Woolworths Limited Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Trainee Designer (Current Employee) –  Western Cape19 April 2018
it is a really nice company to work for. you learn a lot. the systems and processes help you get things done efficiently and quick. i've enjoyed my time at Woolworths.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
interesting, get to knw customers beheviour, nd challenging
cashier (Current Employee) –  Pretoria, Gauteng19 April 2018
I had good time in retail, where I had to know customers service, good consumer conduct , how to take responsibility, always give the best in all thn
Pros
own food
Cons
normal hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and awesome
Replenisher (Former Employee) –  Fishoek18 April 2018
The company is awesome, they treat everyone equal and they always wants the best for you.They dont approve of late coming. There company is professional and they are strict on uniform and respect.
Pros
Waste
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i was not happy with the salary
TILL OPERATOR (Former Employee) –  Gauteng16 April 2018
the company gave me a chance to prove my self with the customer service skills. they provide me with excellent training and i performed my duties to the best of my abilities
Pros
management was good
Cons
salary was not satisfactory
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly and funny
Cashier (Former Employee) –  George, Western Cape13 April 2018
I'm a friendly person, hard worker and very passionate....

I take my job seriously and make my job my first priority, I'm well experienced in cashier
Pros
Tea break
Cons
over time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a great experience to be part of the Woolworths team. I've learnt a lot and grow as a person. Learn to be responsible and reliable
cashier and sales assistant (Former Employee) –  Centurion, Gauteng12 April 2018
Excellent customer service and great team work. Great values and culture. I was honoured to be part of Woolworths team and I've grown and learnt telephone etiquette, listening skills and interpersonal skills, Problem solving skills and managing time.
Pros
Cash back on purchases for staff
Cons
Working three weekends in a month
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
till operator (Current Employee) –  Cape Town, Western Cape12 April 2018
You always get to meet new an exciting people... Woolworths helps you to further your career by allowing you to study through the company which u can do your NQF levels
Pros
To buy waste
Cons
No medical aid for old staff
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good and very safe
Visual Merchandiser (Current Employee) –  Durban North, KwaZulu-Natal12 April 2018
Working for Woolworth is very nice because you gain some work experience. learning how to work with other people and work sharing with different races at the same time. working with people like customers is not very easy you need to understand them and be very calm when comes to them but at the same time you learn a lot because you at work
Pros
waste
Cons
limited
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Projects for 15 years
Business Intelligence Technical Specialist (Former Employee) –  Cape Town, Western Cape10 April 2018
A great company, great people, great work. Very political and Apartheid legacy issues simmering underneath the surface. This company has access to money.
Pros
Quality is number one.
Cons
Very Political and greed infused.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Till Operator (Former Employee) –  Gauteng4 April 2018
being a till operator comes with challenges.
you have to be extra careful especially where there is money around.
manage your workplace properly count float thoroughly.
Month end we facing many challenges.
atleast staff were allowed to buy with discount.
Pros
no free lunch
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Environment
Floor Assistant (Former Employee) –  Hatfield, Gauteng3 April 2018
Required to do stocktaking. And assist customers.
High number of staff retrenchment
Working until very late in the evenings
Great relationship with colleagues
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
best workplace
Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Knysna, Western Cape2 April 2018
I was productive at all times because I enjoyed being a merchandiser, I was able to work under a lot of pressure. I always carried out my duties well.
Pros
Long breaks
Cons
Night shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Customer Assistant (Former Employee) –  Tokai, Western Cape31 March 2018
I enjoyed going to work because I loved my job
Working at the the tills we make sure all hygiene is done and everything is in order
The best time to work was when the store was really busy because then your day flies by
There are many opportunities within the company and benefits are good
Strict managment ,its like being at school again and too much rules
Salary way to little especially for me as a single parent
Pros
Good opportunities
Cons
No family time
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not fun
Customer Assistant Tills (Former Employee) –  Gauteng27 March 2018
customer service the customers were difficult but that didn't let me down i worked everyday with a smile .remember a customer is always right so the customer always comes first
Pros
free coffe
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun at times
H. R Administrator (Current Employee) –  Mitchells Plain, Western Cape22 March 2018
The work environment is fun however the time spent is not advantageous to my current situation as kids needs me at certain times especially over weekends as aftercare is not available.
Pros
always ahead with supermarket trends in food and clothing
Cons
abnormal hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Floor supervisor (Current Employee) –  Durban, KwaZulu-Natal20 March 2018
Woolwoths is the number one retail one would work for. The company is well established it takes care of its employees by providng inductions and trainings. The environment is safe and friendly to be at.
Pros
Staff discounts
Cons
Working weekends and holidays
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
TILL OPERATOR (Former Employee) –  Krugersdorp12 March 2018
It was a learning curve for me,my first job so I learnt a lot there and I grew...i left for Statistics because the salary was good there and I didn't work long hours there
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and well managed
Cashier/ Customer Services (Former Employee) –  east london12 March 2018
A great working environment and team building, worked as cashier, customer supervises,floor-walking, stock takes customer complaints and queries. Take managements orders in to account.
Pros
none
Cons
long hour
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very free fun ...work friendly zone
Replenisher (Former Employee) –  Langerberg mall9 March 2018
I enjoyed working for Woolworths unfortunately the time I was working there I was still a learner I would work on holidays but overall I enjoyed working there
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productivity and Achieving Key Performance Indicators a
Clothing and Home Departmental Manager (Current Employee) –  Cape Town, Western Cape8 March 2018
People Focused
Customer Experience
Red Flag Sign off
Marketing and Communication
Commercial Report Analysis
Engaging with Head Office Planner and Buyers
Pros
Benefit
Cons
Night Shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Woolworths Limited. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3,9
Based on 1 935 reviews
5634
4668
3451
2121
161

Ratings by category

3,6Work/Life Balance
3,5Salary/Benefits
3,6Job Security/Advancement
3,5Management
3,7Culture