TRANSNET Employee Reviews

Found 333 reviews matching the search See all 347 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was happy
general worker (Former Employee) –  Nelspruit, Mpumalanga14 May 2019
It was great to work with transfer, they know workers rights and take care of them. They also give workers better opportunities. I was happy to work there.
Pros
Free transport
Cons
Long distance to some sites
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
1,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i real like to work hard all the time and real honest
clerk of works (Former Employee) –  clerk18 April 2019
i like to work honest with a good people that can make work success and working hard all the time i need to open my mind and do big job all the days of my life and make good job and bring good ideas to the company
Pros
yes
Cons
24 hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
1,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
in a work place as Employees we have to obey our boss each other,bring new Rating.
General worker (Former Employee) –  Richards Bay14 April 2019
Summary of meteriality and boundary to Approach maintain and review policy development through the Company.

the work place must be safe for workers and workers must do their work affectivelly, show co-operation with each other.

in order to make progress in the Company and increase Company's Products.
Pros
free lunches
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
welcome and a fun place to work at
Artisan (Former Employee) –  Durban, KwaZulu-Natal13 April 2019
I enjoyed working at Transnet and it is a reliable jobs. The people are friendly. The work I did I love and there was lots of opportunitys at work. Thanks
Pros
yes
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 1Report
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Development and productive
general worker (Former Employee) –  Bloemfontein , Free state8 April 2019
Maintain the Railway line.
Safety first.
There were organized and professional.
General work is the most development work.
To maintain the Railway line.
Entertainment after working.
Pros
Lunch almost 30 minutes
Cons
Tea time, healthcare
Was this review helpful?Yes 13NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company and warm culture.
Software Engineer (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng30 March 2019
I managed Security infrastructure and internet services. I also managed critical servers, for web development, mail servers, internet servers and firewall servers.
Pros
Discounted train rides and flights.
Cons
Delays on implementing new technology.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
1,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
exiciting working place
Train Assistant driver (Current Employee) –  Bloemfontein, Free State18 March 2019
I'm willing to work long hours.i to be part of the team.is a place were i want to see myself working at.I'll be happy to be part of the exciting team.
Pros
free lunch
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 25NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace
general worker (Former Employee) –  Witbank, Mpumalanga18 March 2019
Good workplace good people and management well suitable close to the shops during lunch friendly management good communication perfect hours tp work
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 23NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Girls shadowing (Former Employee) –  Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape26 February 2019
I have been working at finance office I gain lot of experience about locomotives so I have to all the department around transnet you can't work drunk and I had a great year
Pros
Free lanches
Cons
Long working hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 2Report
2,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very grounded
Recruitment Administrator (Former Employee) –  Cape Town, Western Cape26 February 2019
When working at Transnet, i never really felt comfortable. The people at Transnet is very helpful and caring. However myself as a perso would not work there.
Pros
Nice people to work with
Cons
Not really for younger people
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 2Report
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Train Driver (Former Employee) –  Mpumalanga6 February 2019
Company very good with good benefits. Structure changes happened and I went on early retirement to start own business.
Own business did not work out eventually
Pros
Medical, pension
Cons
Odd hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 37No 5Report
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safe working place
General Worker (Former Employee) –  Mpumalanga26 January 2019
I wish I can work for Transnet forever since it is a good company with benefits, taking care of their workers and loving them as well. It's was making sure that I get my salary on time so that I can cover my needs
Pros
Taking care of their workers
Cons
Absents
Was this review helpful?Yes 50No 4Report
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
customer service is key
Acting Chief Process Officer (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng21 January 2019
review of weekly performance & reasons for deviation & mitigation plan

Customer service is key as we were starting to loose customers to road and neighboring ports especially Maputo.

Although there is one culture charter; each division was a bit different from the other one.

Hardest part is getting all the divisions to agree on specific matters which were affecting the bottom line of the organisation

enjoyable part was going to operation and see how the business is being run across all the divisions
Pros
travelling
Cons
teams/divisions blaming each other
Was this review helpful?Yes 21No 1Report
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
THe working environment was in the blazing Kalahari sun, outdoors all day but it was never a challenge for me as I was 100 % climatised in that area.
Trainee Maintenance Assistant (Former Employee) –  Postmasburg, ZA11 January 2019
This was very hard labor and I have found my true self worth whilst working for Transnet. As a young man, the hard labor and physical hard work, transformed me into a strong young man and my self image and self respect rose tremendously.
Pros
None
Cons
Worked from 6h00 until 17h00
Was this review helpful?Yes 24NoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
quality and productive and always busy
CRANE OPERATOR (Former Employee) –  south africa10 January 2019
a typical day at work is like get to the mess room get ready to go up machine and get as many trucks out the harbor as possible in as little time as possible. i learnt to work with a lot of people and become a peoples person and face new challenges everyday and gain alot of knowledge. management team is more than willing to assist where they can at all times no matter the circumstances. the hardest part of the job is to get to new targets and to keep the terminal free of traffic. the most enjoyable part of everyday is the people you work with is always friendly and willing to assist where possible.
Pros
time with family
Cons
shift work
Was this review helpful?Yes 20No 1Report
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Vibrant working environment, you must always be on top of your game. Accuracy and customer service.
Asssets and Project finance manager (Former Employee) –  Cape Town, Western Cape7 January 2019
I will always love and respect my organization, they made me who I am today. I learned a lot, studied and grew as a person. The opportunities are endless. Transnet is indeed one of the Top Employer in the country.
Pros
Oppotunites for growth are endless
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 32NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Product must be produced according
Electrical engineering (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg30 December 2018
Do what l came for producing required product,leave stories,anger,hate aside be at work physical and mental.no stress to avoid danger at work places.also safety is the most of the important to avoid danger
Pros
Papa and meat
Cons
6am to 18pm
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 1Report
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Growth potential
CREDITORS CLERK (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng12 December 2018
Transnet cares for its employees. It supports in service training and furtherance of academic qualification. Management is supporting in both personal and work situations.
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 1Report
2,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Only cater for permanent employees...workers rights get exploited
Picker Packer (Former Employee) –  Transnet Engineering Koedoespoort10 December 2018
Productive company but no growth for contract workers...the state needs to protect contract workers and give them more benefits to be on the same level as other employees.
Pros
Was that it was a nice job until they corrupted the company
Cons
Short breaks...poor managemnent
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I know they will learn more to me so do they
Boilermaker Apprentice (Former Employee) –  Kempton Park, Gauteng9 November 2018
It the one of the biggest company and the one that is respected and it have more benefit for future and i can learn more on the company and they can learn more to me
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 34No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at TRANSNET. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4,0
Based on 347 reviews
5151
4103
362
217
114

Ratings by category

3,8Work/Life Balance
3,7Salary/Benefits
3,8Job Security/Advancement
3,6Management
3,8Culture