Wakefern Food Corporation Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
cleaner (Current Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng24 May 2018
Hard working, team player and time management and good training and incetive for working long hours and Good management and half hour Lunch and Helping each
Pros
Free Lunch
Cons
Long Hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun
Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Verulam, KwaZulu-Natal22 May 2018
a very relaxed environment with flexible hours
long distance is hard crossing Swaziland boader.
They give you enough rest before going on trips and enough pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safe and clean eviroment
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Limpopo17 May 2018
It was fun and useful because I gained more experience

.I was working there as cashir..till packer ..sassa paypoint

.I started working on the 7th of October 2013 until February 2016.

.I resigned because of family resbobsibilities
Pros
Free lunches sometimes
Cons
Sometimes extra hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Meeting new people evry day that gives you an opportunity to understand defferent kind of people charectors
Shalf packer (Former Employee) –  Polokwane, Limpopo13 May 2018
People go to work only for one reason to meet the basic living standard which is something that shoprite doent provide for its worker meaning people should earn a decent salary
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
cashier and packer (Former Employee) –  Parow, Western Cape9 May 2018
Working at KFC was it good traveling was far people at that KFC dicriminal you but working there was nice making friends meet new customer and customer service was very good
Pros
Lunch a hour
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed every minute at V n L
Inventory Clerk (Former Employee) –  Cape Town, Western Cape28 April 2018
Load all clean laundry on the van. Deliver them, bring back dirty laundry.

Learned how to operate industrial laundry machine.

Had a close relationship with manager, she relied a lot on me and I did my utmost best not to disappoint her.

Show up work hard and clock out. I did not engage In the workplace gossip.

Carrying the big bags filled with fresh ironed linen, curtains, towels, gowns and pool towles.

I loved the Camps bay beach view. I took my lunch at the beach taking walks on the beach sand, and swimming in the beach when its really hot.
Pros
The beach view
Cons
Big bags that i carried to the van and from the laundry
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Mdantsane, Eastern Cape26 April 2018
The company should at least work on their staff strategy because sometimes the staff doesn't go to lunch because of staff shortages at the end of the day there is no lunch sometimes or go for a much shorter one.
Pros
Getting free training on any departmemt
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Never worked for Wakefern Food Corporation
Data Migration Team Lead (Former Employee) –  Cape Town, Western Cape10 April 2018
Never worked for Wakefern Food Corporation, this time may refer to Shoprite, which is South Africa's leading low-price low-margin retailer. A great company with a great business model and lots of potential.
Pros
Far from town and the culture shows it
Cons
A culture that calls a spade a spade, is autocratic and patriarchial.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work less money
Pherishablecontroller (Former Employee) –  Middelburg, Mpumalanga8 April 2018
Bad management skills an da leadership is poor they ar concern about money Not the person dat makes da production there is no safety measure an management
Pros
Hard labor
Cons
Long hours no overtym
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cape town
chashier,deli and baker (Former Employee) –  Cape Town, Western Cape5 March 2018
Is to work hard and learn more about the company or business understand how to deal with customer...i want to now everything about the job that I am looking for.
Pros
Anything that you offer
Cons
I am willing to work long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 12NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
quality product
Grocery assistance Controller (Current Employee) –  Gezina, Gauteng25 February 2018
They produce good quality food, and I think this could attract more customers to do their shopping there, and which could make the company improve financially.
Pros
free lunch saves money
Cons
resting time is too short
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Bronkhorstspruit, Gauteng19 February 2018
I did enjoy working at shoprite and it's because of my former colleagues. They were fun, friendly, kind and can corporate on a team work. The Manager made it hard for us to enjoy our work. He was sometimes Moody for no reason. They made us work under pressure as if we are slaves. They'd sometimes tell us not to have lunch because the customers are many. We'd have lunch in their offices for 5minutes and they'd be there to rush you. They didn't treat us with respect. I only enjoyed being with my former colleagues but the manager no.
Pros
Buy own lunch
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Packer (Former Employee) –  South Africa9 February 2018
The company is a fun place for a school living person to start a new job, these no pressure but but work load is high it's all depends on u to finish the work for the day, gaining the experience of working and working with food
Pros
1 hour launch
Cons
Non
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
general groceries assistant.
General Assistant (Current Employee) –  Mitchells Plain, Western Cape4 February 2018
i enjoy working with the people and learning new things even though everyday has been a challenge to complete the tasks i have been given with in the amount of hours i have been given. what i enjoy the most i am getting fast at completing my task. my manager is proud of my accomplishments thus far.
Pros
Great management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for growth but not ethically compliant
admin manager (Current Employee) –  Hluhluwe, KwaZulu-Natal30 January 2018
The culture is making it hard to manage the family life style. But take nothing away from them in terms of recognizing potential leaders they still master that. It will be better though I f they can focus on training senior managers on how ro manage ethically and consider scheduling rather then 10+ hour daily
Pros
Recognize hard workking employees
Cons
Long hours, poor management style
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was not fun
TILL PACKER (Former Employee) –  Westernarea18 January 2018
Working hours are very high and the is no payment for overtime.

working there was not that bed at least I learned something, I went there because I was in need of finance so that I can go to school
Pros
Bring own lunch
Cons
Long hours, and no pay for overtime
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work shop
admin manager (Current Employee) –  Gauteng8 January 2018
working for this company you need to be physical strong . It more time of yourself long hours good bonus at the of the year .also again more experience .
Pros
free lunch
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great working conditions
Retail Student (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng4 January 2018
working there was a learning curve. I learnt a lot during my days there such as work ethic, working under pressure. I only left the place because I had to go back to school.
Pros
free lunch
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good clean workplace
packer (Former Employee) –  Boksburg, Gauteng3 January 2018
I have a great time there..good management n supervising excellent...development it's there and development.. u can grow there skill n implement some too
Cons
8hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Everyday production and good customer service
CASHIER AND SHOP ASSISTANT (Current Employee) –  Ptetoria Gauteng3 January 2018
Dealing with hard customers, Doing money pick ups , Cash balancing,I'm enjoying my job when I'm not over and I don't have money shorts,clean work place,working under pressure,Be pantual, keep smiling to my customers so that they can always come to my store
Pros
I have only one hour lunch
Cons
Long hour lunch can lead to diciplinery hearimg
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Wakefern Food Corporation. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3,6
Based on 3 685 reviews
51 K
41,1 K
3998
2344
1253

Ratings by category

3,5Work/Life Balance
3,1Salary/Benefits
3,2Job Security/Advancement
3,3Management
3,4Culture