Wakefern Food Corporation Employee Reviews

Found 486 reviews matching the search See all 4 278 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Butchery (Former Employee) –  North West15 May 2019
Workling at Shoprite is nice because we all do what is expected by giving best in your tasks as i was working in a Butchery i would also work as a Forklift operator if the manager is not at a receiving as i dedicate myself on my free time
Pros
buy your lunch
Cons
normal hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and safe workplace
TRAINEE MANAGER (Former Employee) –  East London, Eastern Cape6 May 2019
I was employed at the institution as a trainee manager ,learning and observing duties of a manager.
The shop was situated at a busy suburb with a lot of customers daily. My work was specific to the butchery ,selling ,packaging and preparing the product.

I also oversaw the duties of 3 employees and led the team on my shift as part of my job description.
Pros
it allowed team leading opertunities
Cons
Long Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
General Assistant (Current Employee) –  Gauteng4 May 2019
Working with customers is something I love with my job because I like doing communication with different people and trying to resolve their problem by finding a productive solutions of what will they need
Pros
Free tea
Cons
Long hors
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Funworkplace
cashier (Former Employee) –  Wolmaranstad, North West1 May 2019
Hardworking and customer service.do whatever ur managers are asking you to do.respect and come to work in time. Check ur scheduled.work as a teamgroup
Pros
No
Cons
Short hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Retail and Productive
Retail Clerk, Cash Office Clerk (Former Employee) –  Alberton, Gauteng23 April 2019
I worked long hours with Shoprite and picked up a lot of work experience..
I learned various different functions with them, like receiving and dispatching of stock. Switchboard, cash office, float control, casual wages, and personnel. Worked on their program Kronos. I reported to the store manager.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
cleaner (Former Employee) –  Pretoria, Gauteng22 April 2019
I enjoyed working at shoprite in the third week .My first day of employment at shoprite was a straining one ,I couldn't stand it .It was fun to say the truth.
Pros
We have to buy or come up with our food
Cons
Long ours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Produtive
GROCERY CONTROLLER (Former Employee) –  Ermelo, Mpumalanga2 April 2019
Learned a lot as a controller doing a sales manager duties .managing all outside merchandisers and doing roaster for permanent employees within the sales floor.
Pros
Lots of overtime
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Shoprite Checkers Cashier
Sales lady (Former Employee) –  Gauteng14 March 2019
The job gave me experience in retail
Knowing how to communicate and understand clients.
I'm great as it added knowledge to my life.
They have given me the platforms
Pros
None
Cons
Wages
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
2,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good environment
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Tsakane, Gauteng11 March 2019
A Very hard working person very dedicated and discipline very respectfu to other people and determined and carries Myself with dignity good character.
Pros
No
Cons
15 hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Yes it was fun and productive work place" because it has the lowest prices for every one
CASHIER (Former Employee) –  Bapong keya Rona complex3 March 2019
It was my first job and I really enjoyed a lot.the manegers where good they treated their stuff equally and with lots of respect.i have learned a lot.
Pros
There was no free lunch, we used to buy or bring are own food
Cons
Yes there was long working hours with no over time pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and friendly working environment
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Capetown28 February 2019
The company is one of the most comfortable and welcoming companies. It allows you to want to expand and spread your wings. But the most tiring thing about the company is that you work long hours during month ends yet still get little salary
Pros
Free lunches when it's busy, like month ends.
Cons
Very litle salary
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and sales driven
Front admin clerk (Former Employee) –  Brits, 0961, ZA21 February 2019
Sales and profit
stock control, bookkeeping and administration
still working towards BEE
Uniform, sales driven and time conscious
Not beeing able to come for alarm call outs and disciplining workers
Not having stock loss and monthly sales targets
Pros
free lunch, training, christmas parties
Cons
long hours and overtime
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
1,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Till packer
A cashier (Former Employee) –  Mpumalanga Komatiport18 February 2019
Its so fun because you can easily chat with customers and sets a good example on your customers that you are happily by saving them. Which its a good thing
Pros
Only 1 lunch
Cons
8 or 9
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Merchandising (Former Employee) –  Cape Town, Western Cape12 February 2019
typical day at work: sometimes was nice and sometimes not
What i learned: Different tipe of foods
Management: Friendly
The hardest part: festive time where we have to work very hard
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Developing and Good services
Sale Manager (Current Employee) –  KwaZulu-Natal3 February 2019
. Proove your appearance every single day
. Good communication
. Good decisions
.Do the right things
. To run at a loss.
. Meet business requirements.
Pros
Christmas gift
Cons
Stand up whole day.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i finished my trainee manager before given time
Trainee Manager (Former Employee) –  Carletonville, Gauteng31 January 2019
1.The best part of my job was learning all the aspect of the business and adapting to any shortcomings .
2.i learned ir and protecting the company in any staff discipline
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Vegetables
sales person and cashier (Former Employee) –  Eastern Cape26 January 2019
They should renew their vegetables almost every week because you will notice that some of the vegetables are too old and companies image is threatened
Pros
Baked cakes
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Intercept Checker
INTERCEPT CHECK (Former Employee) –  Centurion, Gauteng22 January 2019
I was checking stock before a despatcher scan it. I was checking that the pickers picked the right stock. I was checking that the stock is right so that the despatcher can scan and load the right stock into the truck
Pros
Own lunch
Cons
Long hours 6:00 to 6:00 12hrs
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Administrator
Admin Clerk (Former Employee) –  Cape Town, Western Cape17 January 2019
I worked 7 days a week (full days)Were a great group working together.I was temporally employed,contract renewed every year.Management was accommodating.Nice place to work at,but warehouse closed down and my contract ended.
Pros
overtime
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
2,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Retail
Branch Manager Bredasdorp Checkers (Former Employee) –  Overberg, Western Cape10 January 2019
Hardcore Retail environment, but good to learn from. Advancement is difficult and only to a certain level. Salary is also to a certain level with no future prospects of growth from Shop level. No family life
Pros
Retail knowledge
Cons
Restricted advancement and salary increase, No family time
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Wakefern Food Corporation. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3,6
Based on 4 278 reviews
51,1 K
41,2 K
31,2 K
2405
1337

Ratings by category

3,4Work/Life Balance
3,1Salary/Benefits
3,2Job Security/Advancement
3,2Management
3,4Culture