University of Pretoria Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Lab Demonstrator (Former Employee) –  Pretoria, Gauteng5 October 2018
A good experience that teaches you being in charge, working with people and applying your skills. It was very nice to place knowledge on students younger than me.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fair place to work for a student
Teaching assistant (Former Employee) –  Pretoria, Gauteng4 October 2018
I have not many comments on this as I did not work full-time. I will say it was a relatively comfortable environment. The workload is fair and working hours acceptable.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Time consuming but rewarding
Demonstrator (Former Employee) –  Pretoria, Gauteng11 September 2018
Demonstration of practicals in allocated practical times might clash with current responsibilities. Management was not very helpful all the time. Training is provided.
Pros
Rewarding experience
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional work environment and learning school
Assistant Lecturer (Former Employee) –  Pretoria, Gauteng28 August 2018
Working at UP was a pleasant experience and I gained so much knowledge and insight during my time there. I loved working with students and being able to teach.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Open minded and flexible
Part time Interior Architecture lecturer (Former Employee) –  City of Tshwane, Gauteng25 August 2018
Part time work requires only a few hours at the University per week. This allows for great working flexibility. Senior staff members are open to suggestions and input from all junior members.
Pros
Flexibility
Cons
Permanent positions are hard to get
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive
Class Tutor (Former Employee) –  City of Tshwane, Gauteng27 July 2018
The environment I worked was very good. They give rooms for ideas and support any ideas that would be of benefit for the students and the University community at large.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun Workplace
Assistant Lecturer (Current Employee) –  Hatfield, Gauteng26 July 2018
The university of Pretoria is a safe working environment filled with loving colleagues. Each day is filled with new challenges and there are a lot of benefits such as having leave during recess
Pros
Flexible times
Cons
A lot of admin
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Admin Assistant (Financial) (Former Employee) –  Pretoria, Gauteng9 July 2018
Work with students and lecturers
Exampapers
Marks on systems
Queries from Lecturers and students
Travel arangements for the professors and lecturers
Pros
Own ofice
Cons
Nothing
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Laboratory Assistant (Former Employee) –  Pretoria, Gauteng29 May 2018
The university ensures that students and tutors have all the materials and equipments required for the certain laboratory experiments to be performed on the particular day
Pros
Marking and assesing hours count as working hours
Cons
non
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
facing your monster
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Pretoria, Gauteng21 May 2018
Good space to learn how capable one is.
Lot of support system.
Get to liaise with lecturers and students.
Work while studying and helps with time management.
Pros
Networking
Cons
Distance
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work hard and made tons of money.
Project Manager lead (Former Employee) –  Pretoria10 May 2018
Project was a huge success and the financial rewards were lucrative.
Learnt a lot by working with interns and having to implement procedures to monitor progress.
Pros
Repetitive work - easy to manage
Cons
Was only a 4 year contract
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and interesting working environment
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Pretoria, Gauteng8 May 2018
UP was the best place to be at that time as I was a student. I learned a lot about communication skill. The university provided me with the best experience in communication and computer skill.It helped me learn about good social interactions as well as confidentiality in dealing with different people and their understanding of aspects.
Pros
teach you to learn tobalance your life
Cons
working during your lecture
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work and leanr
Junior Lecturer (Former Employee) –  Pretoria, Gauteng3 May 2018
It was an amazing place to work. I learnt alot about teaching and working with young people. I was also completing my Masters so it was great conducting research with the top Professors in the country.
Pros
Top Research
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great University with focus on Academics, based in unsafe environment
BSc Actuarial Science Student (Third Year) (Current Employee) –  Pretoria, Gauteng24 April 2018
The University of Pretoria is an excellent university with great lecturers and an admirable passion to preserve the quality of students it produces. The Hatfield area however is not a safe place to stay.
Pros
Academic recognition
Cons
Unsafe surroundings
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working for the University of Pretoria
Administration & events Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Pretoria, Gauteng20 April 2018
I have learned that as a consultant, people expert a lot from you,
The culture is just coming to work and leave.
The hardest part is long ques during registrations and when you have to dismiss a student who is not performing.
The enjoyable part is when my students graduate and opportunity for me to study.
Pros
no
Cons
45 minutes
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful working environment
Mathematics Lecturer (Former Employee) –  City of Tshwane, Gauteng20 April 2018
A typical day at UP, class delivery, next step go to the tutorial session if any, then back to the office. If students wrote a test, start with the grading since in some modules there was a test almost every two weeks. The most difficult part of the job was the grading of engineering student' scripts. They were more that a thousand and we had to allocate question to each lecturer for grading.
Cons
heavy workload
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Eye opening
Assistant Administrator (Current Employee) –  Pretoria, Gauteng17 April 2018
Going to work there is a very rewarding experience as l am working in the field l am most passionate about. The people around the work environment have never for one moment made me feel unwelcome. Positive work environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of fun, energetic and vibrant
Tuks Basketball Executive Board Member (Former Employee) –  Pretoria, Gauteng10 April 2018
Typical work day would involve putting together a practice session that would help the players improve their basketball skill.

i would also meet up with the basketball executive committee to come with ideas on how to promote the sport of basketball and the TUKS culture.
Pros
Flexible hours, supportive management
Cons
All Matches were either on a weekends or 8pm during the Week
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, friendly and fun work environment
Student Administrator (Former Employee) –  Pretoria, Gauteng10 April 2018
Great job satisfaction, pleasure to work with the students and see them through to Graduation! Workplace culture was pleasant, the hardest part of the job is to see the disappointed students when they failed a subject or two but in general the staff and students made it a very enjoyable work environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working here part time
Lecturer (Former Employee) –  Pretoria, Gauteng6 April 2018
Good working environment. Lovely campuses as well as lecture halls. Neat and enjoyable work place. Lovely staff and support network. Although I only worked here part time, I really loved every minute of it!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at University of Pretoria. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4,1
Based on 225 reviews
586
488
342
25
14

Ratings by category

3,9Work/Life Balance
3,2Salary/Benefits
3,3Job Security/Advancement
3,6Management
3,7Culture

University of Pretoria Reviews by Location