Transnet Employee Reviews

Found 1 041 reviews matching the search See all 1 065 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoy working there
general worker (Current Employee) –  Pretoria, Gauteng14 November 2019
Wanna learn more and gain more experience at transnet.I enjoy working as a group .want to be a permanent worker.and go to school so that i can know more about transnet
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and target driven reaching deadlines.
Senior Logistics Warehouse Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Pretoria, Gauteng13 November 2019
Been a warehouse supervisor I was responsible for accuracy of receiving,packing,picking,cycle counting and dispatching of production material.Reporting.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Must train employees
INFRA WORKER (Current Employee) –  Paulpietersburg, KwaZulu-Natal10 November 2019
Increase training for infra workers , stop employing people’s who are already on position while there are infra workers down who qualified for some positions
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It has been an honor to work at Transnet. I am grateful for the experience that I have gained and I have grown.
Port worker (Current Employee) –  Durban, KwaZulu-Natal9 November 2019
I am confident, positive and results driven. I believe if you can dream it you can achieve it. Good things always follow honest and loyal invidvals even in the working environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was good company
Electrical fitter (Former Employee) –  Pretoria, Gauteng6 November 2019
It's a good company ,I learned more new things and I now have more experience in electrical industries, Maintenance, Equipment Selection, Estimating Equipment testing, Safety protocols, Building construction, Hand tools to diagnose locate, fix electrical problems. Interrupting work instruction, drawings $ schematics.Using tools$ Testing equipment such as oscilloscopes, ammeters $ test lamps
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lean trainee
Industrial engineer trainee (Former Employee) –  Uitenhage, Eastern Cape6 November 2019
Industrial engineering trainee. I was in lean department responsible for doing process design and new process layout. Exposed in production management for the department I was working for.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I had a very good experience
Artisan ( Electrical Fitter) (Former Employee) –  Richards Bay, KwaZulu-Natal5 November 2019
I believe that my expertise and qualifications in Electrical Fitting made a valuable asset to the organisation and my credentials as a suitable candidate
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
general worker (Former Employee) –  Middleburg, Mpumalanga1 November 2019
Working there was very good it's helped me to upgrade my experience,it's also helped me to work with other people as we worked as a team ... The company. Security is on the higher standard.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They must hire people permanently
They must hire people permanently because people who get tenders to work as an outsourced don't get paid in time as for the money,they always get cheated
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A nice place to be, I enjoyed working with locomotives and doing field service work. The working place culture is fantastic.
DIESEL ELECTRICAL FITTER (Former Employee) –  Springs, Gauteng30 October 2019
A nice place to be, I enjoyed working with locomotives and doing field service work. The working place culture is fantastic. I've learned a lot through my time with Transnet and the management was supportive.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Disc operator (Former Employee) –  Saldanha Bay, Western Cape30 October 2019
It is a good company to work for they must just extend the contracts.
The contracts are very short and then when it is up you have to look for work all over again
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very friendly environment to work in
Recruitment Administrator (Former Employee) –  Durban27 October 2019
Excellent work place, colleagues are friendly, flexibility. Workplace culture is amazing everyone is happy. Recruiting people for work is the most amazing thing to do, knowing you have helped someone find employment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A relaxed working environment
Junior IE (In-service Student) (Current Employee) –  Durban, KwaZulu-Natal26 October 2019
Despite Transnet being a relaxed work environment there were multiple opportunities for me gain experience. A good company overall to work for and gain experience,
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Train control officer
Train control officer (Former Employee) –  Polokwane, Limpopo25 October 2019
It's a nice place to work for. Start working 1985 as shunter then train control officer. Worked for 30 years and no complaints about Transnet Fraight Rail.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Shift Fitter (Former Employee) –  Krugersdorp, Gauteng23 October 2019
Most of the jobs as a fitter are fair and not difficult but we had a problem with a lot of spares and had to strip from wrecked locos which is unreliable and time consuming. Most of the time you are required to finish other peoples jobs because you get overtime and some of the management is clueless and will either prefer to get rid of you instead of helping you deal with the problem which is the hardest part of the job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work experience in regards to the workplace culture.
Job Shadowing (Former Employee) –  Durban, KwaZulu-Natal23 October 2019
A typical day at work would include office errands during the early hours of the morning and job shadowing at the sites in the afternoon. In this work experience I learnt more about communication skills and time management. The most enjoyable experience being job shadowing at the sites.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First you need to be mentally fit and focus and love what you do
senior driver/ infra worker (Former Employee) –  Kimberley, Northern Cape21 October 2019
Start early to finish early before it gets to warm, because when you work with sleepers and rails in the heat it is dangerous.TEAM work is very important and be your brothers keeper for safety.OUR management is visionary and organised when it comes to production and development.SAFETY starts with me is our working culture because observation before work is important .SLEEPERS AND CASTING BALLAST ,REPLACING RAILS is the hardest part because it has to do with heat
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Infraworkers
general worker (Former Employee) –  Pretoria West, Gauteng20 October 2019
While i was at Transnet i did enjoy my daily work such as replacing sleepers, operating machines, home lite and bush cutter. what i found most challenging about this company was the working hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes 13NoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bureaucratic, technical, results focused
Civil Engineer (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng19 October 2019
highly technical work environment, workforce is very friendly and helpful, management allows for employee development, matrix type organisational structure,
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Beaurecratic processes
Legal Advisor (Former Employee) –  Durban, KwaZulu-Natal16 October 2019
The environment is saddled with red tape, processes are slow.

There is a lot of training offered to employees.

There are sufficient opportunities in the junior positions, but you can easily reach the ceiling in senior positions.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Transnet. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4,1
Based on 1 065 reviews
5432
4355
3210
242
126

Ratings by category

3,8Work/Life Balance
3,7Salary/Benefits
3,9Job Security/Advancement
3,6Management
3,8Culture