TRANSNET Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and make me grow in freight handling
Planner (Current Employee) –  Durban, KwaZulu-Natal26 July 2018
I achieve a lot to dis company academic through their bursaries I learn as much as I can graduate and internal exposure and external exposure the best
Pros
No
Cons
No
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
general worker (Former Employee) –  Durban, KwaZulu-Natal25 July 2018
The workplace must be safe for workers, and workers must do their work effectively, show co-orperation with each other in order to make progress in the company and increase company's products.
Pros
Free Lunch
Cons
Part Time
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Traction linesman (Former Employee) –  Mbombela, Mpumalanga17 July 2018
Relaxed
I've learned more about overhead equipment and it's challenges
Management is taking care of their employees in a good way
Employees respect each other and they are culture orientated
Being on standby was the most enjoyable part of my job
Pros
Pay day early knocking off
Cons
Working outside when it was raining
Was this review helpful?Yes 24No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a nice place and environment to work at
Train Driver (Current Employee) –  Pretoria, Gauteng22 June 2018
Transnet is the great company to work for,there are lots of opportunities and u can even study further through the bursary.It is the pleasure working at transient,the management is wonderful,our safety comes first.
Pros
Great benefits
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 64No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive is very high,some other time you have to work under preasure because we were working between trains
general worker (Former Employee) –  Free State11 June 2018
A typical day it was the first day at work,I have learned to work hard,the hardest part it is when we were lifting rails,The most enjoyable it is when we were working and sing at same time
Was this review helpful?Yes 70No 9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company can't wait to be a part of the company
general worker (Former Employee) –  Cape Town1 June 2018
Very informative and nicely done with the lay out as to what lies ahead. Great skills development program to uplift staff to better yourself.Also the perks the company offers!!
Pros
For the less fortunate
Cons
Long hours mean overtime pay and gaining job knowledge
Was this review helpful?Yes 95No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Oparator cnc and welding job
General or operator (Former Employee) –  Durban31 May 2018
Hi I'm looking for general job and I'm fast learner . I'm a welder but I don't have paper. I am willing to work day shift and night shifts plus I can do operator CNC machine.
Pros
Lunch
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 53No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
experience at work
Operator (Former Employee) –  Richards Bay, KwaZulu-Natal23 May 2018
more challenges and free to learn as much as you can to machine, for work balance, safety of the company is the number one priority for all working employees
Pros
bonus
Cons
long hours but simple job
Was this review helpful?Yes 53No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive ,Safety critical
Electrical control officer (Current Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng21 May 2018
Transnet is a very professional institutions with reliable and many job opportunities. It has a diverse working culture. There are opportunities for individual growth
Pros
Job security
Cons
Shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 65No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Regional Contracts Specialist (Current Employee) –  Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape19 May 2018
Constantly problem solving issues.
Each day unique and one is able to grow.
One works under alot of stress and pressure.
Compliance to policy and procedure of utmost important, and then value for money.
Pros
Job security
Cons
Red tape can be cumbersome.
Was this review helpful?Yes 38No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Transnet has a very productive working environment which is excellent for both personally and professionally
general worker (Former Employee) –  Durban, KwaZulu-Natal17 May 2018
I'd love to work independently. I know I will be a interact with other people. I enjoy working working in teams. I put safety as my first priority.
Pros
Working independently
Cons
Salary
Was this review helpful?Yes 74No 14Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Transnet is contributing Largely to the ecnomy of South Africa
Driving Trains (Current Employee) –  Lekwa, Mpumalanga11 May 2018
Passionate about executing ones duties at all the times at the highest level with good managerial skills that get to be aggravated by the best of the team work that inspire one to be at his best always
Pros
Free Lunch
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 54No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace to be working at and also productive
Receptionist/Admin (Former Employee) –  Gauteng11 May 2018
The workplace is fun to be working at because the work mates are friendly and always committed their work which gave me more effort in also being committed to my job experience
Pros
own luches
Cons
reasonable hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 36NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent and innovative company
senior training officer (Current Employee) –  koedoespoort10 May 2018
is an excellent company with great challenging opportunities. the company encourages any field of study knowing the impact to the community at large. a nickname given to this company is ko-papa.meaning our fathers place.
Was this review helpful?Yes 32No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
general workers
cashier (Current Employee) –  Gauteng3 May 2018
It great to work in transet because they no how to work with people who dont have qualification .the company they always check how the people working. the tell you before you work u must be safety first
Pros
1hr
Cons
9 hr
Was this review helpful?Yes 69No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fair company to work for
STOCK CONTROLLER (Former Employee) –  Gauteng2 May 2018
It was a great place to build my career but not on the same level as the private sector. There was no prospect for growth and they were very much focused on EE and not skill at that time
Was this review helpful?Yes 31No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team working
Train driver (Former Employee) –  Ermelo, Mpumalanga1 May 2018
Transnet it's about customer service. You must love your job. Safety is priority number one. The company cares for its employees well being. Communication is the main key to the company.
Pros
When you work more than 12 hours you get a food passel.
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 54No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My previous employments was so much productive to me and my family.
driver code 10 (Former Employee) –  Vredendal.Cape Town25 April 2018
I am willing to get job and i am available as soon as you need me.You can contact me anytime via emai,sms,call. I am a reliable person who is taking work very serious as it is the main thing that helps my life and my family. I enjoy driving a lot, so i will be glad if i can find the job of my dream.
Pros
Free coffee
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 59No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is an extremely productive workplace
Occupational Health Nurse Practitioner (Current Employee) –  Durban, KwaZulu-Natal25 April 2018
The workplace is a lovely place, employees are respectful. I learned to work independently as well being a team player. The most enjoyable part are the working hours.
Pros
Allows one to work independently
Cons
Salary
Was this review helpful?Yes 42NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
As an elctrician guy,i am working hard to make sure that the company doest not lose profits.I make sure all the vehicles dics are updates.
Cabling and stringing (Current Employee) –  Gautenh24 April 2018
I am an electrician technical guy who doing cabling and stringing at the Substation and Power station. I am an trainee Supervisor with all the valid certificates and also Authorized to North west Region.I am also SHE Rap at my currently company to make sure that all employees they have received a full quality PPE to work with.To enforce that all employees follow the OHSA current.I make sure all the employees the knew the task,job that are we going to perform on site that is written on the work permit.I do report all the near miss,Incident immediately in a flash report form.I protect the environment by ensuing that no oil split on earth and no animals shall be killed on site special on Eskom site.I use the correct and safe tools for the job and report broken tools to the supervisor and remove it inside of the toolsbox.
Pros
Launch time 12:30pm to 1:30pm
Cons
8hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 38No 4Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at TRANSNET. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4,1
Based on 319 reviews
5138
498
357
215
111

Ratings by category

3,8Work/Life Balance
3,7Salary/Benefits
3,8Job Security/Advancement
3,6Management
3,8Culture