problem was long working hours. The owner is open for growth but the managers can't open doors for people to improve their skills which lead to people staying in 1 position for close to 10 years with no promotion
Pros
experience
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Total. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4,0
Based on 1 107 reviews
5413
4417
3200
243
134

Ratings by category

3,9Work/Life Balance
3,8Salary/Benefits
3,6Job Security/Advancement
3,6Management
3,8Culture