Woolworths South Africa Employee Reviews

Found 742 reviews matching the search See all 767 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's nice place to work with people, they teach how important the customer is to them.
till operator (Former Employee) –  Hermanus, Western Cape16 January 2020
The customer is always right. It's nice place to gain more experience, it's also the growing company, because other people started as the packing they end up as the managers. Sow the Woolworth company make you grow. I worked there for 6 since 2014 until 2019.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Tygervalley, Western Cape15 January 2020
Difficult customers and managers. Staff aren't the easiest to work with especially if you're quiet. Fast paced environment. Pros are being able to purchase discounted items from the food market.
Pros
Discounted Woolworths food
Cons
Difficult customers and managers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well balanced worked place.
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Bloemfontein, Free State14 January 2020
Working at Woolworths was a very pleasant experience. Management worked coherently with the staff to ensure that the working environment was as easy as possible.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a good experience
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Fourways, Gauteng14 January 2020
Always take a job that you will enjoy and be a fast learner also be able to work with a team.always be loyal and avoid bad advise and stick to your work,be willing to help out in other departments to iquire other work experience that will help you grow
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Foods Manager (Former Employee) –  Witbank, Mpumalanga14 January 2020
Fast paced, culture based, punctuality. Every employee should conduct himself or herself in line with the company’s policies and procedures as well as the company values.
Pros
Integrity
Cons
Dishonesty
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace the communication its perfect and team work we do practise costumer first and know collaboration as team
till operator (Current Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng10 January 2020
Its a nice place or environment to work at you learn alot on how to treat people individually and u learn to communicate and collaborates as team you learn about neatness and costumer first
Pros
No
Cons
7hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love working for Woolworths.
Interactive specialist (Current Employee) –  Ferrarmere Square Benoni7 January 2020
Working at Woolworths was always my dream as well as growing in the company, I enjoy every moment in the company however I'd like to grow and know the new challenges outside.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Foods Department Manager (Former Employee) –  Meyersdal, Gauteng6 January 2020
At Woolworths things changes with time so when you work there you need to make sure that you move with the vision of the company and they make sure that they take training their staff seriously
Pros
Awards
Cons
As a manager you dont get overtime pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning curve
Customer Services Assistant (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng6 January 2020
I was happy to work for woollies, even though the salary was not enough for my needs but because of the training they offer and the experience of learning how to run a business, that made me happy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fair
Retail (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng5 January 2020
Woolworths is a good retail, I have learnt alot, now I know how to deal with customers. The environment made me grasp skills about the retail industry
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Responsibility
Customer Service Assistant (Former Employee) –  Cresta4 January 2020
Woolworths can do better in they empowering the staff in order order they go to the next level,treat staff with respect, be more vigilente and pay extra attention to them,for health reason,some force themselves to come to work just to please the manager
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dealing with difficult customers
Customer Service (Current Employee) –  V&A Waterfront3 January 2020
Working for Woolworths is very nice because of the benefits they offer you and you won’t get it at any other job.
But the hardest part of my job is trying to satisfy a difficult customer
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Cashier-accuracy in the point of sales machine (Former Employee) –  Welgemoed, Western Cape31 December 2019
Good working environment, i learn a lot more especially in Customer services as i dealt with customers everyday.working during weekends and holidays.working as a team.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very tiring
Flex 28 (Former Employee) –  Empangeni, KwaZulu-Natal20 December 2019
Must be an energetic person, be patient and down to earth. Be able to deal with difficult customers and also have product knowledge and be aware on what's happening at the store.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company but under pay
Blockman (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg, Gauteng19 December 2019
I have enjoyed working at Woolworths, my only problem was the salary
You are given an opportunity to study if you want to advance.
I also like the team work,and the benefits for their staff members
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a production work place.
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Mthatha, Eastern Cape19 December 2019
Typical day when i was working alone at the interactive counter on a busy day, learned how to stay calm and stick to company procedure even if i am under pressure.
Management was supportive although they were not consistency.
Culture is good because they practice what they preach.
Hardest part of the job is to deal with highly profile customers .

Most enjoyable part Woolworth, care about their workers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very good company to work for. However retail is challenging and the pay is not enough for the cost of living nowadays
Floor Assistant (Former Employee) –  Durban, KwaZulu-Natal12 December 2019
To work under pressure
Work long hours festive time
Be confident and friendly to customers
Be prepared to be on your feet the entire day
Always be helpful
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplace
till operator,sales assistant (Former Employee) –  Roodepoort, Gauteng11 December 2019
It was very productive and fun place to work @ woolworths the train their employees good excellent customer service and they treat thier employees with respect it is
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
More wage
Customer Assistant (Former Employee) –  Plattekloof, Western Cape9 December 2019
Working with Woolworths was a very good opportunity for me but i done too much for too little I honestly appreciate everything they done for me cause we were like family overall just a tiring job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4,0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Connect specialist (cellular consultant) (Current Employee) –  Waterfall, Midrand Gauteng9 December 2019
Woolworths gives opportunity for growth withing the company, equipts them with the necessary skills and technical knowledge to help advance career opportunities. It is a great company to head start a career and improve personal growth.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Woolworths South Africa. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4,0
Based on 767 reviews
5297
4219
3187
248
116

Ratings by category

3,6Work/Life Balance
3,3Salary/Benefits
3,7Job Security/Advancement
3,6Management
3,8Culture