Western Province Caterers Employee Reviews in Cape Town, Western Cape

Found 10 reviews matching the search See all 14 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional and cultural heritage
Receptionist / Switchboard Operator (Former Employee) –  Cape Town20 September 2018
The job had its perks nice cultural heritage and togetherness there's so much to learn from each other and everyone helps you in every way long term or short term
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
2,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well Presented Company With a Smell
Unit Catering Manager (Former Employee) –  Cape Town, Western Cape17 April 2018
Well managed company with a good reputation in general. In my many years in hospitality and catering, I have never felt so insecure in my job, getting rid of staff is shockingly easy, without any remorse. You have to fight for a decent salary, getting paid what you worth is a general practice. Growth opportunities are probably my highlight about WPC as there are transfer and promotion options.
Pros
Promotions, Reputable Company
Cons
Long Hours, Under Paid
Was this review helpful?Yes 23No 3Report
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and a fun work enviroment
Food Service Assistant (Former Employee) –  Cape town western cape12 April 2018
I e hljoyed working for the company.The management made you feel welcome and important.UV learned a lot from western province caterers because they give you the opportunity to grow by letting you go study further if you want to become a chef.the is a learnership program available to any one who is interested. If you live far from where your unit is they give travelling allowance. Each and every day you learn something new like how to do stock take,how to cook,how to worked ng shifts etc.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 24No 1Report
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productuff and fun workplace
Food servers assistant (Former Employee) –  Cape town western cape12 March 2018
Very good people to work for I have learned alot over the years they very understanding and do the best for there staff the salary can just inprove for the hard work the staff gives.
Pros
They have shifts
Cons
Just two weekends a month
Was this review helpful?Yes 27No 1Report
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive , Pressurized, fun
Suppport Recruitment Man,Reception,Administrator (Former Employee) –  Cape Town, Western Cape23 February 2018
I enjoyed working and being exposed to new learnings/ experiences and opportunities. . It was a pressurized environment especially when recruitment targets had to be met. However I enjoyed liaising with the clients and candidates and also enjoyed my involved in Recruitment drives for International companies/ Hotels/ Restaurants (Hospitality Industry) in Dubai .The interviewing , planning and engaging aspects of the process.
Pros
Energetic environment
Cons
Limited growth opportunity in my scope of responsbilities
Was this review helpful?Yes 22No 3Report
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wonderful place
reliever (Former Employee) –  Cape Town, Western Cape22 August 2017
Working here was one the best experiences i ever had. Although i worked at an old age home preparing foods for the elders i build a wonderful bond with them and learned that one day i will be that age and would love to be treated with respect.
Pros
free food
Was this review helpful?Yes 29No 1Report
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a fun work place
Food service assistant (Former Employee) –  Capetown22 August 2017
I was a cook and I enjoyed doing what I did I cooked for a 114 people did my preparation for other cooks and worked as a admin Clark in my spare time so that was a fun work place cause I loved what I was doing
Pros
Doing what i love
Cons
Long hours (weekends off)
Was this review helpful?Yes 14NoReport
2,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Bookkeeper & Data Capturer (Current Employee) –  Cape Town, Western Cape11 May 2016
I love what I do but where there are no principles & work ethics involve I loose interest as an individual.
Currently where im working the work load is too much for one person and the salary is very little.
Pros
n/a
Cons
long hours, no lunch breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 7Report
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive,fun, good opportunities
National training manager (Former Employee) –  Cape Town, WC28 May 2014
• Heading the training department nationally and running of day to day company requirements – 11 companies in South Africa, Namibia and Mauritius – 2700 staff members
• Registered as a training provider with CATHSSETA – offering one year certificate in learnership (professional cooking) – NQF level 4
• Rolling out and monitoring of company yearly campaign – creating and monitoring company performance based on balance score card
• Liaising with existing and potential clients – promoting the business and servicing existing clients with daily requirements
• Setting up and organizing of large meetings , conferences and competitions
• Developing and writing of new menus, standardizing and training employees on up keeping of standards
• Ordering of stock, stock take and stock control
• Meeting with suppliers on quality and better pricing on stock items
• Managing office and ordering of supplies / free issues
• Opening of new contracts and upgrading of existing contracts
• Function co-coordinating and preparation of meals
• Staff training on all aspects – customer service, health and safety, first aid, cooking (all areas of the kitchen), nutrition, costing and stock control, computer training, leadership, time management, self development, communication skills, Front of house and Back of House Training on all aspects of the business
• Employing and monitoring and daily scheduling of trainers to fulfill company requirements
• Developing and upgrading of company policies – conference presentations - PowerPoint
• Registered with CATHSSETA as a assessor (5 years)
• Qualified
  more... Moderator
• Translating of documents for Directors and Divisional Directors
• Developing and monitoring Standard Operating Procedures of the company
  less
Pros
Training
Cons
Long Hours, travelling
Was this review helpful?Yes 17NoReport

See more Western Province Caterers reviews

You may want to try:

Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Western Province Caterers. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

2,7
Based on 14 reviews
51
41
37
23
12

Ratings by category

2,9Work/Life Balance
2,6Salary/Benefits
2,8Job Security/Advancement
2,9Management
3,1Culture

Western Province Caterers Reviews by Location